Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
108
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2012
Boy was I happy.

I'd read Hereward by James Wilde recently and, while I had a couple of issues with the book, on the whole I'd thoroughly enjoyed it. So now that the sequel (Hereward: The Devil's Army) is out, I was intrigued to see how the story went on and whether the writer's tack or style had changed since the first book.

I read it in four days, despite this week being a ruthlessly busy time with few free moments. In short, Devil's Army is everything I could have hoped for in a sequel to Hereward. My two main issues with the first book were the somewhat stereotypical nature of the hero and the sparse treatment of the two great battles the book deals with. It may be that the sequel has escaped this problem by not dealing with world-famous battles and having an already-established hero, but I don't believe that is the case. I think James has taken his treatment of the main character and deepened and broadened his perspective. Hereward had changed throughout the first book, in sometimes jarring ways, and in the sequel his nature changes again several times, but subtly and with finesse, for which I think applause is due. And, while there are no famous historic battles in this one, there are two ways this book wins out. I have (since the first book) read something about the events in Hereward's period of activity and can say that Wilde seems to have really done his homework, using the accepted history, but also making intuitive leaps in gaps in the knowledge. Also, though there may be no great battles in this book, there are plenty of non-famous ones, and they are treated with an in-depth and exciting narrative.

As with the first book, Wilde's narrative style is so enthusing and visual that he could have written a phone book and made it riveting. His descriptions make you feel cold with the icy claws of winter, or terrified in a hut of desperate and dangerous peasants. While I'm giving Devil's Army 5 stars, I can't see anything he ever writes being worthy of less than 4, just because of the way it's written.

From the devastation of the north under the conqueror's army, to the fortress in the swamps at Ely, to the numerous betrayals of the loyal and doomed English, to the amazing Harald Redteeth (who I think I want to be), to the almost Martin-Sheen-rising-from-the-river-in-Apocalypse-Now ambushes that devastate the cold Normans, every step is a win. The plot is well-written and well-rounded and ties up beautifully from beginning to end, with more hooks, twists, surprises and stunning scenes than the first, and more than most novels in the genre.

I would recommend people read these books. Hopefully you will love Hereward and its sequel. Hereward was a gripping read, but the Devil's Army is a tour-de-force and a welcome addition to my shelf of great Historical Fiction.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 July 2012
Review:

When i first started Hereward: Devils Army it was looking forward to what should be a great read. Book one Hereward was a fantastic book (

So it was very worrying to start the book and struggle to get into it.

So I took a step back remembering that I know you have to be in the right frame of mind for every author and every book you read. Its why my TBR pile is so fluid. On reflection I think I pushed myself into this one and wasn't ready, I was more conscious of the publication date than being ready for it. (I had just finished 4 Historical Fiction books back to back and I usually take a breather in-between)....

After a particularly light hearted cheesy thriller I picked Hereward The Devils army up again, and it clicked immediately, how? why had i struggled?

All I know is that instantly I was submerged in what is a splendidly visual piece of writing. So many sights sounds and smells written so well you can experience them all intimately. The characters grow again from book 1 to book 2, taking you further and further into life under the cosh of William Duke of Normandy. The side plots are all so enticing and aided the plot by giving the reader a much wider view of the realm at the time, rather than just the immediacy of Ely's and Hereward's experience.

When the threads finally pull together towards the final chapters its with such a sudden immediate increase in pace you really just cannot put the book down, even if you wanted too and the story is breath taking in its action, pace and horror.

So the worry for a debut author is always can you do it twice, can you repeat the eloquence of book one?

In this case Hell Yes!

Highly recommended

(Parm)

Product Description

1067. The battle ofHastingshas been lost; Harold Godwinsson is dead. The iron fist of William the Bastard has begun to squeeze the life out ofEngland. Villages are torched and men, women and children put to the sword as the Norman king attempts to impose his cruel will upon this unruly nation.

But there is one who stands in the way of the invader's savagery. He is called Hereward. He is a warrior and master tactician and as adept at slaughter as the imposter who sits upon the throne. And he isEngland's last hope.

In a Fenlands fortress of water and wild wood, Hereward's resistance is simmering.

His army of outcasts grows by the day - a devil's army that emerges out of the mists and the night, leaving death in its wake.

But William is not easily cowed. Under the command of his ruthless deputy, Ivo Taillebois - the man they call `the Butcher' - the Norman forces will do whatever it takes to crush the rebels, even if it means razing England to the ground.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
So glad I convinced myself to try James Wilde's Hereward Books. Having read the first Hereward book, although I didn;t feel it was fantastic, I later realized it was more of an introduction to a series of Hereward novels that are most enjoyable to read and classify themselves in a similar mode to Cornwell's Saxon Chronicles. James Wilde has a different style to Cornwell, and maintains a dark and spooky theme throughout. It lacks a touch of humour but proves a real pageturner and I read the Devil's Army in two days. It's just a shame to know from historical facts that Hereward will not succeed in defeating the Normans, but every reader who identifies oneself with an underdog and a heroe fighting for a cause will be left cheering every victory Hereward manages to achieve in his fight against the Normans. The author presents some very dark characters who enrich the story. Hence I go and order parts 3 & 4 and add Hereward's life and times into my proud collection of other great historical fiction novels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
If readers think that the first Hereward novel was blood fueled and action packed well the sequel Hereward: The Devil's Army completely tops it. There are not just more epic battles to be fought, lost or won but also the private battle within the characters comes to the fore as Hereward struggles with his new found leadership with a people who are as tempted to follow him for the right reasons as betray him for all the wrong reasons. He has to either demonstrate mercy or fear if he wishes to rule his followers and gather an army to evenge the fall of the English crown.
However Hereward is not the only key character in this ever twisting and gripping plot, the reader is also introduced to characters from the other side, some Norman barons, the hostage earls Edwin and Morcar and an English advisor called fox who has won himself the King's ear but it sadly leads to the biggest crime of all - the harrying of the north!
Betrayal, loyalty, love and honour are stretched on both sides of the battlefields with plots, secrets and assassinations attempted in various manners and forms not just against Hereward but those most loyal to him, Alric the monk and Turfida his wife. All in an attempt to undermine his power as well as his army.
All these characters and more will fight and struggle against increasingly overwhelming odds both on a personal and more national level and not all will survive for Herewards fears about a traitor lying in the rabble of his army is well founded but only near the end of the book does the reader and Hereward learn their identity and suffer the most traumatic consequences.
This is a prize worthy sequel to the first Hereward novel and as the tension and blood fury increases I can only expect the finale sequel to be utterly mindblowing. Readers are guaranteed not to be disappointed if you follow Hereward further on his quest to save England from the Normans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
A formidable hero in my eye's, I say eye's but this adventure you feel the intensity within your own body. Experience of the excitement in battle, the chills and grief in death.

The fens where they made their home and now a battlefield, looking forward to the next one.

Great writing from a author who knows his history after all the research he had to do to and bring us such a excellent read. I say well done to James Wilde.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 19 August 2012
This second volume on Hereward has some limited improvements when compared to the first one, but suffers from very much the same problems. The topic is anything but original - there are four or five other novels out there on Hereward, his rising and his guerrilla warfare against the Normans.

To make a great piece of historical fiction, I tend to believe that an author needs to combine three ingredients: solid research into the period and historical characters that you are writing about, some original twists and a credible plot, and, perhaps above all, good characterization that makes the characters plausible and makes them come to life. None of these ingredients is particularly strong in this book.

James Wilde has certainly done his historical research, including research on the geography of the Fens to try to capture how the Fen country made up of a mix of forests, lakes, marshes and islands could have looked like before land reclamation. His chronology is accurate, and the historical events he tells do seem to have mostly happened as indicated, including William the Conqueror's terrible Harroying of the North. Some of the features included, such as the scene of cannibalism, are very plausible, at the very least.

However, some of the twists introduced into the plot are simply not historical and are not even plausible. One of these is the sending of a young girl to act as Hereward's "chief of intelligence" at the Court of Winchester and spy on William the Conqueror. To simply imagine that a young (and pretty!) girl could travel on her own from the Fens to Winchester and back requires a huge leap of faith. Also, Sveyn King of Denmark did allow himself to be bought off by William and drop his allies but he never travelled all the way to Winchester and never met William. That the Danish King would take the risk to make such a travel and put himself at risk in such a way is simply incredible.

Then we have a number of problems with the characterization. In some cases it is lacking. In others it is rather excessive and incredible. Although somewhat toned down from the first volume when he appeared as a cross between Conan the Barbarian and Rambo, Hereward's bursts of berserker psychopathic rage and his regular rumblings about killing everyone and saving the English become rather tiresome. I am afraid that neither Hereward nor his Viking nemesis (Redteeth), nor the Norman commanders (Taillebois and de Warennes) really come to life. Also the character of William the Conqueror is a bit of a caricature, and one that is historically incorrect also. William was 38 in 1066 and so just over forty when this volume begins. At the time, he was not yet incredibly fat as the book makes him out to be. This would only be the case some 10 years later. The author also tends to depict William as cruel, which is very probably true, but also gives the impression that this cruelty was wanton and that he relished it, which is very unlikely to have been the case. The destruction of the North, that neither Tostig nor William's captains had been able to subdue was, however horrible, one of these "whatever it takes" measures to end once and for all the rebellions by laying wasting to the countryside and slaughtering the population.

So while I did find this book exciting and will read volume 3, if only because I have a special interest in this period, I found that this one was not much better than - although no worse - that the first episode. Three stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having loved the original Hereward title I really couldn't wait to get my hands on the second outing for this hero, after all in a war to save his people there are going to be hard choices to make and how he makes them will decide whether he's a hero or a villain.

Set against the English Rebellion after their defeat at Hastings, this is a tale of a native son who at times has been thought of as the basis for Robin Hood with some of his own tales being incorporated into the mythical hero's legend. As with the original its full of blood rending action, follows a flawed hero trying to do his best for his people and of course gives the reader a story that they can get between their teeth alongside savour.

Add to this solid no nonsense prose with top rate action sequences that really will keep you glued and all in a story that shows determination against the odds alongside bravery can break mountains. Cracking stuff.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
This book is good enough to stand alone. However, as the continuing saga of Hereward's great trek through life, with the ever faithful Alric by his side. From fighting as a mercenary in Europe to coming home to find the dreaded Norman invaders starving and murdering his English people. From the insidious creeping trail of the witch hunters, looking for those like his wife to the sword carrying religious men that follow William, the bastard.
A truly entertaining book, well written and keeping the reader informed of all that is going on around the life path of Hereward.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
its a must read for people who want to read about a mythical figure of our history, that very little is known about, but this opens your eyes to what this period of our history is all about and how certain things in history has a bearing on what we do now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Thanks for making my train journeys so enjoyable. These books are a great read and I can't wait for the next instalment to find out what happens to Hereward. Download the first book now and get reading, you won't be disappointed. :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse