Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 17 July 2017
I love this book. It's taught me so much about Linux (Bash specifically) and made me fall completely in love with it. I had basic familiarity with bash and linux, but this book really elevated me to someone who can make serious use of the full power that it has to offer.

Also, don't let the fact that it's written for Fedora in mind put you off. I use Ubuntu and haven't come across anything which hasn't been useful for being Fedora-specific.

What's truly staggering is how short and small this book is, and how much information is so efficiently packed into such a small space. No waffle, nothing superfluous.

Despite how much this book has to teach you, it also humbles you in highlighting how much there is to learn about Linux and GNU programs in general. It only touches the surface of things like grep and sed, but enough to be both informative and stimulate your interest further.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Excellent value for the would be nerd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 April 2008
So many books are thick, wordy, and conceal their nuggets of wisdom, but not this one. It's not big, so you won't find full details on (eg) all of the many Linux email clients - but they get a mention.
Works well for me (ex BSD 4.x sysop in the 1980s) as well as friends with no previous knowledge of operating systems. It's the examples that are such a help - most of the things we've needed to do are covered with a brief, relevant example. We use it with Ubuntu mainly - Debian distros are not identical to Fedora but we've not seen a problem - both are Linux and conform to the POSIX standard.
Reading it cover-to-cover is logical, informative, and highly recommended. Three times, and the info is starting to stick..... Then keep it handy to look things up when you need them! Highly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2004
The book is the perfect pocket guide to Linux. Never mind the Fedora slant. This book will introduce you to all the important commands and if you want to take anything further O'Reilly's "Linux in a Nutshell" is the perfect companion.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2005
I don't envy Mr Barrett's task with this book. Everybody has a slightly different wishlist of commands to go in a book like this; it's impossible to please everybody. That said, I think he's got it about as close to perfection as possible. This book has an incredible amount of useful info in a usefully small volume. If like me you can normally remember the command, but always struggle to remember the right option (which one do you add to TAR for BZ2 files?) this book is a godsend.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2004
This is an excellent reference to Linux commands - perfect when you need to get something done, but do not know the command to use, or cannot remember the syntax of a particular command. Top drawer! I have had the O'Reilly "Running Linux" book for a number of years, but this book is a great companion/replacement.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2008
If you do choose to explore the command line interface of Linux this may be the only book you need buy. True, if you are setting up a network or a LAMP server you will need much more, but if your goal is to gain an insight into what goes on under the hood of Linux or you just need an aide memoire for common Linux commands, this is the best book available. Written in a style that works both as a tutorial and a reference work its only real weakness is the absence of a simple quick reference guide to Linux commands - you have to rely on the index. Although it aims at a Fedora audience, there is probably no user of any other distro that won't find this book worth the purchase price. And it's a very convenient size to literally slip into your pocket.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2005
I'm surprised how often it's got what I'm looking for - with something I didn't know on almost every page - though I've used Linux for several years now.
Also recommended as a newbie's survival guide.
Inexpensive and excellent.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2006
If you just want to know how to use linux in 10 mins, this is the book for you. Teaches you what you need to know, without getting caught up in any specifics. As well as teaching you all the standard linux commands (and some application specific ones for RedHat), this book gives a brief overview about other things you'll need to understand about linux, such as how the file system works. Recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2010
I became fascinated by Linux a few years ago, and for me you improved on my Linux skills i needed a no nonsense Book that was easy to read and understand. This is the Book i choose, and i haven't looked back...Get it if you're interested in learning about LINUX.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)