Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2016
Julie Garwood's Saving Grace is an enchanting historical romance, with lovable characters and you'll definitely be hating the odious villains, this is one book you won't be skipping through. I was absorbed throughout and have re-read this book a number of times, its a nice bit of escapism when trying to get away from a pile of work for a bit or just to relax.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2004
I have most of JL's books, but this one........
One of those books that you can pick up and read over and over again. Joanna a heroine with guts and courage. Gabriel a hero with a hard edge yet tender side. I love this book, I brought it years ago and still it is fresh and exciting compared to other books I have recently read. This one is a keeper.
Definately a MUST buy.
The best word I use to describe this book is " It's a Smasher !"
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 August 2003
This book is definitely one of Julie Garwood's best. Set in Medieval England and Scotland this book tells the story of Johanna and Gabriel and the problems that they overcome on the path to living happily ever after. As well as the love story there are also enough sub-plots and twists to make this a really enjoyable and enthralling book. Johanna is a wonderful leading lady and despite starting off timid she blossoms into a feisty and passionate heroine that you can't help but admire. The hero of Gabriel is also a fabulous character - strong, handsome, and a man every woman would want to fall in love with. The secondary characters in this book were believable, realistic and played a genuine part in the story rather than just being there to make the main characters look good as can be found in so many other novels. The interaction all the characters shared made the book very enjoyable and a truly interesting and touching story.
If you haven't read Julie Garwood before I would recommend this book to you. Yes it is a historical romance but it has depth and a great plot to go along with the romance and I am sure that you won't be disappointed by this book or any others by Ms Garwood.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 August 2005
I've spent the past week in a happy Julie Garwood book re-reading daze. I whizzed through eight of her historicals and left Saving Grace for last. For some reason I had convinced myself that Saving Grace was good - but not great - and that the novel wasn't as strong as say, The Secret, Ransom, or Honor's Splendour. I couldn't have been more wrong. The more I read, the more enchanted I became. Saving Grace deals with a very serious issue (domestic abuse) and I think this is why I rushed through it during the first read. However, I now realise that it's a super book with absolutely lovable characters, and a fine addition to the Scottish Laird / English Lady Garwood books.
Lady Johanna is simply wonderful; she enters the book as quite shy and scared as she has been beaten many times by her deceased first husband and yet she still manages to hold her own with Laird Gabriel. I liked it that first of all Johanna had difficulty fitting in with her new clan - any woman would be vulnerable and untrusting at first if they had experienced Johanna's past and yet she becomes stronger and braver with each day that passes. Johanna is actually very clever and analytical, as well as being sweet and kind hearted. Gabriel is off the chart as a hero. What is so special about him is that as well as being strong and brave he is also very sensitive to Johanna's feelings and never treats her cruelly - in fact he is very considerate and kind as he tries to earn her trust (without being soppy). Gabriel was stigmatised as being illegitimate when he was younger and had a hard upbringing and I think this is part of the reason why he suits Johanna so well. I especially liked the way that the author told you about how vulnerable Gabriel felt as a boy and how he dreamed about having a lovely wife and home as it showed a softer side to the powerful Laird. Johanna and Gabriel are clearly perfect for each other. There are great secondary characters too. Auggie (an old man obsessed with golf), Alex (a boy Gabriel claims as his son), and Dumphries (a dog Gabriel rescued) all have their own unique personalities and quirks.
The plot is great. It gives you some information about the horrible ways that women were restrained and abused in the past without going into too many details. There is plenty of hilarious dialogue between Johanna and Gabriel and Johanna comes out with loads of funny sayings (There's more than one way into a keep!). The ending ties up the loose ends nicely and the reader has no trouble in imagining Johanna and Gabriel living as a happy, passionate married couple for the rest of their lives. Sigh! :-)
JoAnne
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2005
As usual Julie Garwood 'creates a rich and tender tapestry of sweet revenge, stunning intrigues and sensuous love' (as said by others). However, this time it is a bit long in coming. Johanna only starts exerting herself by the middle of the book. The reader cannot help but admire Gabriel for the patience ... and patience he extends towards his young wife - in waiting for her to find her feet in her new surroundings. Johanna is a hair's breath from being portrayed as insipid. But, the book does pick up pace and ends in the usual blissful "all's well that ends well" way of Julie Garwood. One does, however, miss the even paced fun and games (and sensuous love) of books like The Prize and The Bride.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Absolutely loved it. This was another great story by this author. Lady Johanna and Gabriel are such a great couple. Lady Johanna was mistreated in her first marriage and she finds true love and understanding in her marriage to Gabriel. He allows her to be who she is.

What I love about this author's stories is, her leading men are always totally alpha males HOWEVER they are always tender, loving, respectful and totally protective of the women in their lives. I love that it makes the stories so very romantic. I am loving how this author tells a love story. Definitely worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2009
i first read 'the bride' and have since gone on to buy most of garwoods historical novels. this was yet another one that has not dissapointed her books become old friends that i have read again and again and still find delight in. the story of Johanna and her highlander - Gabriel is simply wonderful. set in scotland in the medieval period this wonderful romance based on Johanna finding herself was funny, exciting and one of garwoods better books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
I have this one in paperback and have almost worn it out I have read it so many times. The cover on this one is ridiculously illkeeping with the story and would have put me off if I had not already read the book. Heart and flowers it is not. Humour from beginning to end and fantastic characters. I just wish Nicolas and . Clare`s story had come to print. It would have been great to see that romance unfold along side the King John drama
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
I have just purchased this to replace my paper book as it is nearly worn out. Have all of Julie's books and this is another one of her best the story is gripping exciting and funny a most enjoyable read .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This is another sweet read, but JG books have a similar format to each other. Would read it again it's ideal for relaxing on a wet windy day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£6.99
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here