Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2010
This book is a must for all agricultural students (and helpers!). It's full of just about everything a student needs to know for assignments etc.
I highly recommend it, and can't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
I love this book, so useful for a quick update of facts to impress son on his return from college, also useful for his studies as that is what it was bought for really!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2001
The Agricultural Notebook has been the mainstay of most general agricultural courses for a number of years. As a single source, it provides a great deal of relevant information for students and farmers alike. However, the field of UK and European agriculure is so large and one book can only hold so much information. In summery, this book is highly recommended but on the understanding that, unless suplimented by additional texts, its generality somewhat limits its overall value.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
This books is a must have for anyone in the farming industry. The content within it is thorough and precise. There are several different subject areas that are covered within this book. Ranging from; Farm Management, Crop Production, Grassland Management, Crop Health/Weed Control, Animal Production (Cattle, Sheep and Goats, Pigs and Poultry), Farm equipment and its maintenance and Farm Buildings.

The book is bound very tightly which is essential to preserving nearly 700 pages. Everything about this book is ideal for all levels of experience. Lots of the content in this book are easy to understand, even for people without previous agricultural education or background. Equally there are several parts of this book (not many though) that would only apply and be useful to farm managers and general farm workers.

I have no doubt this would be the book of choice for researchers, students and farmers alike.

I hope this review has been useful. Please vote it 'helpful' below!

P
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2009
This book is just fantastic. It has all the relevant information needed. It has helped me so much in my National Diploma Agricultural Course. I would have not been able to do my assignments without this book. This is must for any student doing agriculture or a similar course.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2010
a good book.

it seems to cover all the major areas of agriculture although having been written in 2003 is somewhat out of date regarding things such as the CAP.

it can be fairly general at times for example when talking about management and think it could be improved by being more specific to farming.

im happy that i bought it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2001
The agricultural notebook covers a vast range of agricultural areas which is very good however it does not go in to too much detail in the specific areas. Therefore if you have a specific area to look at like dairy for instance there are other books which look at this area in greater detail and would be of more use.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2010
This is a one stop reference guide to everything you ever wanted to know about agriculture, from livestock production systems, soil management and crop selection to farm management, gross margins, buildings and machinery. It is an invaluable resource for those studying agriculture, and is presented in an accessible format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2007
Since having started training as a land agent, this book has proved a superb reference tool on regular occasions. As mentioned already, it doesn't cover the minutiae of every aspect of farming and rural business, but as a broad-spectrum reference book, I can't fault it. It's written in a very clear and unpatronising way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
This book is an excellent resource for teachers of Agricultural Science. This edition is 1986 but still relevant today.All the scientific explanations behind agricuture complete with research data and is readable also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)