Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
58
The Allotment Almanac
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 September 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2017
A great read and full of wonderful tips for a new allotmenter!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2013
An easy read, well presented - each month subdivided into useful practical sections with the distinctive flavour of Terry's radio style as in 'tales from the plot'. It takes the gardener through the year in a most comprehensive way,not patronising the experienced nor the new starter. It is a thoroughly excellent guide to allotment growing including vegetables, fruit and flowers but without any hint of the authoritarian textbook.Real pictures of a real gardener at work, clearly enjoying his gardening and happy to share his years of experience.
As you read this book you feel Terry at your side chatting to you as if on the plot together, a real joy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 January 2014
In a day and age where we find our food bills going up, any way that you can do something to help lower it, will be grabbed by people all over. In fact it, at times, feels like we're stepping back in time to a day when a lot of the produce in your home was grown not only by your own fair hand but not far away. Yet when you're starting, you really have to rely on help from others to get you started and a whole lot of reading to figure out what to do at what time of year to get the most from your garden.

In this book Terry brings a charming book, that has not only helpful advice but a month by month guide for your vegetable space, maximising the potential alongside variety of veggies throughout the year. Finally add to this that you not only get hard earned knowledge but presented in a clear, helpful manner all round makes this something that will be a must own title for anyone with an interest in home grown produce.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Brilliant book, well written, easy to follow, funny anecdotes with Terry's humour a very sound purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2014
Bought this for my hubby at Xmas for his stocking.
He is delighted with it. It has lots of advice and colourful tales and anecdotes.
The writing style is easy to read and the layout and photographs are beautiful too.
I can thoroughly recommend this for allotmenteers and veg growers.
I have been borrowing it for a read when himself lets me get my hands on it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2013
Feels and looks lovely. Fantastic month by month what to do on plot. I have an established plot and this book looks like it's written by a real allotment gardener, well done terry!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2013
My husband is very pleased with this bookit is informative. He has just got an allotment so very useful now
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2014
I do not have an allotment, but a very large garden, the veg plot alone is bigger than most peoples gardens. I wanted a month by month planting guide. It is a small book, does not take up a lot of space, some handy tips, have never had any luck germinating carrotts, but Terry said to line trench with compost, plant seeds, then lay on more compost, give the seeds the same conditions as if they were grown in a seed tray, so have tried that. Proof of the carrott hopefully in the eating! Written in a light hearted way, easy to understand
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2013
Great book , well written and informative on running an allotment, would have liked a bit more guidance for a complete novice, but it still gives you the initiative to try your hand at producing good fruit and veg. Also like the little stories from the allotment life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)