Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
12
3.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2017
Clear and well organised - very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Needed it for igcse course, for quick overview. Only works as starting point, good basic information. Can find equally good info on web for free but I prefer to have the book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
These comments are on the book / print quality rather than on the content.

The version i have received, from Amazon, looks like someone has photocopied the original.. Pictures are black and white (other York Notes i have received have colour pictures). In addition, some of the printing are misaligned with the page edges and the text is not as clear as I woudl expect, even though the book is smaller than other York Notes (about A5 as opposed to the usual size which is slightly more than A4).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2016
Like other reviewers, I have received a very poor quality version of this book - it looks like a badly copied version both inside and on the cover. To be honest, the contents aren't all that brilliant either: it's simplistic in its approach overall. While it will help a GCSE student who is really struggling, there's nothing in it for a higher achieving student. Students would be better off with the freely available Sparknotes and other free web-based study guides.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Bought for my granddaughter who's studying this for gcse. As expected she is finding it very useful and it helps her to understand a book which she wouldn't normally read from choice!
The book itself arrived promptly and was in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
Very disappointing quality. Wish I'd paid attention to the other review. Print is faded and doesn't look like other copies of York notes, including one of the identical book! Buyer beware.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
Good product, Good service.
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Delivered promptly, as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
The start of this book is rather long-winded and rambling, as the author sets the scene over several chapters. It takes some work to get into the book. But it’s not a long novel and I was determined to read it since it’s a classic and I've often seen it recommended.

By about half-way through it was becoming much more interesting. Silas Marner, the old hermit, becomes more of a character and we discover new sides of him as events transpire. Towards the end it was quite moving in places too. All in all, I think it was well worthwhile reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
Just the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse