Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
124
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2014
Too anecdotal, and the information is hidden in rambling accounts where the narrator glorifies Andy McNab to the point where it becomes sycophantic!

A fun read, but not to be taken seriously.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
This is a cracking book, insightful and interesting. The contributions by Andy Mc Nab are especially useful he makes you think about things in a different way and his humour shines through. I have always had a great respect for people who have been and done but don't take themselves seriously and Andy Mc Nab comes across as that type of guy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Kevin Dutton believes that psychopathy lies on a spectrum. His first book on the subject, 'The Wisdom of Psychopaths', reveals how psychopathic traits determine personal success. Bankers, politicians and surgeons, among other professionals, demonstrate 'grace under pressure' that Ernest Hemingway would have loved. According to Professor Dutton, this is to be encouraged.

This guide draws a distinction between 'good' and 'bad' psychopaths - those whose talents can serve the public, and those whose anti-social acts will send them to a cell. Professor Dutton notes as well that observation and regulation are still essential. He cites the recent recession as an example of what happens when amoral, fearless gamblers take too many risks in private.

Dutton's style is flawed. There are times when the guide reads like a giddy travelogue. One could also argue that personal assessment tests are no substitute for diagnostic tools. However, they are a good exercise in self-reflection. What the professor means to do with the results is anyone's guess. Hopefully, there will be another programme on Channel 4.

I'm not qualified to comment on the psychological underpinnings of the book. However, I know from experience that the advice therein is sound. Please buy the guide and read it through. It would be good to learn how many readers score as highly as I do.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
After reading the concept, I had really high hopes for this since I find study-based psychological books from credible and analytical authors very interesting and useful, plus I have read a lot of McNab's books and enjoyed his informative and no-nonsense style. I generally detest "self-help" books due to the lack of any substance or supporting evidence to any claims or advice given.

However sadly I can't bring myself to give this more than 3 stars; mainly due to the narrative style and horrendously cheesy double-act exchanges between Dutton and McNab which are presumably intended to lighten the mood and make the whole thing more appealing to people who are put off by sterile academic stuff. But I just think it doesn't pull it off well enough to appeal to that audience, whilst putting off the audience that does want nitty gritty detail of the studies and theories mentioned.

On the whole the actual content seems to be good (although I would disagree with some of the morality involved in the quizzes), it's just not the in-depth, hard-facts, no-nonsense character study book I was hoping for. However it has given me inspiration to explore Dutton's other book on the subject.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
So, according to the book there are good and bad psychopaths and science can prove it! This book looks at some of the misconceptions about these personality traits, and looks at how you can use them to help you in your own life. There are plenty of examples, tests and demonstrations of the difference between psychopaths and non psychopaths. A lot of the information is useful.

Andy McNab has been brought in to provide an example of a good psychopath, (if you don't know who he is, search for some of his books). And the other author is the scientist.

My only criticism is that the book wanders a bit off topic at times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
About 3/4 of way through book now and find it really helpful and insightful , lots of real world tips and new ways of looking at situations and thought processes , if your one of those people like me who always try to do the " good / right thing " for others and feel you always get stepped on and no good deed goes unpunished read this book for a new out-look that will definately help , trying to remember all the idea's and tips to put them into practice , definately going to re-read book when i'm finished , probably most helpful and down to earth book i've read , both writers Andy McNab and Kevin Dutton come across as really genuine guys , Andy McNab as the not so ordinary everyday man in the street with balls of steel and Kevin Dutton as the not so ordinary geek with added common sense . Helps you to see and deal with life's situations as they really are and not how you want them to be .
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Having suffered the consequences of being (and I use the term loosely) 'raised' by one, I am somewhat disconcerted about the amount of 4 and 5 stars I see here. Psychopaths absolutely do not dial it down when they return home from their ruthless jobs, nor do they understand the meaning of the word Love. You seem to be confusing success in Love with preying on people's vulnerabilities through means of manipulation, domination and control. Is this destructive and self absorbed way of life really what society values in human beings in 2015?

Before endorsing their 'good' traits, it might be a good idea to go and live in close quarters with one for a few years, you might find you feel differently about supporting their characteristics after that.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Very disappointing book. I think the biggest problem I have is the constant reference to Andy McNab being referred to as a "good psychopath", when actually he comes across more like an utter dick. Lacking in empathy, arrogant and selfish behaviour may get you further in life, but are these characteristics something to aspire to? The book offers you fortune cookie advice on how to tap into your inner psychopath, but there's no real insight displayed here. It seems to be an interesting subject that's been really badly handled, and -as many reviewers have mentioned- the laddish 'interplay' between the two authors is tiresome and irritating.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Like many people I was hoping for an entertaining read with some useful life tips.
What I got was a macho- boy guide to being successful, nasty ,but charming ,liberally sprinkled with CAPITALS, which became VERY tedious very QUICKLY.
Some other reviews have pointed out the boring interplay between the authors ,which could have made another tedious book.
You wouldn't have to be an extreme feminist to notice that the terms used are all directed towards men in careers and pursuits traditionally seen as male, high flying and/or risky.
It would have been much more interesting to see how women and other ordinary mortals can use a psychopathic tendency to enhance an "ordinary" life.
It just struck me that this guide might have been very useful for Lester Nygard in the recent series of "Fargo"!
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Christmas present for my 29 year-old son - unmarried, rented flat, working in marketing.
Says that since reading this he's become more focused on his life, especially on his job ambitions.
So that earns it a 5*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)