Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2017
On the plus side, the book features a long list of money laundering cases with some details surrounding each. If you wanted a reference point for lots of criminal laundering incidents then this is a good place to start. On the negative side, you will have to research each case yourself to get the underlying facts and I also found the book a difficult and laborious read. Normally when I read non-fiction, especially for research purposes, I like to come away feeling informed about the subject. However in this instance, it is written in the style of a tabloid, making shocking and salacious statements, which are little more than opinion, while revealing very little about the mechanisms and techniques employed for each laundering operation. Furthermore, the statistics cited are rarely substantiated and the criminal method or court findings were rarely covered to my satisfaction. I was hoping for a book which explained the mechanics of laundering to assist me with a fictional thriller project I'm working on. Unfortunately this book was not as helpful as I had hoped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2002
Money-laundering can often seem an esoteric, victimless crime .... sufficiently detached from the original actions to be fairly irrelevant. This author is a passionate believer the opposite is true and his book is very much a manifesto for world governments to wake up to the scale and effects of the problem.
The book is arranged as a series of very detailed descriptions of large scale criminal enterprises and the investigations and stings to bring them down.
It isn't really about money-laundering specifically, but about the crime and criminal enterprises that both rely on and support money-laundering activity. That makes some sense, as the author is keen to stress, money laundering is the life blood of most other crimes as well as a crime itself and to understand it properly we need really to understand where the money is coming from and the consequences of the criminals succeeding in their laundry.
What the book doesn't do is give away much technical explanation of what money laundering is or how it is carried out. Just enough is provided to understand the nature of most of the operations detailed, and how they came to be exposed. More might have been interesting, but probably would have made the book a bit turgid.
What is given are wonderfully researched and engagingly written essays about some very well known operations (Brinx Matt, Central American drug cartels) and some remarkably interesting lesser known ones (Saddam Hussien disposing of his Kuwaiti spoils).
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 1999
This exposé on money-laundering was certainly an eye-opener. Written in an anecdotal, but knowledgable, style, Robinson manages to find the hidden stories of the launderers, and weave an extraordinary picture. Having finished reading this book, I now feel something of an authority on a subject I previously had no knowledge about. I thoroughly recommend this, even for those of you who have reservations about the subject - it's an engrossing read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
Leaving aside all of the typos and grammatical errors, this awful book fails on many levels; the author calls for the death penalty for drug offences, for CIA/DEA kidnap squads to enter foreign countries to illegally capture drug lords and render them back to the US for improsonment (and presumably the death penalty - does that make the teams death squads??).
He misses the fact that the USA is the fourth largest money sink (according to the independent tax justice network) - the entire book appears to view America as nothing more than the victim of horrible drug dealers and money launderers - ignoring the reality of wall st involvement.
The entire book reads like a cheering pamphlet for the DEA and CIA, as if both groups were above reproach - when talking about their money laundering it's as if it's legitimate because of who they are.
Worst is that he doesn't really explain the process of money laundering, it's really just a collection of half baked anecdotes.
As you may guess, I hated this book. If you want a well written book on laundering, get 'treasure islands' by Nick Shaxton.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2012
It is an interesting, informative, albeit out-of-date, book. The main problem with the Kindle version is the appalling number of typos and mistakes. It goes beyond simple spelling errors to poor grammar, sentences that have no verbs, dittography, use of both the definite and the indefinite article to define the same noun, sentences that end without completion. It really distracts from the overall reading experience. As the book progresses they get worse. Could someone please proofread the text and upload a decent version?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2005
Money-laundering is a fascinating and complex topic.However,this book was written in a way that made it very easy to understand. The book was very involved,and although easy to understand you do have to take your time reading it. But it was throughly enjoyable. I would recommend it to anyone interested in this subject.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
The book is full of poor grammar, spelling mistakes, typos, etc. which is pretty odd. Also, there is no index and I think the book is now out of date. Apart from the mention of some Russian dealings in this millennium everything "stops" in the nineteen nineties.

Regardless, I found it a fun and informative read and while I was aware that money laundering was big and widespread, this book shows that its much bigger and more widespread than I had thought.

An updated version to include all the Russian dealings since around 1991 would be most interesting, if not a bit scary.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
As someone who takes a keen interest in true crime I found this book to be utterly fascinating. Before I read The Laundrymen I didn't really know much about money laundering, but Mr Robinson's book provided me with an eye-opening deluge of information on the subject. With clear, concise examples of the principles, and true-life examples, Robinson explains just why money laundering is so important to the criminals - and to the law enforcers who are trying to defeat them.

This book was an absorbing, gripping read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
I am a legal professional and I wanted an easy entry in to this area again.

It gives plenty of examples, the mechanics of ML in an accesible manner.

I think I read this about 20 years ago but it still seems to be relevant.

Essential reading either if you are in law enforcement or want to avoid getting caught!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
Very interesting, eye-opening book. Full of detail, that is also quite depressing in the way that it exposes the level of corruption and hypocrisy in the world of organised crime and international finance institutions going hand in hand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)