Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2013
This book is huge and goes into vast detail. There is considerable repetition, and it is jargon heavy. If you are an experienced programmer who came up via the computer science route, it will all make sense and you will be able to relate it to things you already know about. If not, you could find yourself drowning in a sea of words.
I'm leaving this review because I think the title is a bit misleading. The blurb describes it as an "easy to follow self-paced tutorial". I would not use this book as a general textbook to learn Python in this way. It is quite abstract. For instance, when the author starts on OOP, he seems to focus on how Python implements OO internally. The way that the interpreter searches for class members up a tree is part of the technical detail of the language itself, but it isn't much use to a programmer who just wants to convert some OO code from another language into Python, or someone who doesn't yet understand OO. At one point the author seems to be reassuring his audience that this OO stuff isn't really a new paradigm, it's just a slightly different way of doing the same thing that is already done by modules and packages.
I think the main use for this book is for someone who finds himself in a new job where there is a lot of pre-existing Python code to be maintained and added to, and where over the years a number of different approaches have been used so that he is constantly coming across new usage patterns, or the same thing done in different ways. For this, it is very good because of its exhaustive attention to detail. For someone who just wants to learn the basics of a programming language, this book could be extremely off-putting. For instance, although the author claims that the Python syntax makes it easier to understand than Java, there are plenty of excellent Java textbooks which explain OO and its Java implementation very clearly. Putting them side by side might well convince the beginner that Java is much easier to learn.
It certainly has a place and it is valuable that so much information is available in one place.
22 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
The first thing that strikes you about this book is that it's big. 1500 pages big. Big enough that physically handling the book is inconvenient.

Upon reading it, you'll see that much of the size comes from repetition. Many of the chapters present alternative ways to do the same thing, often using this technique as an explanatory device; yet somehow, the author manages the doublethink of continually repeating the Python "There should be one-- and preferably only one --obvious way to do it" mantra.

The order in which the material is presented is wrong. The book explains Python's basic types before its syntax; this means it's 300 pages in before you can actually start writing code that does anything. It's 473 pages in before the concept of a function is introduced; even if this text was written for those who had done no previous programming at all, this seems bizarre. Obviously the sections on types have to talk a little bit about syntax and functions (otherwise you wouldn't be able to say anything about what those types actually do in the first few chapters), which is yet again a recipe for repetition.

Exercises are few and far between. There are "quizzes" at the end of each chapter, but they're very simple, knowledge-based questions which don't require you to write code. Programming is learned by doing, so you'll need to invent your own projects to do if you want to learn with this book.

If you can ignore the structural defects, the book is beautifully written at the detailed level, and the code examples are of a high standard. It is highly readable - you won't need to continually re-read to understand what's going on - but the repetition means you will find yourself skimming or skipping large sections of the text.

The book is a broad overview of a vast language; it is not a detailed API reference, and doesn't have examples of every possible API call. And neither should it be; all that stuff is online. It does explain the concepts well and give you an insight into why Python has evolved to be the way it is. However, if you're an experienced programmer looking for a quick way to break into the Python world, you might want to look for something a little more concise.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2016
Abysmal.
You will get a greater sense of achievement simply having finished this book, than mastering Python.

His whole book is summed up in one sentence: "we shall cover this later".
When later does arrive, and believe me it's an eternity away, you then get presented with the whimsical "There are too many details to cover here, please search other material online".

If your on kindle, don't even try.
The barrage of constant (see chapter 1) ... (see chapter 28) *n ... Will quite possibly even make you resent any family members even sharing the same first name as Mark.

Bang for buck, spend a little more money and grab a handful of Python books.
You will gain greater knowledge and more breadth than what this drivel provides.

If your masochism overwhelms you to still proceed and purchase this instrument of torture, then be prepared for the agony to ensue as he is constantly baiting you to buy his follow up book, programming Python.

If anyone is wishing to grab a free copy, mine shall be residing at the recycling centre.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
As others have said, this book is not suited for the absolute beginner. However, if you spend a little while on introduction youtube tutorials learning the syntax beforehand, this book is an excellent bridge up to intermediate Python.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Let me begin this review with a plea to all intending writers of books about the very excellent Python programming language; please stick the spam where the sun don't shine. And the parrots too. I loved the Monty Python series but after a couple of hundred pages these 'witty' references don't seem funny any more.
My headline for this review is very harsh but I am going to try to justify it in view of the very contrasting reviews this book has had. I am not a complete beginner but I am not a pro either, just a hobby programmer.
I bought this book under the influence of the many positive reviews and as I started to read it I was favourable impressed; it was interesting and clearly written. After a couple of evenings, however, I began to feel tired and puzzled; tired after trying to absorb several chapters of information and puzzled because I was no nearer to writing Python code than when I first opened the book. Eventually I realised what the problem was. The book explains clearly how things work but you have to be comfortable with the technical vocabulary used. There are very few example of how to do useful things with Python and this is a serious fault in the book. Instead of example programs there are little experiments on the command line to illustrate how things work. The first example program appears on page 393. Yes, that's page three hundred and ninety three, over a third of the way into the book!
The author's experience as a teacher shows itself in good ways and in bad ways. First, his explanations are usually clear and easy to follow but I feel that his approach and his choice of vocabulary are too technical for the beginning programmer. Second, he tries to reinforce and emphasize certain subjects by use of the standard pedagogical technique of repetition. This is fine in a class room situation. In a book, though, it is not required. It makes this big book even bigger with no benefit to the reader. For example, polymorphism and operator overloading are discussed briefly on page 84 in the context of strings and again on page 114 in the chapter about numbers, there are a couple more pages in the chapter on functions and several mentions in the chapters about object oriented programming. This could be justified if polymorphism were actually used, with examples, in these early mentions but it is not. These early mentions of polymorphism do not help the me use strings or numerical types, and they do not help with understanding the example programs (because there aren't any). In fact, they just get in the way. It seems the author feels (rightly) that they are important and so (wrongly, in my view) brings them up at every opportunity.
The few code samples are often hard to follow because common computer terms, such as value and data, are used as variable names. For example, on page 629, the class, FirstClass has the line, self.data = value. With a more realistic context, such as a CD collection or an employee class, it would be easier to distinguish the language constructs from the data that the code is working on and so the code would be easier to understand. As it is, even these trivial examples make the function of the code harder to discern.
Here are a couple of cases where I feel the approach is wrong and does not consider the needs of the learner. First, while trying to understand how to use the self argument I consulted pages 619-620, 640, and 686-687, scattered over 4 chapters. I found no clear explanation of how to use it but I found this on page 620: "Because classes are factories for multiple instances, their methods usually go through this automatically passed-in self argument whenever they need to fetch or set attributes of the particular instance being processed by a method call." Second, on the subject of lambda functions, on page 476 the explanation begins, "Besides the def statement, Python also provides an expression form that generates function objects. Because of its similarity to a tool in the Lisp language, it's called lambda. Like def, this expression creates a function to be called later, but it returns the function instead of assigning it to a name." These two samples are clearly written but, in my opinion, if you can understand them then you probably do not need this book. Faced with such prose, the beginner's only hope is the example code but often there isn't any.
This approach, of writing about how Python works, makes the book far longer than it needs to be. There are four chapters on functions! And the first three of them are on the basics. I have read books that cover this in one chapter including example code. They can do this because they tell you how to use functions rather than the technical details about how they work. For example, If you are coming to Python from C, like I did, then you may not realize that you have to define your functions in your code before you call them. This point is not stated! Instead there is a small section called "def is executable code" which might convey this point to an experienced programmer but which beginners will step over as they hunt for information about how to actually use functions.
