Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
706
4.5 out of 5 stars
Broken Homes: The Fourth PC Grant Mystery
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 September 2017
Brilliant Ben Aaronovitch delivers the goods yet again in this, the fourth D.C Peter Grant Mystery, that seamlessly blends humour, fast paced crime and magic so well written, it is almost believable The fourth book in the series, sees the mixture of murder, magic and mayhem again used to terrific effect. Peter Grant is a trainee wizard, attached to the police in modern day London, but do not get the impression that his is Harry Potter, it is not, but it is a clever police story with a difference. I cannot say a lot without giving away the plot, but the ending caught me completely by surprise. The series is best read in order, (the first book is "Rivers of London") treat yourself to a page turning series with a difference. Very, very highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 June 2017
The fourth book in this wonderful series ups the ante when The Faceless Man plays a strong hand. The writing is as wry, clever and accomplished as ever; there's a magical meeting of the courts of Mama and Father Thames and there's some comic relief provided by Zach of the insatiable appetite, but the humour is toned down as Peter has to become more adept at both proper police work and wizardry when events take a dark turn. Horrible and heart-wrenching murders mean serious undercover work for Peter and Lesley that has them battling with a certain former nurse and facing death at gunpoint; just when you think you can breathe again things escalate to another rooftop showdown and a shattering outcome. I'm still gasping! Straight to book five for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
I enjoy every one of Ben Aaronovitch's Rivers of London books in print. I first read each one to near rags – and now Kobna Holdbrook-Smith has me hooked all over again. He brings them all, Peter Grant and the whole cast of Rivers, wizards, coppers, fae, FBI and Londoners good, evil or just entertaining are brought to vivid life in the audio books. What's more, I most definitely share PC Grant's dislike of brutalist architecture and the design which means that if you're in the kitchen, you've no room to open the oven door.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
I loved the first book in the Peter Grant series, but found book two hard work (maybe it was all that jazz!). But this was a cracking read and back to top form. Treads the fine line between fantasy and police procedural perfectly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
The Ben Aaronovitch's Peter Grant series is a must read. It's original, well written and funny. The fourth book sees Grant visit an area of London I know well, which made it all the more enjoyable. I cannot recommend this series enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Great fun & HIGHLY recommended

This is perhaps the best in the series

Like all it is witty, exciting, interesting (a friend lives in the building this story centres on...) and a brilliantly thrilling ride.

But this has a real gut-punch of a twist and plot climax that adds a new layer to any of the previous books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Another enjoyable read from the P C Grant series and with a cliffhanger ending or plot twist which I won't spoil for anyone
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Great series of books. Waiting for 'The Hanging Tree' to come down in price and will read that too. Ben Aaronovitch is on to a real winner with this idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
Brilliant trip round the underground of London with DC Grant, entertaining and educational (for odd snippets about London) and a massive suprise ending
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
I bought the first of the series when. It was on offer and became hooked. I expect the ideas to run dry but this is not so. Looking forward to reading the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse