Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
60
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2017
By far my favourite book by Raymond E Feist, this book cannot by over hyped enough!! This has everything, sea voyages, assassins, survival aspects, political intrigue and humour. this book is an incredible entry into the world of Feist's Midkemia and as such is highly recommended.

If you like a bit of escapism, this has you covered, the characters are exceptional, the story is compelling and fluid, I just can't say enough good about it.

Read it, love it, enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have read this series through on more than one occasion and have loved every page whilst doing so. The author really manages to grip the audience with the various twists and turns and unfortunately for me it felt like I could not put the book down. There are a grammatical errors, but I for one do not care. 5 Stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
Everything else I've read by Raymond E. Feist is spectacular. This is no different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
As a seafarers and with a deep seated love of fantasy, I enjoyed this adventure immensely.
Great fun!
Wonderful
Seanfms@sky.com
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2002
As always, Feist weaves a tale of Fantasy that retains a realistic quality that is missing in so many Fantasy novels. Feist obviously researches his material thoroughly before putting pen to paper. ( Or keyboard to word processor as it may be !! ) This novel is a a prime example of his ability to make a "Fantasy" setting seem almost real. Several chapters of the novel are spent aboard ship and his attention to detail and knowledge of wooden ships steering the mighty sea provides so realitic a setting that you can almost feel the cold ocean air, the creak of the ship and the sound of the ocean waves , as if you were onboard ship yourself instead of immersed in a novel upon the make believe world of Midkemia. This book follows Amos Trask and young Prince Nicholas on an important journey for the crown. It is a good break from the normal Midkemia surroundings that allows us to see other parts of Feist's world and develop a love for new characters. For all of those Feist fans out there that have not read this book ( Although I can't believe there are any of you!!), or those who like realistic Fantasy..this is a book you should read and Feist is an author you should follow.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2003
The King's Buccaneer is Feist's second book designed to introduce the next generation of his characters to the reader. This book sees Prince Arutha's youngest son, Nicholas, lead a band of assorted souls disguised as pirates to the rescue of those who were kidnapped in the sacking of the Far Coast.
This is perhaps Feist's strongest novel. It does not rely on past events overly and although it does set the stage for events to come, the story is still both complete and fully entertaining. Feist's real strength shines through in Buccaneer - his ability to draw engrossing and realistic characters with depth.
One of my all-time favourtites.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 October 2004
THE STORY:
Prince Arutha's youngest son, Nicholas, is sent to Crydee to gain some experience outside of Krondor's court. When Crydee is devastated by a brutal raid Nicholas and a band of survivors attempt to track down their captured loved ones, but to do so they must sort out a convoluted scheme involving Tsurani assassins, Keshian slavers, pirates and the Pantathian serpent priests. Their adventure will take them across the ocean to the mysterious land of Novindus.
WHAT'S GOOD:
Although supposedly a sequel to 'Prince of the Blood', this book is a continuation of the story of 'A Darkness at Sethanon' in ways that it's predecessor never was. The story is at all times gripping and the young people struggling with responsibility, love and the harsh realities of the world is very reminiscent of Feist's greatest work (and first) 'Magician'. With the inclusion of Pug and Nakor, Feist even manages to expand on his exploration of the nature of magic itself, without over exposing the idea. Which gives me an entry to say just how much I love the character of Nakor. Pug is always aloof and mysterious (as you'd expect from the most powerful magician in the world), but Nakor is a thoroughly personable character and his excentricity blends excellently with his obvious power and wisdom. Nakor's training of Anthony was one of my favourite elements of this book.
WHAT'S BAD:
I don't have alot bad to say about this book. The way in which everyone ends up finding that special someone and falling in love was a little too unlikely for my tastes and I thought that Nicholas' whirlwind relationship with Iasha was doubly unlikely considering the way their interaction goes throughout the book. This book also suffers slightly from the fact that you're always aware that it's really just a prelude to the Serpent War saga, cheapening the otherwise brilliant reading experience.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
I like the series and this book. This review is more about the quality of the ebook.

There are too many errors for the professional quality full-price ebook.

clintele for clientele
Drondorian for Krondorian
Ufe for life
failing for falling
certin for certain
Fulgan for Kulgan
finen for linen
Several missing open quotes at the start of paragraphs
some hyphens instead of em-dashes (elsewhere em-dashes are used correctly)

And that's just the first eight chapters. I haven't checked thoroughly, but I feel it gets a bit worse futher into the book.

Oh - and scene changes aren't marked out sufficiently well.

So: I'm pleased it's now available as a legal ebook. I'm slightly disappointed that OCR errors that shoud have been caught by spell check at least (Ufe ?) were missed.

Hopefully they'll fix the errors at some point.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 February 2016
I have had difficulty finding a new adult fantasy writer for some time now, most of the genre seems to be either targeted at the teenage demographic or is a pale imitation of authors such as Feist, Martin, Kerr or Gemmell and so once again I have returned to my bookshelf to revisit the masters of the genre and add their works to my more mobile Kindle collection.

Raymond E Feist is one of the handful of fantasy authors that I have collected and kept on my shelves over the years and re-read chronologically from time to time.

The King's Buccaneer continues the saga and as always is a good read, fast paced and entertaining.

Feist's epic saga is still one of the best fantasy series ever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
The story contained in this book is the work of one of the best story tellers of our age. I thought prince of the blood was amazing.....this is better! And Nakor is back! Want an orange? The kings buccaneer is a story of rescue, survival, adventure and love and had me reading well into the night. The amount of research Feist has done to make you believe that you are sailing a ship on the high seas totally engrosses you so much you can almost hear the creaking of the ship as you read. And what a cool ending! Serpentwar next. If its as good as this dont think i'll be leaving my house for a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse