Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2010
I read this very quickly and found it enormously readable, funny and clever. Some of the characters are extreme, but life is too, and if you take their opinions with a pinch of salt you should really enjoy this book.

A good marker for a great book in my opinion is when something shocking happens in the book, you immediately feel shocked yourself..i felt shocked on a number of occasions!!

Don't get me wrong, this is by no means an intellectual, high brow book, it's quite a similar style to 'E' and The Book, The Film The T Shirt', but that is by no means a criticism as both of these are firm favourites. Read Charlie Owen if you like this style of book, his are just as funny!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2008
I couldn't put this book down. It hit all the right notes. shocking in some parts but hillarious. Loved every page. Great for us women to gain an insight of how our men think!!! keep on writing
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2008
i really love matt beaumonts style of writing, I read this last night started at 11pm and finished at 3 am , I just couldn't put it down, excellent read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
That line comes on page 320, and I can't remember a more profound 4 word sentence in ANY book I've read. The rest of "Small World" is not quite so deep - in fact it deliberately concerns itself with the seemingly inconsequential connections we all have with the peripheral characters in our lives that turn out to be the magic thread that binds us all together... So the story passes you from person to person to person; sometimes you can see the next connection coming, other times they just smack you in the face (literally). As with most of Matt Beaumont's work, it's a 'concept' novel - ie it's based on a very distinctive multiple-first-person narrative, or in other words, it's a series of linked monologues. It's a very effective, very enthralling style that drives you on to the SLIGHTLY weak conclusion, but if that's a grumble, it's the only one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Great story line interlinking the characters with a lovely twist at the end. Yes some of it is predictable, but you just can't help loving Matt Beaumont's writing style, he pushes all the right buttons at the right time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
Small World sees Matt Beaumont replacing the out-and-out comedy of his earlier novels with something more hard-hitting. While there are plenty of amusing moments, the plot tackles some serious issues, with plenty of twists and turns along the way. The constant switching of first-person narrative between characters is unusual but works well as the reader is given an insight into every character's thoughts as they relate to each other. Deserves to be considered a classic in the years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
I absolutely loved this book! Read it in one day; didn't go to sleep until half past two in the morning, but I just could not put it down! The story is extraordinarily simple, the characters are just normal people, but the book is so clever! My favourite part was the multiple narrative as it allows you to understand various characters' viewpoints of one situation. Yes, you can see some of the things coming, but I found that exciting - I guessed what was coming a few times, but other situations turned out very unexpectedly. I would recommend this book to anyone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
If you are expecting something hugely thought provoking, this probably isn't the bookk for you but if you are looking for an easy, light read and enjoy other books by Matt Beaumont; go for it. It isn't laugh out loud funny like e or e squared but it's a great book that follows the lives of several characters who's lives all overlap (whether they realise it or not).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2010
when i first considered buying this book, i was put off by the number of different characters. i thought that it would be diluted, difficult to follow and would lack focus.

but, by not concentrating on one character, the book flows along and becomes very absorbing.

it deals with serious issues (infertility, racism within the police) and then moves effortlessly into very funny situations.

the nature of the book means that some stories are better then others but, overall, it is a strong collection of stories and characters.

i will buy more matt beaumont.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2010
Innovative in a non-pretentious way.

Characters come up in settings as strangers, then you are invited to refocus, as you realise that you know the person, and their story.

How does Matt Beaumont come up with such different books, all great?

This sailed past the "reading half-way through the night" test!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here