Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
42
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 23 February 2001
There are yoga books being published every day, and most of them are not worth the paper they are printed on. This one is special! I bought this book a few years ago when I first started doing yoga, and even though I have bought many many yoga titles since (including 'the tree of yoga', 'light on yoga' and John Scott's "ashtanga manual" which are also excellent), this is my favourite that I keep dipping in and out of. It quite simply is a very inspiring and informative read! Suitable for a complete beginner and an experienced student, or even just for the curious who want to know just what is this thing called yoga? In fact if you ever find yourself in LA seek out Erich Schiffmann (he teaches at yogaworks, santa monica) as he is a remarkable teacher. (His classes are not geared for complete beginners) And if you are used to practising Ashtanga or a similarly 'dynamic' form of yoga prepare to be surprised... All is not what it seems!
0Comment| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2009
I have recently become interested in Yoga and have been practising with audios and podcasts at home. I wanted to know more about the philosophy and benefits of various asanas.

This book ticked all the boxes, very readable, good pictures and written from the heart.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 1999
This book has changed our yoga life! It is very clearly laid out. It breaks down the postures into easy to manage stages which increases your awareness and mastery of yoga. It is a delight to read, not a technical text and gives a new and joyful dimension to your practice. It addresses the spiritual side of yoga and life in simple terms without being esoteric. If you are going to buy one yoga book, let this be your bible.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
This book covers the more spiritual side of yoga, in a way that would appeal to all religions. Some of the poses are quite advanced (and way beyond me reach... for now), but all of them are really well described. After doing yoga for years I been introduced to new ways of thinking about certain poses. This is a great book for the intermediate and advanced (or quite athletic beginner) yoga students alike.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 22 September 2011
At 357 pages, this is quite a book. It has the most detailed descriptions of asanas that I have, and sections on meditation, listening to your inner teacher,and Yoga routines. His passion shines through. If you thought that Yoga was all about asanas, this book could change your thoughts and take you on a deeper path.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2007
yes you really must - and if you find yourself in Santa Monica seek out the man himself for a yoga class. You will not regret it. I bought that book more than 10 years ago and I still refer to it. It has inspired me to do yoga - daily! Also excellent section on simple meditation techniques.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 1999
Schiffmann describes a personal approach to Yoga asana and meditation, expressing the value of being balanced and centred as a fundamental asset to living. Encouraging playfulness, self-trust and a sense of seeking the 'edge' in asana and pranayama practise, this book, will allow students of all levels to review and refine their entire practise. A bit 'wordy' at times reflecting the difficulties of expressing the more subtle experiences of yoga.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2010
I've always thought of Yoga, as postures, breathing and being bendy. I've tried to follow DVD's, but have always got bored and gave up. This book explains the concepts of Yoga, both spiritually and being personally connected/centered. It shows you how to develop slowly, the meaning of the moves and why you do them. A great explanation of Yoga and I'm looking forward to becoming more at peace and healthy in the process
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2016
Every word of this book is a hypnotic trance. I first came across Schiffman when my yoga teacher of many years ago used to read passages to us before and after the class.. always meaningful. Worth it for the unique explanation and passion about areas that are not in other books and yet so pertinent to yoga. Every yoga student should read this.. the words send you to stillness...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2006
What endears American Yogi Erich Schiffmann to the hearts of millions of Yoga students worldwide, causing them to speak so fondly of this man they have never met? Read this book to find the simple answer to this question that evades my words.

With an unmatched level of sincerity, Erich Schiffmann explores Yoga beyond the mere shape of its postures, challenging the reader to explore the inner aspects with effortless instruction in plain yet inspiring language. Far from being "just another Asana book", Erich shows us the way to turn each step, each movement, every moment of our lives towards an authentic Yoga practice.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)