The book contains a great deal of information and it might have done duty as a reference book if it had a good index. Unfortunately it has a bad index which is incomplete, inaccurate, and inconsistent. Some words which I tried without success to look up are, strip() method, argv, sys.argv, != operator, equality, NOT, arithmetic, OR, NOT, logical operators, ord. Examples of terms which are in the index but which have inaccurate or missing page references include the following. "self argument" is missing some important references on pages 640 and 619 - 620 while the single reference given, 687, is out by one page. "end of line characters 923" is out by one page and is missing pages 234-235. "file iterators 354" gives only the start page of the discussion and is missing a reference on page 235. Strangely, page 235 does appear as a subheading under "files" while page 354 does not.
There are no cross-references and in a book of this complexity there really should be. For example, the heading "anonymous functions" should have a "see also lambda expressions".
The index uses subheadings and sub-subheadings but there are no continuation headings with the result that when you scan from one column to the next it is difficult to know which level of the hierarchy you are in.
There are some rather weird headings that nobody would think of looking up. Sometimes they turn out to be section headings. Now it is quite reasonable to look at section headings for possible index terms but they are not always suitable as they stand because authors sometimes indulge in a little whimsy when choosing headings. For example under "arguments" I found "min wakeup call 455". This gives no clue as to the content to be found at page 455 so it should not be used in the index. A more descriptive heading should have been chosen instead.
Apart from the errors and omissions the index is badly in need of editing to make it consistent and coherent. The heading "comparison methods 730" is immediately followed by "comparison operators 730" while some pages on comparison operators (118-119 and 246-248) are not mentioned at all. Information about strings appears under "string exceptions", "string methods", "string formatting", "string formatting method calls" (yes, it's the next main heading), "string object type", "string operations" and finally "strings", the latter having a long column of subheadings which include some, but not all, of the pages listed under the earlier headings. Now it's a basic principle of indexing that if you find a word in the index then all the relevant and useful page references should be listed under that word. So under the heading "strings" should be everything about strings. But there is too much; that's why these other headings are used. So what lies under "strings"? Most of it belongs under a heading such as "string encoding" . A little editing would tidy this up and remove the rather silly "non-ASCII text, coding 907" followed immediately by "non-ASCII text, encoding and decoding 907", not to mention the subheading, "string methods 84", one page, while there are a dozen subheadings about string methods further back!
I could carry on ripping apart almost every part of the index but you are probably fed up with this by now. Why make such a fuss about the index? If you had tried to use this one you would think that indexes are rather useless and not worth the bother. But they are not supposed to be. A good index would direct you at once to the information on whatever topic you are looking for; not to every single mention as the search function on a PDF or e-reader does but just to the useful ones. This is a big, complex book with lots of intricate technical details so indexing it would be a considerable challenge requiring time and expertise. It would have rescued some value from the book.
You won't learn to program in Python from this book for the simple reason that the it does not try to teach it. It contains a huge amount of technical information about how Python works but not enough about how to actually use it. The author can write clearly and well in a way that makes it interesting but serious thought needs to be given to the organization of this large book and to targeting it to its intended audience. The back cover makes clear that it is an introductory level text which requires no previous experience. This is simply not true and that is why I feel justified in describing it as the worst language tutorial book I have ever tried to use. Even for the experienced programmer its usefulness is severely dented by the ragged organization and by the terrible index which leaves a considerable part of the book's content inaccessible.
On a wider issue, I have bought 3 introductory books on Python from different publishers and none of them were good. This makes me wonder if it is wise to buy such books any more especially when so much information is available on the internet. Publishers really need to consider how they can add value to content instead of just dumping it between two covers and putting it on sale. For me that means clear, concise and accurate explanations, helpful organization of the text, realistic example code, and a good index. Otherwise I don't see the point of buying books any more.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
It's vastly overlong, and incomplete. Of the 1500+ pages, I thought "well, at least it'll be comprehensive".
So I search for shell, shell escapes, executing, popen, running, os. , and so on in the index.
A few scraps. Popen is how you'd call the shell to run commands, by the way. Lots of options and subtleties. Important and useful for a scripting language like Python, where you'll often be interacting with the o/s.
There turned out to be next to nothing on what I would have devoted a chapter to. Oh, and everywhere there are references to "we'll cover that in chapter x". If you could be bothered to go that far. I have several of the authors books; this is by far the worst, and is one of the poorer technical books I've encountered. A shame, as it seems to me such a missed opportunity.

Another example: parsing command-line arguments, which is supposed to be achieved with argumentparser. In 1500 pages, there's nothing on that; Oh, I lied. There's 1 reference, which simply refers to getopt, argparse, and optparse. No recommendations, no details, and a suggestion that you use the built-in function input() to prompt the user (FGS has the author ever written a command-line program?).

I find docs.python.org pretty unusable, (maybe that's my fault), but this is actually worse!
1500 pages should mean it's a reference book. This is not.

BTW, just how is this an unhelpful review? If you love the book, fine, but don't be childish and vote down people who disagree. Sigh.
22 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
The book is huge and gives a reader a deep understanding of Python both in 2.X and 3.X versions.
Everything is explained from all possible angles and with many (really, many) examples.
Why 3/5 then?

Well, often during reading this book I had a feeling, that the author was being paid by the number of pages. Often he described even the simplest ideas on two pages and repeated himself over and over again. Frankly, sometimes I thought that that he thinks a reader is an idiot.

Also the huge number of examples isn't such a great thing considering that after 5 or 10 trivial examples and getting what the idea is, you would expect a few more advanced to keep your brain working. But no, after that you get another 5 or 10 trivial examples which are just too similar to the previous ones. As a result most of this book is horribly boring (and that's really a lot of pages).

So to summarize - the book itself contains a great dose of knowledge but the same could've been fit to the half of the volume without losing any bit of information and understandability.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2009
After reading 2/3 of this book I was tearing my hair out. It fails to address either beginners or experience programmers properly. I fall into the latter group, being a perl developer of 10 years.

For beginners it doesn't explain any programming concepts. So you will be learning python features without grasping what purpose they fill.

It shows you very methodically the basic forms, constructs and features of the language but not why or how to use them. A good book will show you these features in context early on and walk you through the example code for real use cases highlighting the feature it is showing.

It should not really be comparing why feature x is differnt in python to C or worrying the reader about future changes to the language. It should give the reader just enough information to start playing with the language by showing the reader basic programs, explaining the concepts and providing good exercises that encourage the reader to think like a programmer.

Experienced programmers will feel like they are wasting their time I as did. I'm reading Core python now which is considerably better but even that could be arranged better. I'd prefer a summary of data types, conditionals and looping and then get right to the meat and potatoes of functional and oo programming, followed by a more detailed reference. Detailed tables of of datatypes, file open() options should not be at the beginning, they should be in a reference section.

I got a bit sick of all the monty python references too although it did made me laugh when it asked me what my favourite colour was in one of the exercises - but that unfortunately was it's only redeeming feature.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
I have just completed reading the first 900 pages of this 1200 page book, which comprises a course covering all the basics of the Python programming language. (The remaining 300 pages covers numerous advanced topics and the appendices). At the end of these 900 pages the author states the following :-

'At this point, you've been exposed to the full subset of Python that most programmers use. In fact, if you have read this far, you should feel free to consider yourself an official Python programmer. Be sure to pick up a t-shirt the next time you're online.'

And I can certainly say that I feel I have just had a first class education in Python from this book. The author clearly knows his subject inside out, and he gives detailed explanations backed by concise code examples throughout, and often reiterates important points, making learning much faster.

I already have a knowledge of C++, PHP, Perl, and JavaScript, so I cannot really speak for the absolute beginner coming to this book with no prior programming experience. But for someone like me with programming experience, but no knowledge of Python, the book is excellent.

Some reviews of this book have been quite harsh, in particular complaining that it is verbose and wordy. There is no doubt the writing style is somewhat wordy, but on the other hand the author doesn't miss important details. I think the latter is more important, particularly in a technical book. The worst technical books are those which leave the reader with too many unanswered questions in their heads.

The first 200 pages or so probably seem the most wordy, and after that you get more into the core aspects of the language. I think the problem might be the author is targeting both experienced programmers and complete newcomers alike. For the latter, basic concepts need to be explained, but the former will find this unnecessary.

If there was one area of the book where more explanation could have been provided I would say it was in relation to function closures. This can be a tricky concept. It is heavily used in JavaScript, so I already had a handle on it, but even then it can easily trip you up.

Throughout, the author describes both versions 2.6 and 3.0 of Python, though 3.0 is emphasised. Version 2.6 will still be widely used for many years to come, but for completely new projects 3.0+ will most likely be used.

This book is not perfect, but I am giving it 5 stars as I feel it has taught me adequetely all the core areas of the Python language.

Re the wordiness remember any author's time is limited, as illustrated in the following quote -
"I'm sorry I wrote you such a long letter; I didn't have time to write a short one."
¯ Blaise Pascal
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
This books is a comprehensive description of Python 2.6 and Python 3, from basics through to advanced topics such as decorators and metaclasses. The author is an experienced Python teacher, and the book has plenty of examples.

My main criticism is that it is somewhat repetitive and very long - well over 1000 pages. I can't help thinking that a more focussed approach could cut several hundred pages, and the result would be more digestible, easier to navigate, less daunting, and just more fun. By comparison the O'Reilly book on Ruby is less than half the length but gives a similar depth of coverage, though it is aimed more at experience programmers and includes fewer examples.

Having said all that, I did learn some unexpected things about Python (especially differences between Python 2.6
and Python 3), and I don't know any other Python books to recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)