Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 8 March 2015
This is my favourite Hawking. I have read and re-read this book over the years and have just re-visited it after seeing the film. Each chapter a a separate essay, which means you never get stuck if one is a little difficult to understand. That said, Hawking writes about complex subjects in a way that even someone not at all versed in the subject can understand. That is a real gift. There was only one chapter I found remotely tricky, but it was all the same fascinating - I would just hate to have been asked to summarise it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2017
I wouldn't recommend reading this unless you have a keen interest and prior knowledge of Stephen Hawking's work. Very interesting, although way over my head most of the time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2016
A book not to be put down until the end. Captivating and educational, however, easy for any one to grasp the theory. What am out standing account of the Universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2016
As described, would use seller again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2016
Another great read.if you have an interest in these subjects,you wont be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2013
very good and interesting to read
it has very good insight things of space which I found very absorbing certainly good for people like me not very mathematical
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 April 2016
This book is a pretty quick read that touches on some deep subjects – from the way that the universe works to Hawking’s own struggle with ALS, what we have here is a selection of essays and lecture transcriptions from throughout Hawking’s lengthy career.

The interesting thing here is the breadth of subjects that Hawking manages to take a look at – even when a piece has a specific theme, he often finds ways to crowbar in other subjects, but the crucial thing here is that they’re not at the expense of the actual essays. When Hawking brings in his personal life, or when he seems to be going off on a tangent, he’s actually finding a way to make it easier for readers to relate to the deep science that he actually wants to tackle.

I’ve read a few Hawking books; this one is by far the easiest one to start with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 August 2011
Covering the period 1976 to 1992, it contains a series of essays on a wide range of subjects from his early childhood, university experiences at Oxford and Cambridge, Einstein's theories, Hawking's ideas on black holes and ends with his "Desert Island Discs" programme transcript. In some cases, their genesis as a lecture or talk shows through in the style but they are not less enjoyable for that.
In his eleven page essay on black holes, he explores these phenomena with the enthusiasm of a regular traveller or a travel-agent tour-guide hoping you will return again next year and there can be no better guide to these mysteries.
Reading, listening to or watching Stephen Hawking on the wonders of our universe, he always seems to have such a clear purpose - "to boldly go" where few have trodden.
A wonder of the universe himself, he is always an interesting, thought-provoking writer; as a travel-guide, no-one surpasses him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)