Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2011
Too basic - aimed at too low a level - more detailed information on the internet. Illustrations are very basic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
This book is exactly as described 'getting started...' because it is ideal for anyone who has never used an Arduino before and has little or no experience with electronics.

There are some very good free e-books such as the Oomlout Arduino Experimenters Guide and the Earthshine Design Manual, which contain many more projects and will take you much further than this book can, but I'm glad I read it first as I hadn't used a micro-controller or C before and my last experience with electronics was at school. I studied the book while I was waiting for my starter kit to arrive, worked through the projects and I still refer to it over the e-books for things such as the table of colours for reading resistors and the code in one of the early projects for momentary buttons has come in handy a number of times.

As recommended in one of the other reviews I also purchased Making Things Talk: Practical Methods for Connecting Physical Objects but found this to be way over my head at the moment.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
This starts at an extremely simple and accessible level. If you've never handled a bare LED before, then it's pitched at exactly the right place to begin. The basics of setting up the Arduino IDE and a "Hello World"-level pushbutton to LED program are given.

The trouble is that this is about as far as the book goes. It assumes you know nothing to start with (a good thing), but doesn't leave you much further along at the end of it. If it were twice the length, then it might achieve more.

There's nothing in here that's reference material. Once you're through this book once (an evening, maybe two) you're finished with it.

There's little inspiration in here. It's not a patch on, "Making Things Talk". It tries hard enough, but there just isn't space. The integration between Processing on a desktop to analyse an RSS feed and then communicate by serial over USB to the Arduino and some LEDs is a good idea, but the clarification between Sketch and Processing could have been made more obvious (just some different typography would have helped).

This is a good book if you're running one-day workshops for kids with no hardware knowledge at all. It does handle starting from scratch very well, it just doesn't go far enough to really spark interest.

If you already knew what an Arduino was before looking at this book though, then you don't need it. Start with the online refs, and keep looking for a really good tutorial to getting started with the Arduino.
22 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
At one point the author mentions an electronic engineer's description of the early chapters of the book as "fluff". I'm afraid I agree with the engineer. If you know absolutely nothing about electronics then it is just possible you might learn something from this book, but if you can connect a battery, a resistor and an LED together and get some light then you are way ahead of this book.

There must be better Arduino books out there. "Making Things Talk: Practical Methods for Connecting Physical Objects" by Tom Igoe looks a lot more promising.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
Really good introduction for people to get to grasps with the basic concepts of the Arduino platform. The examples are presented in nice bite sized chunks but can be used as scalable building blocks for larger projects.
Definitely acts as a good base and stepping stone for more in depth projects, including basic electronics theory too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
I bought this book to help get me started with the arduino. Now in all truth, I wasn't expecting it to be more that a starter. I was tinkering with electronics over 30 years ago, and have done a couple of degrees in the subject since. However, having been out of the electronics world for a good 20 years, I thought it would help as a reminder.

I read it in one day, and only really use it as a reference, for info about the arduino and the programming language. Having said that, it was a great place to start, and did give my brain the jolt it needed to get going.

So, would I recommend it, YES. Would I suggest it as a good book to take you any further than the basics, NO. My biggest bit of advice is to use it to get started, then use the arduino playground on their website to see what other people have done, and then use it for ideas, BUT DON'T just copy them. If you just follow other people's designs without thinking how it works, you'll not get very far.

Good luck, and have fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2009
Getting started with Arduino takes the novice user and gives them a good introduction to the world of Arduino microprocessors. The book is compact and fun, making it an ideal choice for the younger maker, and for those with a weekend interest in the subject.

The book is somewhat reminiscent of the electronic project books written by R.A Penfold in the early 80's. In short, the author takes the novice by the hand, and shows the essentials of the subject through a series of simple projects.

At the end of this book the reader can expect to have a basic understanding of the Arduino platform. There is enough information for the reader to to make their own simple projects, and also to understand some of the more complicated projects that are out there in the public domain.

In short, Getting Started With Arduino is a compact volume that does exactly what the title suggests. A worthwhile purchase for the novice, and when combined with an Arduino kit, an ideal gift for a young maker.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2011
This is a short book: I read it in a couple of hours. It starts on a whimsical, almost philosophical, note which might be useful for some - but not me. I liked the hand-drawn pictures (much clearer than the murky and grainy photos you sometimes encounter). Despite the lightweight approach though it launches fairly quickly into quite large and indigestible blocks of code. Given the lightweight approach of the book it might have been helpful to have taken a more diagrammatic approach to describing the logic of the code and to have relegated most of the detail to an appendix. With no code reference I was sometimes left puzzling over what a particular bit of code was trying to do.

I would like to have seen a bigger range of ideas introduced: there was no for example mention of the "shields" that can be bought for the Arduino to extend its capabilities into everything from WiFi to temperature sensing. The book will also need updating at some point to touch on the Arduino Mega
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
This book is great to put next to your arduino and just work through, from the basic ' installing the software' ( very useful) onwards. It explains things meticulously and throughly, well up to page 75.. when it just gives you 4 pages of code with no explanation !

However I would definitely recommended buying this book as a first ' arduino' book, as it does exactly what the title says.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
This book is ideal for anyone new to the subject as it starts at a basic level before moving into the project ideas. (perhaps a little understanding of the terms associated with integrated ciruits and controllers may be helpful prior to reading).

I would recommend this as there are so few books on the market which deal with this topic in a user friendly way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)