Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 17 August 2017
While focusing very much from a French perspective, this book is a vital addition to the bookshelf of anyone who wants to understand ingredients and how to cook in the classic tradition. An absolute goldmine of information, this book would make a superb present for anyone who loves food and cooking.

I would have rated it 5 stars but for one reason - it is an encyclopedic reference. Not only does it weigh more than a small cast iron frying pan, but the way the book is organised doesn't encourage exploration. If it was split into separate volumes (e.g. ingredients, techniques, recipes etc.) while retaining the presentation case, it would appeal to a much wider audience. That way, the reader could delve into magic of what happens in a professional kitchen more easily. This is not a book that makes for easy sofa or bedtime reading, to give it justice it needs to be studied while sitting at a table.

That said, it will join (and dominate by sheer mass) my treasured book section.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
An enormous tome covering thousands of aspects of food and drink. Also includes some interesting recipes.

Don't read it in bed for fear of braining your partner as the book falls from your sleepy hands.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
Very nice book, it is worth the money. Classic. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
Brilliant resource to have in the kitchen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
Great Update to my 1970's version. Excellent purchase. highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
Excellent book - just what I needed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Exceptional. Comprehensive. Indispensable. Buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2016
Came on time and in great condition. I bought this as a Xmas present for my partner a few years ago. Neither one of us are great cooks and wanted some tips. This is not a recipe book, it's more like an encyclopaedia of cooking. It's for the times where you buy an unusual cut of meat or game and you want to know how to cook it well. It inspired us to buy an amazing piece of steak, the instructions for cooking involved high heat and created a lot of smoke but it was one of the best cooked steaks I've ever had. It also tells you how to prepare meat/fish/game including unusual things such as how to kill an eel! Great book to have on the bookshelf! Great value for money on Amazon as I've seen this being sold for much more in bookshops.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
This is absolutely brilliant. Useful recipes and expert information on virtually anything to do with cookery including a dictionary of cookery terms
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Great recipes! The recipe for rich Christmass Cake on page 106 is a recipe I shall be using from now on in my business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse