Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 2 September 2014
Nice item !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2014
I bought this for a friend as I already owned a copy, which I bought new and kept in excellent condition. But I was surprised to find this 'used' copy was in even better condition than mine!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2015
A+++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2013
My daughter loved this book, keeps going back to it and back to it, keeps you so interested you don't wonder off
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2016
Great. condition as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2016
Great book, excellent price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2014
Fast and perfect trade. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2016
Fine and fast delivery!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2001
For a John Irving novel, this book is an 'easy read' and more lightweight than previous novels. It has traditional Irving trademarks - eccentricity, twists in the plot, coincidences (for example, the 'left hand' fertility symbol), loss and grief. There are some recurring themes, e.g. a Father's love for his son, but it is still refreshingly original - with the loss, gain and loss of a 'hand' being the central story. Patrick Wallingford isn't immediately likeable, but this is his story, and you grow to like him more throughout the book, and begin to hope that he finds his way, developing into more than the somewhat shallow, good-looking 'lion guy'. This novel will not give you the same gut-wrenching feeling as Owen Meany or Garp, but it is so, so much better than other books around. Well worth reading more than once.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2013
he loves it - i loose him for hours when he reads this. great quality book - not my thing though, he likes it so thats all the matters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)