Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 March 2016
Believe what they say: this IS the Bible. I decided to read it as research for a novel about the life of musicians and it turned out I had to skip over a lot of sections because the book is so detailed that I just didn't have the time to dig into everything. For anyone who is a musician this is a book that has it all and you will definitely be reading it more than once to make sure you have all your bases covered. Whatever the topic you're interested in, the author gives you advice on what to do exactly, and it's solid, extremely detailed advice so that you'd be prepared to face just about anything during your recording career. Added bonus: you get a comparison of how things are done in the UK versus US so you don't need to worry about whether this book is for you or not. I can't imagine there could be a better book on the subject but if there is then this one is definitely very close to perfection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
Dear Amazon, today I ordered this book for Kindle, it clearly states on the item description and the invoice that the book is 9th edition, very disappointed to find upon downloading the book to my device that it is the 8th edition. This is not acceptable, and is not what I bought or what amazon agreed to sell - Please deliver the item I purchased. Ordinarily Amazon provides an excellent service, however, this is not the case today!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Bought for friend then realised there was a newer version out.. so had to re-buy... so beware and check online for the latest version
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Very good. A very useful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Totally out of date, now.
Was interesting at the time, but no substitute for a music lawyer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
I read the fifth edition - the best book I have ever read about business and contract law.
I would suggest you buy a copy and read it now.
If you want to start any business, or know someone who is in business, or even if you want to know where your pocket money went when you were a kid.
Can you explain cross-collaterisation?
(Read and find out)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
For a beginner and also for someone who's been in industry this book offers invaluable on-hand information, uncovering the so essencial and hiden information about the structure and potential hazards in interpetation of contracts. I highly recommend this book!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
Donald Passman passes on the inside track on how the music business works. And sucks. Yep, even the unpalatable stuff is here. Essential reading for anyone hoping to make a living out of music. Dream on! It doesn't work like it used to. I gained some experience of the UK music industry during my time with WEA, CBS, Virgin, BMG and Universal from mid '70s through to the mid '90s. Passman certainly knows the industry inside out and helpfully shares it here. Fascinating reading and totally insightful. Great book. Not so great industry.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
The perfect book for those who don't know much about the music industry but want to learn the basics. Everything is brilliantly explained, relevant to the industry and surprisingly easy to understand.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2011
I am only half way through this book and the amount of knowledge I have acquired is unbelievable. This is a must read for everyone who wants to get basic and extended knowledge in the music business. You also have the option of reading it in different ways as the author mentions in the beginning of the book. I manage bands for a living and this helped me grasp a few concepts that I have had a few difficulties with. Artists are the main concern in this book, but anyone who wants to understand how things work should give it a try. All in all it's money well spent. Buy it, read it, use the knowledge, become better at whatever you do in the music world.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)