Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 22 March 2017
Love it and nearly finished I have Foundation all ready to read next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
havent read it yet but it is by asimov and he never dissapoints
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
V good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Great value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
Well read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
How does Hari Seldon create a theory of psychohistory that can save the empire from decline?

I like how Seldon, despite his insistent determination to prove to others that his mathematics has no practical usage in creating a valid method to save the empire; in his exchanges with the locals or professors of imperial Trantor he again feels disappointed and overwhelmed, for how can a galaxy of millions of worlds and their respective histories conform to a theory or simulation that can predict the limits of possibility?

This is an exciting prequel with a lot of action, which touches on the origins of the Foundation series and themes that are present in many of Asimov's novels. The writing was engaging, and a bit like speech. I would read more of his work and I recommend this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
I'm not sure how well the novel would work in isolation (hence 4 stars), but it is an excellent addition for those already familiar with the series. It fills in some of the back story to the original Foundation Series and, hopefully without giving too much away, forging links to the series of stories started with 'The Caves of Steel'.

For anybody wanting to pick up the Foundation Series, I would recommend reading in the order published, rather than the chronological order of the story - this book has been written as a prequel and I enjoyed it more having read about the results of Seldons work before learning of the events that set the series in motion. Think of the impact of watching Starwars in the order episodes 1-6 rather than 4-6,1-3.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2002
After hearing, for years, the hype about the epic 'Foundation Series' I read this book with high expectation. At first it struck me as being rather quaint, and not what I expected from a galaxy sprawling epic, yet non the less kept me enthralled in its own special way. The summation is fantastic and only upon reading futher into the series do you realise the full scale of what has been invoked in this volume.
It also expands upon the character of Hari Seldon, which is much appreciated after the fleeting glimpses we get of the man throught the other Foundation novels. We get to meet the man behind the plan, and see that even great prophets have human frailties and reservations like the rest of us.
A fine place to start with the series and worth your time...
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
I read this on the back of several good reviews, and because i wanted to read more Asimov!

Prelude to Foundation provides a closer look at Hari Seldon, someone who is referenced in the Foundation series, and how he came about the idea of psycho-history.

There are several great characters within this book which help make up great companions for Mr Seldon.

The book itself rasies several intriguing points that really make you think, and helps go someway to explaining how and why the idea of psycho-history came about.

Additionally, this has an absoutely amazing ending which i did not see coming - but when you read it, it just makes sense! And you begin to understand why things happened like they did in the book.

All in all, a great read, and was itching for more once i got to the end. At no point does the story seem to drag.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse