Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 12 November 2011
If you are struggling to get to terms with SEO concepts then buy this book. I agree with some of the other reviewers about some of the diagrams and graphics but the quality content contained in this book counters these points. I would love to see this book updated with ways to combat Google Panda as no book to date has addressed this issue.

As many of the authors of this book have preached in recent months, the game of SEO has changed with the numerous Google Panda updates. Looking forward to a possible update in the near future?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2012
Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) has a reputation of being a rather mysterious, even clandestine practice. The aim of this book is to lift the lid on this art form.

The book's four authors are highly active in the SEO field and have associations with organisations such as the Search Engine Marketing Professional Organization (SEMPO), Stone Temple Consulting, Netconcepts, Science of SEO and SEOmoz. This high-powered meld of business intelligence, technical knowledge and practical expertise has the potential to deliver a rich reading experience.

So, I already had high expectations as I started to work my way through the book. A glance at the table of contents hints at a meticulous eye for detail and comprehensive approach. After reading each subsequent chapter this feeling is only intensified. The tactics and methodology covered range from straightforward but essential SEO information to deep, sophisticated insights aimed at the advanced practitioner.

Subjects discussed include search engine theory and behaviour, key analytical tools, the impact of social media, user-focussed data, effective website creation, result tracking, SEO best practices and much more. The text is full of links to relevant organisations, in-depth reports, appropriate industry analysis and case-in-point websites. In addition the content is supported by a website, artofseobook.com, which contains content updates plus hands-on resources and guides.

The authors also found space to include a chapter on the merits of whether to build an in-house SEO team or outsource the operation. At over 30 pages this chapter is just as comprehensive as any other topic, and of significant value to any manager responsible for delivering a high quality SEO solution.

Despite the detailed coverage I found the material easy to read and understand. My relatively limited SEO knowledge didn't allow me to verify the accuracy or fine-grained quality of much of the book's material. However, I can say my own SEO knowledge was greatly enhanced by this book.

In conclusion I feel The Art of SEO is an absorbing read for anyone interested in SEO, and a book that will become a well-thumbed encyclopaedic reference for practitioners. As the authors note in their final chapter, SEO is an evolving art form, so it's obviously difficult to write a truly definitive book. Yet, I feel the Art of SEO is as close as you'll find anywhere.

After all, in today's marketplace taking full advantage of search technology can be the difference between a dominant success story and a business failure.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2011
Top accurate information written in a similar style to the blog posts to be found on the SEOMOZ website with plenty of guidance for beginners and experts alike. A highly recommended read that is not too heavy and will increase the readers knowledge and if some of the recommendations are incorporated the number of visitors to your site will increase, plenty of reference to articles on the web for further reading. A must have book for anyone involved in with creating content for the net.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2011
I know this book is a couple of years old, but it was recommended to me the other day and as an SEO check list it is brilliant. Part of being great at SEO is being great at being constantly creative and this book is bursting full of ideas. Highly recommended from me!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2010
It is impossible to engage with the SEO discipline without encountering Rand Fishkin and SEOmoz, whose work represents the heart and soul of the online SEO community at the time of writing. I therefore expected this book to be excellent and I was not disappointed. SEO is in fact both an art and a science and O'Reilly et al. clearly recognise it as such. Indeed I think the authors emerge as both artists and scientists, with industry-leading, expert insights and intuitions that make this a must-read for search engine optimisation study and practice. It could be considered a seminal work in the brand new academic discipline that is transforming real-world business right now. There is ample practical advice - from people who eat, sleep and breathe SEO art and science every day. Therefore this is one of the best texts I have ever read on the subject: if you only buy one SEO book make it this one.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2009
The guys have done a wonderful job with this book. The Art of SEO is required reading for all SEO's, beginner to professional. My copy now sits happily on the bookshelves at SEOgadget HQ.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2013
I have a website in a really competitive market. It has taken some time to get the website ([...] to the top of Google. This book has really helped me understand more.Before I really did not spend enough time and effort on things like keyword review.688 pages so take your time getting your site well optimized.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2010
This weighty O'Reilly book (550+ pages) tackles the immense subject of SEO and breaks it down into understandable and logical sections. I would suggest it is focused more towards the business and marketing-focused person, rather than the technical experts (who may be better off with the SEO Warrior book from the same company). Read it and keep it on your office shelf or desk as a very useful reference, I do!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2011
I bought this book based on the current recommendations on site, though was a little apprehensive as I have no IT knowledge - apart from talking to the IT and web marketing guys!

Really impressed and would recommend 100%.

Comes across at a level that's easy to understand and is full of knowledge for all levels.

It's one of those books that I'll go back to again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2011
This is the bible of Search Engine Optimisation, with over 500 pages of detailed analysis. Highly recommended as a reference to propel your website to the top of Google and other SE's. Printed in October 2009, it is still current but in this fast moving and technical sector a second edition will soon be due. Well worth the investment.
Alan Gray
Scarborough Hypnotherapy UK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)