Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2017
A very disappointing introduction to Judaism by a Reform Judaist. It is achingly politically correct, little interested in Judaism outside America, childishly ignorant of European history and Christianity and badly organised. It has very little to say about Orthodox Judaism and what little it does say is very unsympathetic. The author's knowledge of Biblical Criticism is outdated and he believes in it with unthinking faith. Subject to these many weaknesse, however, it does contain quite comprehensive information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
A very good, clear and full account of Judaism, easy to read and immensely informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
Essential Judaism is, as the title states, a complete guide - it compiles, traditions, rituals and prayers, gives an insight to probable variations within the various currents of judaism and is thorough without being boring.

George Robinson writes in a pleasant, unaffected style that conveys the seriousness or more fun interpretations of the theme at hand.

I'm studying judaism in a probable path to conversion and found this book immensely helpful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
A very good book, full of well-written facts. All easy to understand and written in a logical and concise
Manner. Covers the essentials and makes for easy reading whilst providing an invaluable reference
book. I have no hesitation in recommending this book to those who wish to understand Judaism beliefs
without having to trawl through "heavyweight" tomes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
It is an extremely comprehensive book, focussing on all the essential aspects. However the way is is written isn't the easiest to read, it just gives out too much information at once and sometimes it really requires ones full attention in order to follow the text.

Anyway, having said this, I still recommend it strongly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
George Robinson's book, while not difficult to read, presents itself too similarly to a reference book at times. That being said, the information therein is comprehensive, well-written and, in my experience, accurate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2017
Fantastic book, much more content and use to me than I thought it would be when I initially ordered it. Very pleased with this book choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
This book is quite comprehensive a covers most of my enquiries for my couse on Judaism. Very helpful reference book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Very thorough. Well researched. Superbly laid out. A must have for any Judaica library1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
Great introduction to the religion for both followers and academics. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse