Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2009
This book really is exactly what it says, it will take you from linux poweruser/administrator to understanding the basics of the kernel, and getting that vital starting point in developing.

I bought it some time ago for some background reading and found it a little bit too detailed for that, but am now studying it in more detail for a potential honuors project at university on linux file systems, which involves some kernel jiggery-pokery. Without this, I doubt I'd ever be able to get started.

It explains big ideas in English, then goes on to explain the interesting parts in English, along with the tiny bit of C code it is describing.

Well written and explains rarer generic things in an easily skippable way - for example there is a part of the kernel that uses double-linked-lists and the page before that explains them in a nice box, so that anybody who knew about them already (since they are a general topic and not specific to kernels) can skip it easily.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2005
Beautifully written, gives enough to delve deeper without overwhelming. The authors comeo out as experts who understand their subject briefly. If you have to buy ONE book on the kernel, buy this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Describes the ideas, concepts, and algorithms used in the 2.6 Linux kernel in a good an interesting way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2003
No doubt it's a tough task writing about the horrible mess that is the Linux kernel. Does a good job of sticking to the principles as much as possible, and adding details that are specific to 2.0, 2.2 and 2.4 kernels.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2008
This book is excellent way to get know how Linux kernel works and what it does. For person like me, sysadmin for some years already, the book clarifies what makes operating system to behave some way or other. I will not recommend this book for any junior sysadmin, but for thous who have experience and whom are asked to help when systems work strange way the book can give really good background knowledge.

For example after reading this book I could understand slocate cronjob and page table growing relation. Of course removing slocate from cron is the fix, but knowing why it helps and what it does is related to slabs. Even monkey can fix things without understanding what he is doing or why, that is why the book is so important.

Since this and Solaris internals are only books about this subject (what I know) there is no other option than give five starts. I hope in future there will be even better and less dry kernel internal books. Meanwhile this is one of the best.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2016
hope I can find time to finish it.
It's informative for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
I love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2006
Everybody likes easy to read books and I also assume that learning UNIX is not necessarily has to be a struggle. This book stood up to my expectations almost perfectly: it is very well written and clearly expressed work. It does not overwhelm with technical details and does not press too much. It is VERY descriptive and takes you snoothly from subject to subject. I also followed an advise in someone's review and purchased "UNIX Essentials" DVD that is complete unix course recorded (I found on Amazon.com but since they do not ship outside US I ordered it directly from CustomFlix.com). These two nicely complement one another. You watch it and you read it. If you didn't catch it from the first try you watch it again and read it again. In two months I found myself confident to that extend that gave advises to our system administrator and he accepted them because there were subjects that he wasn't completely sure. What I can say, in three month I passed my first interview and got a job! Sure it is a way to start and there are much more advanced reading, however these two provide you with the background !
I can't overstate how much I have learned from them. Don't be naive, though. You will have to learn and memorize many things. The fact of owning neither book nor DVD will not make you knowledgeable, but if you will work it trough, trust me, you will surprise many people around!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
It happens to hack kernel, a lot of times following suggestions of some forum.
But in fact, what are you doing exactly? And why things work in that way?

These are the questions that brought me to buy this book; let's understand better why linux is so great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)