Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2016
I purchased this purely as a pleasure read but it would also be perfect for someone to use a part of a school or university course. It has a very comprehensive introduction but I found the accompanying notes explaining the text very brief in some cases. Having said that this is a very 'readable' Shakespeare play and does not, in my opinion, require flicking back and forwards very much as the text and plot are easily understood. If someone wants to expand their knowledge of Shakespeare this is a very good play to start with and great value. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
This has been an excellent, accessible version of the play for both myself and to use with pupils. The glossary is non-intrusive as it's located on the left hand side, in line with the word being translated, so their is minimal "Miss what does ____ mean?" Lovely abridged scene summaries are also included at the start of each new scene, which is very useful for those pupils who get a little overwhelmed by Shakespeare's language or those who are prone to giving up before even starting. A worthwhile investment, I cannot rate Oxford School editions highly enough.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2017
The No Fear series is invaluable to my teaching and brings Shakespeare alive for my students. After reading a very simple version of the plays we move to No Fear text and tackle Shakespeare head on! If you have always dreaded reading Shakespeare then check these out and dive into the Bards best loved tales. As for The Tempest, my most favourite tale of all by William!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Not a favourite but enjoyed it. Read before I saw it which I usually do but watching is far better and gives more substance to the text.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
This is a brilliant edition of The Tempest, including the history of the play and its adaptations, complete with pictures. The actual script itself is superb - the play itself runs along one side of the page with various notes explaining the meanings of words and speeches, the way it should be delivered and on occasion the way the audience would have reacted. A brilliant version, essential for understanding The Tempest.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Having studied The Tempest many years ago at A Level, all I can say is that I wish this book had existed then. The "translation" is printed directly opposite the original text and makes straight reading of the play very easy indeed - no more turning to the back of the book for notes, or constantly referring to footnotes. Of course, if you're studying the play in depth you'll need much more guidance on Shakespeare's subtleties, double meanings, use of prose v poetry etc. etc. However, you'll still get enjoyment and understanding from this book, giving you a solid platform on which to build. Use it alongside (say) the RSC's excellent complete works and you'll soon find yourself appreciating and understanding the Bard's language like never before.

Some may find the translation too American here and there, but "The Tempest" is a wonderful work and anything that makes it more accessible to a wider public gets my vote.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
With the emphasis in exams on the play in performance, this edition is invaluable. The notes take you through all the directorial and artistic decisions behind RSC productions and has interviews with directors. It makes comparisons between different interpretations in performance. It also has very useful critical interpretations and contextual information and explanations of the meaning. For me it is an ideal edition for A Level. I have also found other plays in this series really useful for GCSE and A Level coursework and exam preparation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Good review and analysis of the play for an A level student, however you will need other resources and not just this one for a better picture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
The York Notes Advanced are helpful if you're struggling to understand the behaviour of some of Shakespeare's characters or the meaning behind certain references. These notes, along with David and Ben Crystal's 'Shakespeare's Words', really opened the play up for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2016
It's not for me to critique. It's Shakespear at his magical best. Love, treachery, magic,and all the usual devices. If you never tried it before, have a taste, you never know, you might get hooked
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse