Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2013
LET ME SUMMERIZE IN A FEW WORDS WHAT I FELT WHEN I READ THIS ALBUM : i ALREADY WAS A FAN OF HER SINGING, ACTING, DIRECTING AND PRODUCING. I BECAM A FAN OF HER DECORATING POSSIBILITIES. THANK YOU BARBRA TO HAVE ALLOWED ME TO ENTER INTO YOUR INTIMATE PLACE. THANK YOU FOR WHO YOU ARE. YOU ARE THE PERFECTION ON EARTH AND MY ONLY WISH WOULD BE TO HAVE THE GREAT HONOUR TO MEET WITH YOU. EVERYTHING YOU TOUCH IS TRANSFORMED IN GOLD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
Gift for a friend and she loves it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
Brilliant. My mum loves it xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
Before Barbra Streisand was famous, a friend of Barbra who went to visit her apartment in New York. He said you could spend the whole day in her bathroom looking at her stuff and kinck knacks that she bought at the antique shops. And when she went out from her apartment, she wore rare antique clothes, someone once remarked that she looked like "a walking Smithsonian". In one of the black and white photographs taken back in 1964 by Bill Eppridge, I remember Barbra standing in front of an empty frame (she couldn't afford to buy a painting back then). But did she ever realise how soon this empty frame would be filled with such amazing achievements and colourful events in her life?

In this book, you can see that her taste is quite conservative. Her houses are born somewhere in time. Her artistic vision is poetic and whimsical. She is restriant when it comes to her palette. She chooses only pastels and avoids the primary colours. She hates orange and purple. Even the fish in her pond have to be in the right colours. Her Grandma's House is my favourite. In her grandma's house cosy sitting room, there is an interesting picture where there is a music stand and the music sheet on the stand is the song from Funny Girl "I'd rather be blue over you". She has to colour cordinate even with the text "Blue".

I don't think Barbra understands the word "tired". Her relentless quest for perfection and beauty is incredible. This book reminded me of the apartment scene (my favourite scene) from the film, "Nuts". It's an intimate tour of her house and Barbra is an incredibly witty raconteur!

Imperfection of the book is that some photographs appear to have been taken in a hurry: there are so many blurry images. I don't know if it is just a bad copy I've got but some of the pictures are a bit hazy and blurry (hence, I give this 4 stars) Barbra uses her own private pictures but I think they would look a lot better if she could use the professional photographer commissioned for the entire book.

Looking through this book reminded me so much of her 1991 album called "Just for the record". It's about a woman's journey...how she developed as an artist and how her taste changed over the years.

One last note is that in this world, when the economic downturn becomes a sobering realities, people crave for more beauty. I just wish so much to Barbra that she would make her Deluxe Limited Edition to become widely available so that people who have a thirst for beauty and those who want to cherish traditonal method of making arts and crafts can appreciate all her hard work and care she puts into this little planet where we all live.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
I am a collector of rare books and this is an excellent purchase. It's obvious a lot of time was spent on this book. It's a shame it's not an autobiography, but it doesn't detract from the quality of the product. I'm sure Barbra will get round to writing her updated life story but for now this edition remains the best signed book on the market. Pricey, but she is one of the greats so it justifies the price tag.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
I received my book today and what can I say, other than it is absolutely amazing to see inside Barbra Streisand's home and be taken through the thought process behind these stunningly designed rooms, home, and gardens. A sheer delight watching the dvd being narrated by Barbra. She is a true perfectionist and she should always take that comment as a compliment. Her eye for detail is exquisite. I now have in my possession a stunning signed book to treasure.
77 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
This book is absolutely beautiful and for the quality and content i think its a really cheap buy. It makes a fab pressie too. I bought 6 because I was so impressed..Im also a big Barbra fan..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
In my view one of the most talented Divas of all time who displays, in this book, her complete artistic nature. She is a Designer/Decorator, loves photography, loves bringing the outside in. She is an avid collector of remarkable antiques and various other collectors items.
This book illustrates her unique talents and stunning interior and exterior concepts. It is a must have for any designer, aspiring designer and, of course, Streisand lovers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2010
Thank you for making this Deluxe book Barbra. It was something you didn't have to do and it is a dream come true for your fans.

The book is beautifully packaged in a brown cardboard box that seals around and holds the book perfectly. The box is numbered to correspond with the edition number (/500) that Barbra has written inside each book. The book is in a shiny black cloth-covered slipcase. Slotted in the back of the slipcase is a 15 minute DVD that Barbra has narrated and directed. The book is covered in burgundy cloth. It shimmers and is so classy. Barbra has numbered and signed each book, with her full signature. As she assures us on her website, she personally signed these books over several days. From all the signatures I have seen so far, she has signed nearly all of these in thick sharpie and others with a thinner pen. I am SO pleased with my copy. Everything about it screams class and Barbra has designed something that I will treasure forever. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
Any Barbara Streisand gift would have been wonderful for my boyfriend's mother but this was just perfect.
Showing the evolving style of Streisand, this book documents the design of her new house. Although much of the interior was flourished with wood and personally, too much wood, there were still feminine glimpses of Streisand in the beautiful gardens and detail.

This is a wonderful gift for any Streisand fan and most definitely recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)