Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
41
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2014
I had very much enjoyed the first two books in this trilogy, but this one, having run along fairly well to begin with, seemed to lose its way a little. The pillow talk between our hero and his new young girlfriend seemed wholly out of character and the ending seemed a little chaotic and somehow out of kilter with the test of the tale.

It was still a good read though and I am looking forward to reading the next six.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Deighton really is no Le Carre, but I have been working my way through the Sampson books on Kindle. The odd twist makes up for some pretty pedestrian writing. I also quite like the 1980s vibe; so I suppose a little nostalgia too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
The first book in the trilogy, I bought by mistake (Berlin Game) and found it difficult to get into but once I was (into it) I couldn't put it down. This book I got straight into and again, I couldn't put it down
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
I have read a lot of Len Deighton's book and enjoy the combination of an excellent spy thriller in what is n ow a historical conext. Thoroughly recomended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
As with (Berlin) Game and (Mexico) Set, the books would have benefitted from a map or two.

Saying that Len Deighton presents locational detail well and the historical settings and references work OK given that fortunately he avoids technical details which can age a work to the detriment of the readers enjoyment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2016
Gripping, suspense, detailed and descriptive. A fantastic story in this highly tense series. An almost factual account of a cold war story. Frightening to think that whilst this is fiction it is no doubt based on true events that took place during this period in history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
A friend suggested I get these books for my husband to read on holiday so now I find myself writing this review for him as he is too absorbed in the Hook, Line and Sinker books now! Never known him to read so much unless it is to do with work so I am really pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
... the next trilogy more than enough ambiguity. Mr D manages to depict the undercurrents and ambiguities as prominently as bold action, by allowing the reader's dialogue with the characters to inform their understanding. Genius!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
I first read this twenty odd years and have rediscovered them now I'm loading up my Kindle. They stand the test of time, well written human stories about families that just happen to live in Berlin et al during thhe cold war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2016
Slightly more interesting than Books 1 and 2.Still a lot of words with little story. On the whole this has been a disappointing series. The TV series was much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here