Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 25 June 2016
Excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2017
This book gives a real human insight into a great triumph achieved by players giving more than it was supposed they could - and what could be more human, more uplifting than that?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2017
Excellent book some real good interviews and stories a must if your a Leeds United fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
as a man utd fan

a book about Leeds Utd would not appeal I was wrong

every football fan should get the book about Leeds's 91-92 title win

it gives you the background before the big win, when it happened and the aftermath

It showed mostly how most of the squad interviewed are really down to earth nice blokes

players whose stories that touched this reader was the chapters on Gary Speed, Mel Sterland and Carl Shutt

I hope Leeds Utd gives more credit to their 91-92 title heroes

They are champions on and off the pitch
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
Dave Simpson has met his heroes from the Howard Wilkinson teams of the late 80s and early 90s, and gathered their individual stories to make a fascinating and moving narrative. Every Leeds fan will know it well, but find some surprises; other sports fans could well find it has universal appeal. The story is set at the tail end of the age when a local businessman could fund a top division football team, as a city was emerging from grim times into better times, and an unlikely combination of young talent, non-league discoveries and experienced leaders was turned by our country's most under-rated manager into a team of winners. The book busts a few myths - the idea that the 1992 title was lost by Manchester United rather than won by Leeds, the perception that Vinnie Jones was an enforcer who couldn't actually play, or that we needed managers from overseas to bring in good food and fitness... - and is passionate about Leeds without being one-eyed. You can hear the voices of the players as you read about the author's meetings with them, and there are personal stories within the grander story that are by turn hilarious, tragic, revealing and thought-provoking. Fantastic book, which serves too as a fitting tribute to Gary Speed.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
This is a wonderfully written quest to track down the players who won the last ever First Division title. It's funny and illuminating, full of human stories. Who knew David Batty had such hidden depths? I'm not a Leeds fan, but this is an exceptional book about a period of football that has been virtually erased from history. Post-Hillsborough, pre-Sky? Who knew there was such a thing?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
As a Leeds fan you may think I have a biased view but The Last Champions is one of the best sports books i've ever read. Full of anecdotes from the players, management and directors of the club at that time, the sort of stories you never get to hear about apart from on the after dinner speaking events. It wouldn't have mattered if I was a Leeds fan or not this was just highly entertaining from start to finish and oh how football has changed now in the days of huge salaries and big money transfers, these were the days when football was mainly played because they loved the game.The Last Champions
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
A truly excellent book for Leeds fans (and possibly football fans in general). Highly informative and a great trip down memory lane. Laugh out loud in places but tinged with sadness in others. I am a little young to properly remember the glory years in the early 70s but have fond memories of the Wilko years. This book bring home just how great that team was. Although it had a smattering of big stars, it was essentially a team of journeymen and home grown talent. Just a shame that one or two of the bigger characters (Batts!) were reluctant to talk about their achievements. I maybe a little bias but think this would probably make a great movie. Lets hope that some point in the future the current Leeds team can rise again...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
a brilliant review of the winning side from division 2 through to the last champions of the old 1st Division. very interesting interviews with many players of that side and an intriguing over view of how Howard led the teams over that period of time.
I would highly recommend this not only to LEEDS fans but supporters generally.
Jason Fletcher
South West Whites
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)