Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
101
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2005
From the moment Daughter Of The Empire is picked up, any avid reader will find themsleves helplessly involved in the novel, and glad of it.
Our first view of Mara is a gripping one, and within the first few pages the action has already begun. Soon we find ourselves immersed in a brilliantly written plot focusing on this seventeen year old daughter of an ancient and powerful house, the Acoma, and the sacrifices she has to make for its continuance. Left with few friends, little strength and many allies eager to obliterate the Acoma after the death of Mara's father and brother, lord and heir to the title of Lord of the Acoma, Mara must prove herself as a worthy player of the game of the council, using wits, intelligence and no small amount of cunning to allow the continuance of the Acoma line.
Journeying through the fast-paced and in-depth plot, we follow Mara as she marries a violent son of one of her greatest enemies to secure an ally and a son, bravely commands the respect of the alien cho ja race and ventures into the winlderness to face the hardened ruffian 'grey-warriors' who will form most of the Acoma garrison, commanded by the fiesty Lujan.
With fantastic characters, a plot that has you constantly on the edge of your seat and immensely cunning plots on the behalf of a strong, feminine leader, this book will never remain on your shelf for long. Cry over the fate of Papewaio, stand bravely at the side of force commander Keyoke, smile at the motherly intentions of Nacoya, first advisor to the great house and follow Arakasi, spy commander, into the shadows of his immense spy network; not to mention the hate we muster for Buntokapi, Mara's violent alchoholic husband and Jingu of the Minwanabi, the house that Mara has strived to obliterate to lay the spirit of her murdered father and brother to rest.
A great read, no doubt about it.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2005
This is the first of a trilogy of books set in the fantasy world of Kelewan (first mentioned in Raymond Feists brilliant Magician). Kelewan is an oriental type world, very reminiscent of feudal Japan, where protocol is paramount.
Mara is a young woman living in a world where women are submissive to the men in their lives. When her father dies and her brother is killed Mara finds herself alone with few friends to help her and many enemies who would like to see her destroyed.
This is the story of a young girl who battles against her upbringing in order to survive and to become the most powerful woman of her time. I don't want to give any more of the story away but suffice to say that Feist, partnered with Janny Wurts has produced a masterpiece of fantasy that will surely become a classic. This trilogy is a 'must have' on the bookshelves of any fantasy fan.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
Lets be clear here, we all know (or should know) that in regards to writing, the dreaded collaboration can easily result in a work inferior to what either writer could have manage on their own. The Empire trilogy is not just an exception to that, but a shining example of how such a project can (almost) outstrip the individual work of the authors involved.

Politics, intrigue, magic, mayhem and complete immersion in the quasi oriental home world of the Tsurani, help make this an entertaining and thoroughly enjoyable read (if perhaps a little derivative of James Clavell's Shogun). The strength of this stand alone spin off is such that were it spinning away from anything less popular than the Riftwar saga, it probably would have long ago eclipsed its inspiration.

The bottom line? If you read and enjoyed the Riftwar Saga it's hard to imagine you'd dislike the Empire books. If on the other hand you haven't read it then your better off starting with Magician, its better (just) and reading this first may spoil some aspects of it (incidentally, if you're confused regarding continuity read this series after Darkness at Sethanon).
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2000
Daughter of the Empire immerses the reader in a new dimension of science fiction. An imaginative plot that evolves intelligently and at a well timed pace, along with well-developed and genuinely interesting characters form the focus of this novel. Readers will find elements of romance, humour, drama and surprise finely interweaved in the fabric of the storyline. The plot evolves around on the life of a young girl, Mara, who inherits her father's seemingly defenceless estates when her father's army is betrayed and decimated. Casting aside all remorse and bitterness, Mara must discover her leadership talents and master them to achieve the upper hand in a dangerous game of political intrigue. Intelligent and crafty, she will seek to gain trust, friendship and above all confidence to face her enemies which plan her demise. Mara's emotional conflicts, her strengths and weaknesses are the elements of a character so human that it is impossible not to relate to. A story of friendship, family, honour and destiny, the book explores to its full depth the magic of the human spirit. It is both impossible to put this book down once you've picked it up and not to buy the rest of the trilogy once you've read it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2016
I enjoyed Feist's Magician very much, and this story, covering some of the same period on the Tsurani world, is brilliantly written and plotted. Mara may be something of a Mary Sue in that she is a brilliant politician and player of the game, despite her very young age and total lack of experience, but that doesn't spoil the enjoyment of the story - after all, the protagonist has to win in the end!

