Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • XSLT
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
12
4.1 out of 5 stars
XSLT
Format: Paperback|Change


on 16 January 2002
I needed to know a lot more about XSLT in a short space of time, so I bought this because it looked pretty good (the O'Reilly brand says quite a lot for starters). It is extremely good - well-structured, shorn of all the faffing-around you normally get in tutorial books for starters but still accessible to a newbie, and incidentally written with intelligence and panache. If you want to get in there with XSLT, this is the book to buy.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2002
Much better than Wrox's offering, this O'Reilly book keeps up the good name by providing a very clear and easy to understand reference with good chapters for introducing concepts, and a small FAQ for commen issues.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2003
If you are new to programming or new to XML, then you probably aren't ready for this book. However, if you have experience of both and want to learn about XSLT, then this book is a must. It presents the ideas concisely and quite rapidly, so you feel all along you are learning good material, not just reading the verbiage which seems to fill so many books. The main chapters (including the one on XPath and XPointer) are very well written and above all clear. The reference sections at the back are excellent and packed full of useful examples.
If you are hungry for more after this then try the XSLT Cookbook by Sal Mangano (O'Reilly again!). For XML, try XML In A Nutshell by Elliotte Rusty Harold and W. Scott Means, or the XML Handbook by Charles F Goldfarb and Paul Prescod.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2005
This book is really not worth the money. The indexing is poor - it really is very difficult to find the answer to a specific question. The examples are pointless in that they are far to long to be typed in and you're left wondering what point they are trying to make.
I wanted to find out how to select a node based on two or more attributes. I couldn't find out how despite ages searching. In the end I came upon the answer by trial and error!
I would rather have seen a lot more smaller examples each demonstrating some functionailty or other rather than a few large examples.
Don't buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2002
XSLT is a technology that takes a while to get used to; most people I've spoken to had no idea why their XSLT didn't work until I explained how its recursion mechanism worked, something I myself couldn't have understood without the groundwork presented in this book. Plenty of examples given, plus an excellent reference guide in the latter sections make this a very worthwhile purchase.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2001
I have always been a fan of O'Reilly book and have only found a couple not up to the normal high standard. This is yet another example of the excellent books they have produced.
Before reading this book I thought XSLT was powerful language, but I had underestimated just how powerful. It's well written, fully of very useful and informative information, which have been backed up by good examples. The only thing I can say against it is directed at Linux XLS processors. With that said it is still the best XLST book I have read to date by far.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
The book is probably as good as it can be on its subject, but failed to convince me that XSLT is nothing better than the most arcane approach to data delivery/presentation possible. XSLT has (had?) its following but doesn't include me. Javascript and javascript libs have come on by leaps and bounds since X-technologies hit the streets and have quite rightly blitzed them out of the water. Buy this one only to learn what you (gladly) missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2007
There are websites which will teach you as much as this book does for free. I would have expected a pretty comprehensive coverage of everything in XSLT in reasonable detail, but huge areas of XSLT 1.0 are not covered and I am still in the dark after looking at it about them. This is the first poor book from O'Reilly I've bought in over 14 years of IT Consultancy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
exactly what I need for studying the XML master exam. be aware that you need xslt version 1 for the exam, not xslt 2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2007
The book is probably great but it doesn't cover the latest versions. There are significant changes, some of which make life a lot easier and so starting from here is probably not the best place
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

XSLT
£39.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)