Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
57
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2012
In recent months I have completely lost my faith
I began researching loss of faith and found many helpful books and internet articles
It came as a surprise to discover that there are clergy some still serving who no longer believe
This book explains many conflicting statements in the bible and explains how we are conditioned to believing in a supernatural human being
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Thank you for taking the trouble Jason - wonderful stuff. So sad that the people with power and influence over my life actually believe religious dogma.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2011
Make no mistake this is the book to read to debunk all the myths and legends contained within the bible.

It is very well written with clear, concise information for the doubting Christian/atheist/freethinker.

It should be required reading in schools across the world and would help so many free themselves from the brain washing of religion.

Don't hesitate, buy it and several more copies for your reasoning and sensible friends.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2009
Jason Long adds more grist to the mill for those of us who dare to challenge the authority of Bronze Age world views, superstitions, fables and fear.

I particularly like the way the book systematically moves through the various 'themes' that the pious seem to believe are given by God to 'the inspired'.

'Scripture' is a sitting-duck for the keen minds of today. These age-old fables are no match for the scientific and analytical approach of modern scholars as the author ably demonstrates. Scripture - all of it - is frozen in time and books like this expose the ignorance and savagery of those men who claimed to have recieved 'divine revelations'.

Religious types won't like this book - not because Long is wrong in his conclusions, but because he dares to challenge, refute and expose. There was a time when such things could not be said and done - mankind called such times the Dark Ages!
Religion hates nothing more than a smart-Alec, especially one who turns on it. Remember, don't eat from the tree of knowledge.

I applaud Jason Long on this tastly little book. Another brick in the wall that will eventually block religion from encroaching into the world and minds of humanity??

I sure hope so.

Barry
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2010
I have read many books which expose the fallacy of religion from every angle (cult tactics; science; history; DNA; maths; etc). This book is extremely well written and he covers just the right topics in the right sequence/process to educate the reader from the basics as to HOW people get seduced by the lies of the clergy; how the clergy retain control over the minds of devotees (great explanation of cognitive dissonance) and great overview of logical fallacies as used by defenders of faith. Then he analyses the content of the Bible - the bizarre stories and doctrines. KABOOM ! he explodes the myths and exposes the patent folly and nonsense of the Bible.
I so wish i read this book as a teenager - i could have saved so many man-hours, money and headspace by knowing that the Bible is such illogical, implausible, impossible, anti-science, nonsensical trash which portrays a deity which is worse than the worst dictator and mass murderer.
GREAT BOOK - i strongly recommend this book to friends and especially to the slaves of religion who need help and liberation.
Friends don't let friends suffer from delusions/false beliefs.
22 Comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 July 2010
I liked the scientific way the author analyses the bible. His style is a bit rough but he does make a strong science-based case for the man-made rather than divinely inspired nature of the bible. Very thought provoking. For example, he lists dozens of common sense reasons why the story of Noah's ark could NEVER have happened.
77 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
An excellent book ,if you are a doubting Christian or just a plain atheist ,this is the book for you ! ,Dr Jason Long's detailed analysis of (especially the old testament ) the Bible is both accurate and amusing ,he goes from verse to verse (and I would say you need a Bible with you so as to judge the accuracy ) pulling them apart in detail ,the Noah story being particularly funny .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
Comprehensive & well researched - covers a wide range of arguments against the inconsistencies in the Bible. However, its let down by an immature writing style. It looks as if the Publisher couldn't afford an editor to guide the author. Probably worth it for the amount of information but be ready to wade through some turgid text!!
33 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2010
As a de-converted Christian who derives perverse satisfaction from reading a good hatchet-job on the Bible, I was disappointed with this book - it was simply hard to read. The claim that it is written for the layman I think is misleading. I'm a layman with a PhD who has had writing published, but I found the intellectual effort required too great to sustain my interest beyond a few pages of a few randomly-chosen chapters. On top of that, logic & reason are constantly paraded as the answer all humanity's ills, with a zeal that matches that of the Christians I am fed up of listening to.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)