Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • SS-GB
  • Customer reviews



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2017
I Re-read this after having watched the TV version on BBC1. The two versions coincide quite well except at the end. It is a chilling alternative history of what might have been if the Germans had succeeded in invading Britain in the second world war. The behaviour of the occupation forces draws much from the realities of the German occupations of other European countries during the war.
A large part of the story hinges on the rivalries that existed between the SS and the German Army. Against this is set the dilemma faced by British civil servants and in particular, the police. How far should collaboration go? I am a fan of Len Deighton who seems to have a fascination with Germany and its Nazi past. There are themes here that can also be found in his Hook Line and Sinker series and its prequel, Winter.
Worth a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
I read this while the television series was going at the same time. I like it when the scripting captures the characters and Deighton's characters just ring out with personality. I was pleased the tv series managed to do the same. This is a tour de force.

Another book what is also a warning on how society can drift away from its core values when politics becomes contaminated. Hmmm. A bit like 2017.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2016
This is a great story. The inner turmoil of the police detective working under the increasingly draconian Nazi overlords. All he wants to do is solve crimes but they constantly pressurise him to bend to their ways. Add the King and a beautiful American spy and the ingredients are all there for a fantastic read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
It's a long time since I read this. As I enjoyed the TV series It was interesting to read the original again. Peoples motivations are clearer to understand on the page. Read this book and also Fatherland by Robert Harris to get a feel for an alternative post WWII history. The current book cover is not as chilling as the original. But excellent value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
This book is so convincing a depiction of a Nazi-occupied Britain that it almost feels like an artifact from a parallel universe.

The book is essentially an unusually brainy thriller. It's very nicely constructed, although something about the conclusion felt incomplete to me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
The book is a spine chilling "what if" scenario of Britain being invaded by the Nazis in 1942.....also a detective story well fleshed out by the author who had more time and space than on film. A compelling read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
Excellent well written novel. I enjoyed the drama on T.V. and bought the book; but as always dramas on television will only use the main points as the book is so superior.
If you like a good novel then buy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Better than the somewhat colourless TV version, at least Archer has Harry Palmer's passive aggressive sense of humour here to leaven the somewhat lumpen machinations of the plot. Speaking of which, who exactly is on what side and why? Not for the first time in Len Deighton I found my self wondering this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
good story well written and it could have been so true as a child of the WAR years and Ilived in Germany for 3 years you get some insight into these things
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
I was prompted to read this book after the release of SSGB on the television...I have not seen the program but it did remind me how much I enjoyed the author. A very well written and detailed book,very good reading and perhaps a warning of how history could have easily had a different outcome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.85

Need customer service? Click here