Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
32
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2009
There is only one book I can say has changed my life and this is it.

The techniques, the attitudes and the whole selling ethos are in there. At the beginning of the book there are stories about people who learnt true selling practices and went on to become successful, and I remember really wanting to be like those people. So I read the book a few times, adopted every lesson and dumped my preconceptions in favour of Tom Hopkins view of what selling is all about. I started selling; started earning good money and haven't really looked back since. I still re-read parts of this book to remind myself what made me successful.
If you're in sales this is worth the money 100,000 over. Yes it is cheesy and the language is dated, but the results are very real... and you will enjoy the cheesy prestige and the cheesy money that comes with success.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2003
This book may date from the 80's but I still read it at least once a year and the techniques learnt from it have increased my sales success exponentially. Can't recommend it highly enough!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2002
This is a book i first read a few years ago. It gives you a good grounding in some of the basic techniques and provides and idea of where to go if you are setting out on the road to sales success.
A lot of the techniques are dated now but it is suprising how many people don't use many of them or are unaware of these techniques, especially here in the uk.
There are other books that are more customer focused that will add significantly to the knowledge gained from this particular title but you have to start somewhere. Learn the techniques in this book and you will have a skills set to build upon. I would find this book more suited to salespeople in door to door or direct sales environments rather than account management. However i think there are still good ideas to be gleaned for all. If you are in credit card, gas/electric, or home improvement sales then this really is a must for you book shelf.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2010
I bought How to Master the Art of Selling when it was published in paperback in the 1980's. If you are new to sales and want to be successful this is a good primer. Some reviews that these are old techniques but they work. An important part of selling is not only a variety of sells techniques and how to get the close. Make no mistake this is a handbook on how to help you become a better salesperson and increase your income. The instruction contain in this manual will walk you through the methods use to help influence people to buy what your selling.

The author has taken what he has learned worked and has written his his proven sales techniques in this book and he list them in an easy to follow format.This is a book you can use as you read it and will come back to for reference and to enhance your salesmanship. When I first purchased this book I was working as a stockbroker and had to cold call and the amounts of closing determined if you came back to work the next day. These techniques worked very well. Now having said this these techniques will not work against sophisticated customers and I have turned these techniques against salesmen who have tried to use them on me. So the consumer can also learn from this book.

Also if you are new to sales or have been in sales for a while and are getting discouraged Mr. Hopkins book will help to motivate you to sell.And this positive outlook and motivation is contagious. People want to know that the salesman knows what he is talking about. The book goes so far as to give you scripts on how to get a customer use to saying the word yes which once placed in their subconscious he implies will make the sale easier. I personally have no problem saying no. It is true as another reviewer stated this book masters the art of getting the clients to sell themselves to you by teaching you to ask the right questions. The instructions and suggestions are given through a variety of sales conversations. An easy to use book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2001
I can't count how many times I've read this book and each time I do, I discover that I still have a long way to go.
Some UK people may feel that some of the verbal skills taught are "too American". I felt this way too but if you give Tom a chance, he'll show you that you really can pressure (yes pressure!) and lead buyers to deal where there was very little chance of a "yes". Buy it and apply it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2002
This book is a waste of money - if you have seen films like "The Tin Men" which portrays door-to-door salesmen of the 1950's you will be familiar with the sort of closing techniques this book offers. There are some real classic sales wheezes which are familiar to everybody but knowbody would dare use today e.g. on a cold call:"I'll be in your area this afternoon, would 2.00p.m. or 3.00p.m. be better for you?"....this is surely the kind of behaviour which has caused the increase in violence in the U.S. over the last 50 years!
Please note that this book was originally published in 1980, and it shows.
At the same time as buying this from Amazon I bought "Customer Centred Selling" which is very good if you are selling significant items (cars, software, computers etc.) and altogether alot more practical.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2009
Quite simply if you want to achieve or progress your sales career then read this book. I was astonished to read some poor and lukewarm reviews. I have been selling 30 years and am UK based and I learnt something from reading this book. Of course a lot of what is said you should know already if you have been in sales for 5+ years but crucially do you apply it? If you say yes you are a liar. Sorry to be blunt but that is the truth and you know it!

Tom Hopkins covers every angle and you will recognise yourself in situations he describes both from the Champions viewpoint and from the average sales person's view. If you are in any average sales person category Tom has given you the tools and ideas to break out and become a Sales Champion. Simple as that. Up to you if you want to apply them.

I am a born and bred Brit and did not find any of this "too American". Those who have said that are being either lazy or snobby and should get over it.

Read this book if you are new to sales or experienced (like me). Then re-read it every 6-12 months. If you do and apply the methods taught by the author, then you will without question, progress, succeed, and ultimately become a Sales Champion.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2005
Tom Hopkins has a number of products for sales training and this is a revised edition of his book produced some time ago. His basic philosophy is that sales is learned and not innate. What he does is give you phrases and script to learn and deliver almost like an actor with practical examples across a wide range of industries. Although some parts are a little american and some parts dated (you will need to change the words for yourself) this book would give anyone a good grounding in sales and would improve anyones sales ability and is especially useful for those brand new to sales. The methods are crystallised in his videos although these are expensive. The best salespeople do the basics extremely well and this book will show you how to do that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 November 2008
I studied Arthur Miller's Death of a Salesman in my youth. Now I'm a small businessman, and I see the issues from a different perspective. Tom is a genial teacher. He emphasizes integrity, he acknowledges the feelings of depression that come and he peps up his readers with humour and insight.

But this book does lean heavily on the basic tenets of the American religion of commerce: goal-setting, visualising success and pursuing it without question. In the self-help canon, whether it's improving your golf swing, attracting a mate or dealing with your addictions, the same techniques crop up.

Still, I finished the book, and I find ideas like the Benjamin Franklin close and the the Puppydog close quite fun. Capitalism needs it's clever tricks to keep the wheels of commerce turning.

Quite a good book, but there's still a lot of loneliness in there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2016
How to Master the Art of Selling explains and teaches the fundamentals of selling. Hopkins has written this text with rigour and diligence, offering the reader an easily understood yet informative read. If you are starting out in sales then you do not want to read this book, you need to read this book. In one year’s time, read it again. A book that every salesperson should own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)