Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
38
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

It's said that decades ago, most jazz players would build their solos on chords and the tones within them. That nowadays plpayers take a scale note approach and build solos from playing the 'right' scales over the chord harmony. In fact either way works well and as a teacher I get all my students to apporach soloing both ways becuaes they seem to get different results and sounds.

This is the best book I've found for concentrating on chord tones and building solos around them. You'll end up with very musical, smooth solos that your audience will appreciate. If you're a rock and blues player, you'll end up with solos that sound like Mark Knopfler or Gary Moore and you'll find yourself getting away from running up and down penatonic and blues scales and discovering a whole new world of soloing out there.

Everyone taking this approach needs to know their scales and chors so here's a couple of suggestions. the best scales book I know is Jimmy Brunos and he has a DVD and a book that goes through his approach.

Jimmy Bruno, No Nonsense Jazz Guitar [DVD]
Six Essential Fingerings for the Jazz Guitarist (Jimmy Bruno Jazz Guitar)

There's a nice support book from Hal Leonard - not work a book but more reference material for soloing

Scale-chord Connection

And the scales approach to soloing is best covered with two books from Gibert and Marlis from The Musicians Institute in Los Angeles. Don't bother with their DVD as it skips through the work and doesn't really give you anything more than a summary of what's in the first book. You'll only need the first book of this pair at this stage. (Buying both will give you at least a year's work to really absorb it all and apply well.)

Guitar Soloing: The Contemporary Guide to Improvisation [With CD]
Advanced Guitar Soloing: The Professional Guide to Improvisation
77 comments| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
This book does exactly what is says on the cover. It provides a clear, well thought out and simple to follow approach to learning how to create solo's or melodys over chord progressions. The skills which can be learnt from working through this book apply to any style of music which has more than one chord in it (so practically everything). The examples are superb and the backing tracks provide a good stage to practice the exercises against. All in all an excellent book. It would be great to see a further addition which goes in the details of the melodic minor modes, however from the knowledge contained within this book one could easiy apply these ideas to melodic minor.

Thanks for writting such an excellent book.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2008
This is the best book I've ever read on improvising. Follow this book to the letter and you'll be able to zip through the changes. I would say that it will be of more value to a jazz player than heavy metal
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
he thing that really frustrates me about many guitar tuition books, but which this book certainly does not do, is that they are fine and dandy as references (they contain useful, factual information that you can read and try to remember) but they leave it to the reader to find ways of applying that information: there is no context or assistance given to internalising the concepts. Not so with Barrett Tagliarino's book.

Everything is presented clearly and then quickly put in some musical context, usually with exercises and backing tracks to work with. Short of coming round to your house with coffee and a spare guitar for you to use there's not much more that the author of a book-and-CD format can do to make things genuinely learnable: the rest is up to us. I'm not sure if it's to the author's credit that he does this so well, or a slight on many others that they don't, but either way you'd be hard pressed to find a reference on this subject that's more readable or usable.

Section II of the book covers in some detail the groundwork of basic theory and scales that are then applied in section III, but a good job is done of making it clear that this is necessary stuff, and it is well covered. I'm off to spend a little more time on section II now ;-)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
This book is exactly what I needed, because it teaches amateur players how to improve their skills while improvising, to learn how to play the appropiate notes during chord changes, instead of playing endless scales.
For me this is the difference between an amateur player and a pro.
It also it focuses on the mental and physical way of practising correctly, to improve your rhythm skills.
After many years of practising, this is the approach I need to improve my improvising with the guitar.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
clear introduction of useful techniques that will help every guitarist. Probably a good couple of years study here. Time well spent!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
This is a great book for improving your soloing skills. Some of the books I'd tried to work through weren't terribly helpful, they ended up being too dry and I often couldn't see how the exercises would translate into actual solos. With this book, the chapters are short and concise, making it well structured and keeping you motivated. The material presented is really helpful in improving your solos, and gave me a different perspective on soloing. Everything is really well explained and there's a very helpful section on making up your own personalized practice schedule and how best to go about practicing.

The music theory used is explained pretty much from scratch, so even if you don't really have an extensive knowledge of music theory, this book is for you and will really help you develop that knowledge and apply it to you guitar playing.

If a friend of mine asked me what I would recommend if they wanted to buy a book on guitar, this would be the one. I have quite a few different ones, but this is still one of my all time favourites.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
The method is good and thorough, and will help a player work out some interesting solos from the chord construction. Of course it still needs a lot of application to learn the progressions but there are helpful hints for proper practice and rest periods. The book leaves a lot of interpretation to the guitarist, it does not prescribe solos but gives the structure to create your own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
Very serious book - would particularly suit a young person wanting to learn studiously - has tips on self discipline - organising practice routines - lots of scales, theory and exercises. The CD is well produced - I'm getting on a bit so I'm just cherry picking - the CD has a fair range of tracks that I can jam along to - some blues, rock and light jazz
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
THIS BOOK TAKES AWAY THE MYSTERY OF WHICH CHORD TO PLAY AND WHICH SCALES FIT OVER THEM--- THIS IS AN ESSENTIAL LEARNING TOO; AND THE BASIS OF EVERY GOOD GUITARIST TRICK BOOK BE IT ROCK COUNTRY BLUES OR METAL JAZZ ETC........................
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)