Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2017
Having read the other reviews, this is exactly what I was expecting. Lots of useful and interesting hints, tips and recipes and pocket-sized to boot. Excellent value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
its fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
Very impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Exactly as listed. Good service!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Nice pictures and info but too many recipes that normal people would attempt & old English jams left out i.e Damson ect
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
Outstanding recipe book.Just right for beginner jam maker like me.All recipies are easily understandable and I look forward to making my jam and marmalade.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For the price, I really was not expecting much but thought that even if I just used a few of the 200 recipes then it would work out at great value, but this book has vastly exceeded by expectations.

The book starts by covering all the basics of jam making along with the equipment needed. It advises you what to look out for or what to avoid when purchasing the equipment. The author then goes on to answer all the usual questions such as how to stop the jam from going mouldy or how to make sure that it has set correctly. She even explains the difference between Jam, Conserves, Chutneys, Curds etc which is really helpful.

One tip that my nan told me to save money is to purchase the value / basics jam or lemon curd from the supermarket and use the jars for your homemade jam. These are usually about 40p and much less than the proper Kilner jars you can purchase. I usually throw the cheap "jam" away or to make jam tarts or roly-poly pudding. I then remove the labels, sterilise the jars and then they are ready for my own creations!!!

The recipes in the book are very simple to follow and include many tips and variations of the ingredients you can use. I love the mix of traditional recipes such as Strawberry Jam, Lemon Curd etc and much more adventurous ideas such as Banana and Chocolate Jam, Lime and Passionfruit Curd or even Cranberry Mincemeat with Port.

There is also a non cooking Jam recipe which I havent tried yet but it seems easy to make and ideal for young children to make with their parents as it doesnt involve boiling hot sugar.

Love this book and its ideal for beginners! 5 stars!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have a lot of these little Hamlyn books and find them so useful. This one is no exception and is brilliant both for those who are new to jam-making and to more experienced jam-makers looking for ideas.

There is a really good introduction with good explanations of the process, the necessary equipment, and so forth, and provides information for when things go wrong. Then follow the recipes which are divided into chapters as follows:

* Jams & conserves e.g. blueberry & honey, pineapple & passion fruit, mango & passion fruit, cherry & raspberry, chestnut jam with whiskey, peach & vanilla, banana & chocolate

* Fruit butters, curds & cheeses e.g. pear & strawberry butter, spiced apple butter, apple & ginger curd, lime & passion fruit curd

* Jellies - including plum & crushed peppercorn jelly, bitter lime & pernod jelly, minted blackberry & apple jelly

* Marmalades e.g. apple & orange, lemon & quince, pineapple

* Chutneys - including garlicky Mediterranean, aubergine & mint, autumn harvest

* Relishes e.g. sweet chilli & kaffir lime

* Pickles - pickled peaches, preserved lemons, piccalilli

* Festive fruit preserves - various mincemeats, ginger marmalade, apricot & cointreau curd.

Recipes include preparation and cooking times and there is an enticing picture on the facing page. As is usual with these books, there is a variation on the recipe at the end, for example the alternative to lemon & quince marmalade is lemon & pear.

The only downside of this series of books is the tiny format. I haven't yet found a book rack which can hold the books open which invariable means trying to keep them open with a couple of jars or cans thereby partially obscuring the recipes!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
Fab.book a great no of recipes allready made a few guite a lot of recipes i have not seen before.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2012
Small book, perfectly sized in fact.lovely pictures inside. Recipes all seem to work well. Good selection of flavours and ingredients. Basically great value for money
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)