Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Women's History of the World (Paladin Books)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 November 2017
I love love love this book. I lent mine and didn't get it back - no surprise as it's just such an excellent read. A bit out of date now, but the principles and history are the same. Only problem? It makes you look at men in an entirely different way. Makes you want to give them a taste of their own medicine. Buy one. Give it to your daughters, your sisters, your aunties, your mothers. Just spread this around, but be careful. Lend it and you won't get it back!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
For research and historic information. I am using this book alongside others for a dissertation. Very informative and love bibliography for further research. I would love to see up dated for present day values.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Everyone in the UK should read this book. It's excellent, very informative and has a sound historical basis. It's also very engaging. An excellent read and an important book.

In response to Cicero:

Cicero is forgetting that this book was written in the late 1980s and so is likely to have a level of bias and in some aspects be scientifically out of date. That is hardly a surprise. And while the first chapter does feel a bit anti-male, I would ask readers to remember how little equality there was at the time it was written and hence how it is bound to feel different in today's society. With that in mind, you can then concentrate on the many historical facts in the book which are extraordinary and do change women's views of themselves. It is far easier to read than the more academic writing style of Germaine Greer and reminds women that they have had a major place in history which has been entirely forgotten in the UK education system. It is an important book for women and men to read and reminds everyone that there should be equality in history teaching as well as more generally in today's society.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
This is a most enlightend read and should be the first place to start if you are looking at womens history, womens place in history, where feminist thinking came from and where it is going. It's easy to read, funny and irreverent and certainly dosen't push the case but rather just points out the facts. It answers so many question from Eve, to the 'immaculate conception', to the rise of feminism. Every women should read it, and every man for that matter. We might just end up with a more enlighted world! Go for it, you'll be glad you did.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2012
In history men dominated the world, this book is about how women came to be part of the shaping of the world.Tales of individual women who have shaped history and celebratng the work and lives of millions more.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
I actually bought this book for a friend. I have had a coppy for at least 15 years and I think it is a book that ALL WOMEN SHOULD READ
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2009
I had no idea that women had achieved so many things that men had claimed credit for. An excellent read. Go Girls Go!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Fantastic book, Well worth a read. For anyone who wants to know how women ended up as second class citizens !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2000
This book tells just how false our perception of the role of women is in past centuries. How important they were many centuries ago and how men's physical impact led them to be perceived as 'lesser' mortals. It's just a wonderful, fascinating book
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2000
The most empowering book i have ever come across.No need to burn your bra to prove a point, just relish in the undeniable glory of the Mother Goddess.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)