Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
32
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2000
If you're doing serious Perl, you *need* this book for reference.
(I wouldn't try to learn the language from it though).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 June 2004
I have to admit that before using this book I used learning perl. However everything that I learned in the first book was in the first chapter of this book. I'm very impressed with the layout of this book. Beverage time I turned a new page I found something else I had to try. One paragraph in chapter six prime outlines the whole reason for really wanting to use pearl.
"Perl doesn't just glue together other computer languages. It also glues together command line interpreters, operating systems, processes, machines, devices, networks, databases, institutions, cultures, web pages, GUIs, peers, servers, and clients, not to mention people like system administrators, users, and of course, hackers, both not be in nice. In fact pearl is rather competitive about cooperative."
This book is well designed to get you off the Ground and hit the deck running. I doubt that I can give it enough stars.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2000
A thoroughly educational, entertaining and practical exploration of Perl 5 by the guys who should know! This is a fun(!) reference (or should that be \$fun ?). Don't get me wrong - this volume presents the serious aspects of Perl and includes tons of 'difficult' ideas and reference material. It just does it in a very entertaining style which is never patronising or over the top, no matter your level of competence.
A Perl reference for Perl People by Perl People.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2000
If you can't get out of using Perl (in an ideal world, you'd always find an excuse to use another language) this book is remarkably complete, well-written and useful. It's just a pity that it's an infinitely better book than the language it describes.
It's in a strange position - a superb book describing an absolute mess of a language - but there is no better guide through the Perl minefield.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
A very comprehensive book.
A bit too big if you want to use for learning the language as a beginner, but definitely a precious element to keep on your bookshelf.
A well written book where all the concepts are clearly explained.
Searching into the index if often quicker than googling it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2001
I found the book well written and informative - unlike some computer books intended for androids! The thing I didn't like about this book is that the authors keep jumping ahead of themselves, which can be very confusing in the early chapters - there is no real progression of topics. If you are a novice perl programmer, or even a moderate one, Beginning Perl from Wrox is a much better book. If you are an intermediate programmer who wants to become a Perl guru, this is the book for you. The book gets 4 stars mainly for the humorous and interesting way it is written, and the invaluable reference material.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2001
This is a large book and the detail is exact - telling you about things you never even knew existed let alone thought were a potential problem in your program! The humour makes for a light hearted read in an otherwise heavy-going subject. The CAMEL Book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2001
Books by O'Reilly are always a winner. Everything you could possibly want to know about Perl. Perhaps not for first timers but for intermediate programmers and above it's a must have book to have in front of your keyboard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2001
How to easily understand a new programming language? Larry Wall knows the answer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.91
£30.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)