Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9

on 13 June 2015
I needed this for my chosen A level coursework, it was so useful, it meant I only needed this book for sources, brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2018
Good quality and exactly what I needed for my coursework
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2015
Just what was needed for school
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2011
An invaluable digest--and a pity this book is so rare. It is invaluable, though it is not illustrated and looks like a dull little paperback.

The quoted extracts (from contemporary politicians and newspapers, and later historians) give us each rival interpretation--traditionalist, Republican, abolitionist, Marxist, revisionist, in turn.

This is brilliantly eye-opening. Until I read this book I was only vaguely aware of these schools of historiography, second hand. But this makes them clear without giving indigestible full texts.

Most recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2014
I am currently studying the American Civil War and this book is an essential aid to that Study. Thank You.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2017
comprehensive, not for beginners, but very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2016
Very good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2017
as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2002
This book probably did more to expand my reading on the conflict than any other. As a "limey" who previously only read about the battles and leaders i can say that this book opened my eyes and understanding of the issues. Thanks to Mr Stampp my own library is now expanding considerably!
I hope that Mr Stampp will not be offended if I describe the book as an excellent primer on the subject.. simply written and without bias.. a book i would recommend to all new students to the subject..
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)