In many ways I felt this book was better crafted - both in plotting and in the writing - than the Riftwar books, and Janny Wurts' experience and touch shows, particularly in the way Mara is developed. Overall I thought this was a brilliant book, which I would happily read again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2002
Having fallen into the fantasy fiction genre while at university through friends recommendations, I value their thoughts. While browsing in a bookshop (sorry amazon) my friend was amazed that I had not read this series. 4 weeks and 3 books later I now realise what I had missed. These books are simply excellent. The characters are intellegent and consistent and the storyline involving and imaginative but always believable. The social implications of the books are never forced onto you, but are at times thought provoking. The last two chapters left me gasping in disbelief and laughing in satisfaction . Read this book and while away the commuting hours - just remember to get off at the right stop!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
3 part series.
part one was very good. it felt like reading about seanchan empire from the wheel of time series. the ending was a bit lame.
part two was ok but felt very long but still still readable.
part three. alarm bells started ringing from the very beginning. a life shattering events takes place in the first few pages of the book, but it was as exciting reading a shopping list. this gets very very bad. it was very clear that two different people were writing the story. one was ok the other was very bad at writing. over complicated sentences, where i had to keep stopping and reading again and again trying to make sense of a sentence without much success. the same writer keeps describing how the character was feel, which was not very engaging(steven erikson's show not tell rule makes very painfully clear).
i just felt angry how a very good story in part one can deteriorate to such a badly written, over long mess.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2006
I came to this trilogy having immersed myself in the Riftwar Saga - and was a little worried that Feist in combination with another author wouldn't hold the same power or connection.

Yikes! Was I wrong! Very powerful character portrayal, huge spread yet depth of plot, it's an absolute page-turner that will grip you, manipulate your emotions and leave you with very fond and happy memories. My initial fears were easily and quickly dispersed. A fine read, beautifully written and with fantsic description and the painting of wonderful vistas. Worth every penny!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2017
This is my favourite series of books of all time. Hands down. That aside, it's a retro fantasy, set in the world created by Raymond E. Feist and mainly written by Janny Wurts. With a powerful heroine,who faces many trials and struggles to survive, facing one hardship after another really keeps you on the edge of your seat/bed (wherever you choose to read it). I read the entire series within a week I loved it that much (that's about 2000 pages), even on the second read through. If you want a change from all the male heroes in a fantasy genre which is saturated with them, then this is the book for you, and Mara is the heroine you've been waiting for. It's refreshing to have a heroine with such a strong personality. 10/10 would recommend to everybody I ever meet. Ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I started to re-read all of Raymond feists works in a chronological order this time instead of the order they were published. It gives the whole riftwar saga a better spin .... or it does in some cases....

SO intially it goes
Magician 5 stars
Jimmy the HAND 2 Stars
Horored Enemy 4 stars
Murder in LaMuT 3 stars.
Daughter of the Empire 5 stars
and so on ... look for the rest of the reviews in the coming months.

Daughter of the Empire is the only collaboration to date that really came out well. The other co-authored books set in the Rift War fell far short of the standard set by magician and from what I can glean from interviews with Raymond Feist he acknowledges he made a mistake. However the trilogy started with Janny Wurts is fantastic. I was fading fast in reading a lot of Raymond's 3 other joint ventures after magician but this was so good. I had fogotten just how good this was. I do chance the label of being branded a heretic by the Feist Fan Club but I would say this is as good as magician ... it might even be better. Certainly one of the best books I've read in a long long time. Oddly enough some of Janny's other stuff doesn't do it for me. Strange. Still this trilogy is definately top alongside Gemmeland others. Anyway in case you don't know what this is about it's set on Kelewan the 'japanese' themed world on the otherside of the rift to Midkemia. It's a bout a young girl about to take her vows in a sacred priesthood pulled suddenly out of the order to run her fathers estate, one of the houses of the empire. She must chart a path to keep her name and legacy alive while the plots and politics of the empire conspire to destroy her family name for eternity. Great book.
Thoroughly recommended.
Buy It.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse