Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2005
the ever increasing world of steven erikson is pushed even further by the bounded mind of his close friend ian cameron esslemont, creating a rich side story that complements the malazan book of the fallen series.
here the story of the last night of the emperor and his close aid are fulfilled with strong elements of supspense and plain good story telling. the introduction of the character temper and his past adds further depth to the entire world, as with the truth behind the death of the first sword and the further exploits of the deadhouse.
esslemonts pace of writting is such that you could be esily confused with erikson's own style, coating everything in a high gloss finish.
the only failure i could find is that there is never enough, wishing that another the next malazan book could come sooner. with the possibility of further novels by esslemont to the series, the malazan empire and its eventful future is in good hands
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2008
I would have given this 4 stars normally, but there is always some idiot that gives one star and an explantion like 'I thought this was a book about knives'. Contrary to the said one star review, you could easily read this stand alone, I will admit that reading GOTM first may make it more enjoyable, but there is more about Daseem in Erikson's later novels.

I am look forward to Return of the Crimson Guard.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I didn't think another writer could capture the Malazan world quite like Eriksson. Seriously impressed! It's great to see favourite characters fleshed out and peripheral ones brought to the fore. Seamless...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
I really enjoyed this short Malazan book, I read it when it first came out and now I have the audiobook and have got to enjoy it once more. I look forward to buying the rest of the audiobooks in this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2007
Just like me, in most likelihood, you'll end up reading this book after reading the books in the main Malazan series. And if you're like me, you'll be expecting a riveting story written in the same grisly style dotted with dark humor and many surprises.

This book does not fail to disappoint. The writing style is poor and abrupt, the characters are weak and the story unmonumental. Even the number of sentence fragments used is. Appalling. I think that Esslemont may have helped create the Malazan work, but he may be best positioned letting Erikson write the series.

You can survive and enjoy the main series without reading this book, you won't be missing much. If you are someone who is obsessed with knowing about everything possible about the Malazan world, then you can get this book, but you have been forewarned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Brilliant. Couldn't put it down, A great partner to Steven Errickson's Malazan Empire saga
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
Good all most as good as Ericsson but there's something missing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2016
Husband is thoroughly enjoying the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
Good prologue of Eriksons Malazan books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
Not quite Erikson but still very good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse