Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2017
Bought by mistake for the novel but found this book helpful and added to my understanding of how mindful we must be not to take our freedoms for granted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Good for detailed descriptions, however the study guide is better as it has practice questions, A0 information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
York Notes are variable in quality. This seems to me one of the better ones. Although I cannot pretend to any love for the novel, which seems to me laboured and written in leaden prose, this is a most useful guide. Clearly written and organised and particularly useful in establishing sources and in clarifying ideas and connections. I'm sure it will do much to help those facing more advanced school examinations.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
Firstly, a couple of previous reviewers have reviewed the novel and not these revision notes. These are an aid to studying the novel and, as such, are not definitive and need to be read hand-in-hand with it. My daughter is just starting the novel for her A Levels and has found this to be a useful aid in helping her to understand the fairly complex themes contained therein. The tone of the guide is clear and easy to understand, with some good suggestions for wider reading (something that has to be done as part of her syllabus) and the addresses of web-based information to help with essays and assignments. Good value for money, I would recommend this book to any GCSE/A Level student or anyone who wants a better understanding of the novel.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
I first read the book, then the notes, then book again. The second time reading was so much different! I noticed things i would never notice without the notes.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
Great for A-Level study, personally I'm using it at Uni to have a better understanding of the book when discussing in class. Introduces and discusses the themes and characters. Found it very helpful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2008
This book is ideal for revision at A level, although make sure you actually read The Handmaids Tale. I found it very useful, and it made interesting points.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
This is very helpful, especially when you find the book slightly confusing to begin with. It helps you to understand the different themes and the intentions of the author; Margaret Attwood.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
This film was a good companion to the novel for students who have to get an understanding of the complicated text.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
Informative and good quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse