Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 25 January 2013
This is the first book Agatha Christie wrote and which we see Poirot. Set during the first world war, Hastings is inujured and ordered to recuperate. At the hospital where he is recovering, he meets John Cavendish a friend of his and is asked to stay with him at his home. During his stay there, Emily Inglethorpe is murdered and Hastings asks John if he can involve his friend Poirot who is staying in the village as a refugee.

Between Hastings and Poirot they set to business investigating "The Mysterious Affair at Styles".

A very good book and easy to read. Would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
The Mysterious Affair at Styles is the first of Agatha Christie's popular Poirot novels. Set during the First World War, Lieutenant Hastings is sent home while recovering from an injury at the front and accepts an invitiation from an old friend to spend his leave at their country house. While there he meets up with a friend from Belgium who is in exile in Britain, a certain Monsiuer Poirot, and when the matriarch of the family is murdered, he enlists his old friend's help to solve the case.
This audio CD is read by Hugh Fraser (Captain Hastings) who has a wonderfully rich and smooth voice. He makes an excellent narrator, capable of delivering a multitiude of different voices and accents, including a credible version of Poirot himself.
I found this a highly enjoyable listen, and recommend it. The product and delivery were both up to Amazon's usual high standard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
It is so surprising that such good detective story should take as long as it did to be published, but of course, I'm in no position to judge the situation at the end of such a terrible war. However it won through and was greatly enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
I've previously read a Christmas Poirot and enjoyed it, so I thought I'd go with the first time he appeared. I enjoyed it a lot, a very good detective mystery. Lots of clues and evidence to help you try and solve it before Hercules little grey cells do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
An unbeatable detective story as fresh today as the day it was written. Factual details and fictional characters make this a book to test the readers memory and keep the brain ticking as the plot twists and turns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2017
I have never read an Agatha Christie but have seen many TV adaptations.
This I found laboured and "manufactured". Maybe of its era. A fan of murder mysteries might disagree, but I shall not be reading any more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Poirot's first case and Christie had not perfected her style. At times the story rambles but there are flashes of genius, not least in the solution, and wonderful characterisation. It is difficult to use an unintelligent narrator and even harder to make the audience identify with him. Yet I felt sorry for Captain Hastings throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
Having watched all the excellent TV adaptations, found my self somewhat ashamed that I hadn't read any of these novels. So where best to start than the very beginning.

Found it a very easy read that passed a couple of night shifts. If like me you want to start reading about the exploits of the great detective, this is a very affordable and enjoyable introduction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2016
I have not read this book for fifty years, so it was a pleasant surprise to discover how good it still is. Yes it's a 'period piece' redolent of a world which no longer exists but just let that go and enjoy it. One question, where is the extra chapter promised in the blurb?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
A great read for those studying Conan-Doyle's Sign of Four for GCSE literature. Christie has taken the original concept and treated it with an exciting twist using her wonderful language and character skills. One of her later mysteries so well worth a read. Also, the added prologue and concluding essays add details to aid your reading. I'd recommend not reading either until your finish the story though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse