Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Library Binding|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2017
Fun story, but need to read it at day time not bed time, it is quite stimulating!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Absolutly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
I used this book to teach my year 6 pupils about the progressive and perfect progressive tense. It superb for that purpose as it's quite good fun and illustrates the subject knowledge well. The structure of the story (working backwards through the recognisable narratives) is a reasonably simple structure for the children to understand and replicate.
As a picture book, to be read for enjoyment rather than learning, it offers something different. But, perhaps, its structure means it doesn't have the description of character development that you would see elsewhere. But then, readers will already be very familiar with the stories and characters, this version offers a different perspective- a novel twist- which I suspect many children will enjoy. I would expect many children, including younger ones, would enjoy anticipating what will come next (the 10 and 11 year old's in my class did).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 September 2007
This book starts with Goldilocks returning home from the three bears cottage, and the whole book unrolls backwards to her going into the bears cottage, who she met in the woods just before and so on.... The book covers Goldilocks, then Jack and his Beanstalk, Jack and Jill, the Frog Prince, Cinderella, and the Gingerbread Boy. I think the concept is great, and there's a good spread of well-known characters, equally suitable for boys or girls. Every sentence in the book begins with `Previously...', except where a new character is introduced, and the text is perhaps weaker than the idea itself. Having said that my children (3,5,6) love the idea of a back-to-front story and have enjoyed it very much. On reaching the end they insist that I then read (paraphrase) it backwards from the end of the book to the beginning. It certainly provides lots of food for thought and would be a great book for the Foundation and KS1 classroom, encouraging children to think about the ordering of events, the development of stories, and so on, in a fun way. You might also like to look at The Bravest Ever Bear and The Runaway Dinner by the same author for a brilliantly funny picture book about developing a story for 4-7s and a generally silly story for the 3-6s respectively.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have long been a fan of Allan Ahlberg and his books have been a part of all my children's childhoods. This is a particular favourite of my daughter's. She 'previously' lost this book and was so upset that I had to order a copy to placate her, even though she has now moved largly on to chapter books. However, as other reviewers have so correctly pointed out, this is a picture book for the slightly older child (as are others by Allan Ahlberg and illustrator Bruce Ingman, "The Runaway Dinner" and "The Pencil"). However, due to the nature of the story, which uses familiar characters, younger children may also enjoy it, even if they do not quite understand the storyline completely.

The basic idea is that the story is told backwards. So, Goldilocks arrives home after leaving the cottage belonging to the three bears and previously to that she had met Jack, who has previously climbed up the beanstalk, etc etc. Other characters include Jack and Jill, the frog prince, Cinderella and the Gingerbread Boy. The book also cleverly rates how people grow, how times change and what came before. It's a beautiful story, a delight to read aloud, with great illustrations and I have used it successfully for a reading group with school age children, as it has a lot to talk about.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
I saw this book in the library and read it to my grandson, then just had to buy it as a present for my goddaughter.

If you like Allan Ahlberg you'll love this quirky book. It brings together many characters from classic childrens books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2016
Previously I've read my kids most of Allan Ahlberg's books and previously have enjoyed everyone of them but previously I ordered this book and previously read it to my first born and previously both were glad to reach the end and shove it in the cupboard. A rare flop.

Its a bunch of intermingled fairytales read backwards using the word previously to destruction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Ab fab book that joins up all your favourite rhymes and stories with good connections like names.
Children love it. So does this big kid !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Very entertaining!! A great addition to our class library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
Nice story..beautiful. illustrations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here