Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
48
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2011
This is a gripping story. The Indianapolis carried one of the nuclear weapons that would be dropped on Japan across the Pacific, and was sunk just days after it had delivered its cargo. Tragic irony the shippers of the most powerful weapon endured one of the most dramatic battle losses of America in WWII. The ship was sunk by a lone Japanese submarine in the very last few days of the war. But the nighttime sinking was only the beginning of a nightmare that would go on for days in the water of the Pacific and for decades after that. One of the last to die was the ship's captain, who committed suicide after being accused (in my view, unfairly) of being responsible for the sinking. Even the Japanese sub captain testified the Indy stood no chance when torpedoed at point blank distance. It is hard to put down this book...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2010
I was captivated from first page. Remember the scene from "Jaws" when the 3 men sit on Orca during the evening and talk about scars, and Quint starts his story on how he got his big scar from the USS Indianapolis sinking, well this is the true account and it is very gripping.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
This book is the most insightful, honest and harrowing narrative I have ever read regarding the acts of men during the second world war, a definite must read for all and especially the youth of our generation so they never forget the deeds and heroism of these men.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2010
one of those books that holds your attention until the final sentence. a truly gripping account of the sinking of a u.s navy ship in 1945 and its consequences. a splendid read throughout and written by a fine writer too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
I could not put this down. The bravery of the men during the sinking of this great ship it truly awe inspiring. That was just the start of what turned out to be a test of human courage and the raw instict to survive.

Everyone should read this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
A really well written account of this tragedy, makes you almost feel like you were involved in it. Couldn't put it down.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
I rarely write reviews but this book has made me want to. As you can tell from all the other reviews, it's about a big boat that sank in the war near Japan. However, what the men went through and how they managed to survive is the reason to read it. I loved all of it. The descriptions of the boat, individual people, the court martial, the sharks, the heat, the damage staying in the sea for so long does to you, it was captivating. This was a real page turner.
Go on, read it. See what they went through and see if you moan about being thirsty or hungry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
Excellent book for those who like true life dramas, makes you feel like part of the crew, feeling their suffering and despair even after the rescue and the awful memories they had to endure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
I found this an excellent read, but I am drawn to tales of hardship and endurance especially during the World Wars. The book is not so much about the ship sinking but rather the unbelievable effort to survive, and the mental toll by the people that made it off the ship. Personally, I found it a great read and found it hard to put down. I would definitely recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
Thoroughly gripped by this what appears to be a well researched account of an horrific four days in the live of these U.S. Navy / Marines. I can see a number of reasons why Doug Stanton felt the need to research and write this book. I found it useful to read his commentary at the foreword and the closing Authors Note. Great book, a real page turner, highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)