Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
10
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2003
These poems are in the exact order they are in AQA GCSE English Specification A Anthology. This book is a sound guide to every single poem in the English part of the Anthology, giving intersting insights into details which many would ot have thought of, the best part of this book is the fact that at the end of each poem, it provides you with a purple box telling you how it links to other poems under different titles, such as social criticisms, people, etc. This is inumerously helpful as this is exactly the things tested in the exam thank you York Notes for creating such an excellent book.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2009
The York Notes series continues to impress; if you are a GCSE student this will be invaluable for your coursework/exam preparation, as it covers all of the poems in the 'Different Cultures' section of the AQA poetry anthology. Covering language, structure, form, style and context, amongst other useful exam information; the guide also offers a summary of each poem and some advice on how the poems can be compared. Essential book for students, and a competitive price on here.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2009
This is very thought provking and talked about issues that i have never thought about before. Though in some parts i felt that the writer was missing vital information about the poems. For example, in the poem "Unrealted Incidents" the author failed to realise that the structure of the poem was in auto-cue format, instead he said that Leonard decided to do the poem in this way because it was "interesting". So i recommend you dont use this book on its own but with the notes your teacher gave you as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2009
This book is useful for pupils, however if trying to use this to teach to pupils, you may require something with more substance and depth.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2005
Its a useful book in terms of revision for the essay questions for the English literance exams. However, this is only good for the English different cultures exam ONLY. Poems are easy to understand also has essay pratice questions. Very useful for year elevens doing GCSE's.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2009
I bought this book recently and I found it really useful. It gives brief summaries of the poems from cluster 1 and cluster 2, which are realy good.If you are studying the AQA anthology at GCSE then I'd recommend it to all of you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
I bought this product 2 weeks before my final English exam because I wanted to remind myself of what the poems were about, etc.

I liked the book because it contains information about the poets as well (background). What I liked the most were the checkpoints; they make you think.

I would recommend you this product if you want to go over some basic points that you could talk about in the exam. However, if you're aiming for higher marks, I don't think this book is for you; it does not explore the poem in detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Great Satisfaction !!!!! Thank you....Great saving for money highly recommending!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Grwat
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2008
I bought this book for my son who is due to study the poems next year, his final year in school and as he needs a head start I bought the book to help him. What a disappointment the poems are not in the book, so now we need to find another book that contains the poems before this book can be useful !
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse