Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 19 December 2012
Despite its age (2007), it's still extremely relevant for any beginner/intermediate WCF programmer. I felt it had just the right level of content, not a "Hello World" and not too advanced. Rather than waste pages on concepts that are used incredibly rarely (such as MSMQ), the author simply says "Beyond the scope of this book", which is the right move, in my opinion. It's well written, easy to follow and helped me go from beginner to intermediate in a couple of days. I particularly appreciated the last section in the book, which summarises the Dos and Don'ts by each topic (Contracts, Clients, Bindings, Security, etc.) Whenever I am designing a new SOA-based project, I shall remember to consult this best practice section.

The only reason why I'm giving it 4 stars is that it's a little old, referencing to .NET 3 and VS 2005. It obviously does not have any information on the competing Web API, for example.

Don't be put off by this though as it's still a fantastic book for anybody who'd like to learn or sharpen their WCF skills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2008
This book is very thorough and probably a great reference but if you want to get up and running asap then this isn't the book to choose. The bulk of the "code" consists merely of function prototypes which I can't see the point of at all. There is virtually no sample code that shows how something practical might be achieved so maybe buy this book if you're starting to get heavily into WCF - but not when you're starting off.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2014
WCF has been part of my work on a daily basis for many months now. But very rarely refer to this book. It's turgid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2007
I have little doubt that, if not already, this will become the definitive guide to WCF. This is essentially Programming .NET components, but with the emphasis on WCF - something evident in the way that the early chapters apply the component oriented principles in his earlier book to service oriented architecture. That is not to say the book is simply a rehash - it's an essential text for any .NET developer, whether or not you are using WCF. One of the things that is emphasized is that if you develop software that works on more than 1 PC then you should be developing service oriented systems, and if you develop service oriented systems in .NET then you should be using WCF.

My only criticism of the book is that it does not provide a contextual background for existing users of previous distributed technologies (asmx web services, remoting, etc). However this is entirely understandable given that the whole point of WCF is to abstract these technologies into a common framework.

The code is all in C# and it does get a little hard going at times but there isn't a single wasted line in this book. It will serve well as both a (steep) learning curve and a reference guide. An essential purchase for all .NET developers.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2008
This book is an excellent text on WCF and I have very much enjoyed reading it.

A couple of caveats, however:
- WCF is vast, so be prepared to use this book as a primer and dig deeper if you want to do moderately complex things
- A lot of theoretical knowledge is assumed. One thing that particularly struck me is the level of threading knowledge assumed in places, e.g. Chapter 8 - Concurrency Management. This is not a criticism of the book - WCF services have to be multi-threaded in most cases. It's just something to be aware of if you're considering buying this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2008
I think this book is far too indepth to be a guide for programming WCF. Doubtless it will be a great reference book to someone who is already very familiar with the subject and doesn't need any handy tips on programming WCF using Visual Studio.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2007
This is 'the' reference guide for WCF. If you have read and enjoyed Programming .NET Components then you must own this book. Although there are some tricky concepts to grasp I've always found Juval Löwy makes subjects very easy to understand. You can also check out the idesign.net web site for code examples that relate to sections in the book. The book also contains coding standards for WCF that you can trust. An excellent book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2012
I normally don't leave reviews, but I think that this book is really poorly written. I'm a competent software engineer and I normally pick things up very quickly. This wasn't the case.

It appears that first chapter attempts to scare you and simply overload you with information. It has code examples which are not complete and appear to be pointless. It can't be followed as a tutorial and it gets into too many details.

I'm very annoyed with this purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse