Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 19 July 2017
I liked it so much I didn't mind buying it through Amazon twice.

Original and interesting science fiction. Worth a shot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
I loved this 3-part book - the plotlines are quite unexpected and at times shocking, which made it all the more fun to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 10 September 2012
Adam Roberts' latest novel is in three parts, each written as a separate mystery (of a sort - they're not all Whodunnits) but making up a greater whole.

The first part is a prison story. A group of convicts are marooned on an asteroid for seven years. They must make it habitable or they will die.

The second introduces two teenage girls, the putative heirs to the Clan Argent. Diane and Eva are the result of advanced genetic engineering (we may suspect, but never learn for sure, that Alice, Beth and Carol before them may not have come up to scratch...) There is perhaps a touch of Dune here - the Argents jostle with a number of other clans for a position immediately below the ruling Ulanovs but above a mass of guilds, commercial concerns and mafias. Treachery and violence is always distinctly possible.

The third part follows closely from the second and could be described as a locked room mystery (but so could the others as well). It does bring together themes from the book as a whole, and it provides some answers (although I don't think we ever learn who the man was running through the olive grove in the heat of the day (or why he was running) in part 2).

"Jack Glass" does, in some respects, pick up themes from last year's By Light Alone. I'm thinking especially of the sort-of post-scarcity setting - in Jack Glass, there is no shortage of room - humanity has populated space with flimsy sphere habitations - or of food - most people exist on spore grown "ghunk" fed by sunlight. But, as in the earlier book, it's far from being a utopia: the poor live flavourless lives, subsisting on the basics and very definitely at the bottom of the heap.

Another resemblance is in characters. As in "By Light", "Jack Glass" has as its main protagonists (apart from Jack himself) a couple of rather spoiled, privileged teenage girls. Roberts has some fun creating a plausible future teen-speak ("No wavey way!") which is only one example of his ingenious use of language in the book - the preface, for example introduces the verb "to doctorwatson". Some of the invented terms are explained in an appendix, which also serves as a short primer to 26th century society. This is a rigid hierarchy, with the Ulanovs at the top and the Sump at the bottom.

Overall, I enjoyed this book, though very slightly less than I did By Light Alone, mainly because I found most of part 2 rather slow in pace, especially after the dramatic end to part 1. Having said that, considering it as a single book, it's really very good and fun SF and well worth reading, whether you've read Roberts before or not.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
First Impression of the Book: This book should really be called the legends of Jack Glass as though he is in this book throughout, he is not properly fleshed out as the story makes way for other characters. I really enjoyed the science fiction elements of this book, they were top notch but the detective aspects were very average for me, not bad just ok. AR is a talented SF writer and i really look forward to all his other books.

Summary of the Book (Spoilers/:D):

This is the (partial) story of Jack Glass or Iago (his name for most of this story). AR introduces this story as a three part story, a prison break, a 'whodunnit' and a locked room mystery. This is exactly what you get, three separate events intertwined by science story writing at its best.

The prison break part of this story sets a particular scene, for both the main character/story and for AR's writing style. The first 100 pages follows a prisoner named 'Jac' who is sent to an asteroid out in our solar system to serve his sentence with six fellow prisoners. Their job during this sentence is to mine the surface of the asteroid for a big merchant company, during the planning of this task a hierarchy forms of which 'Jac' and a fellow prisoner called 'Gordius' are at the bottom.

Though 'Jac' has to face the difficulties of being trapped with other hardened criminals he still manages to put together a plan and escape his prison and vanish. The events on this asteroid set a certain scene for this novel that dissipates quite quickly as AR quickly moves on to the second story in this novel.

The next chunk of the story is set on a future earth and focuses on a young lady in her mid teens. Diana is the daughter of the leaders of clan 'Argent' one of five royal clans that rule the solar system. Diana and her sister Eva are sent to earth and during this stay Diana is put to work to solve a murder mystery that had taken place in the servants quarters.

This part of the story is largely forgettable and really is used to set in place other story elements that will come into play later on in the 3rd part of this book. As Diana's theories come together on who had killed the servant and how; the sisters are chased from their home the Ulanov's the highest power in the solar system. The sisters are separated and Diana is sent on the run with Iago who by this point is revealed to be the infamous 'Jack Glass'.

Jack reveals that the Ulanovs are searching for FTL technology (Faster-than-light) that his friend had created but in a crisis of conscience hid from everyone as he believed it would bring about the end of their world. This is part of the story where the science fiction writing is superb and I really got stuck in to the story.

The final adventure in this story is a locked room mystery, and a great one too!!

The light version is that Jack, Diana and five others are in a room with one exit, no one is armed and no one intends to hurt each other due to an agreement to surrender, but the arresting officer ends up vaporised and no one in the room knows what happened. It is a great addition to the story and the only downside of it really is that it highlights a great relationship between Jack Glass and Bar Le Duc. I enjoyed this relationship and I wished there was more of it.

AR is honest in the 'Acknowledgements' section of this book, where he says its more of a detective novel than a science fiction piece. This is a shame because AR is such an enjoyable SF writer and I was left wanting more, but that is just me and other people may find it was just enough.

An enjoyable science fiction/detective story which skimps out on the former but maybe that is me being greedy, I haven't gone into the SF elements that are apparent in this story to much as they are best explained in the context of the story.

Please check this out!!

I can't wait to check out AR's other material :D

8/10

If you read this and enjoyed the review, there are many more reviews on my blog and in the days to come so please check out my Blog, [...] and im on TWITTER!! @AlwTrustInBooks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
This is most excellent stuff, this triptych of 'locked-room mysteries'. Inspired by both the 'Golden Age of Sci-Fi' and similarly classic whodunits, Adam Roberts has fashioned a Space Opera that satisfies both the imagination and the intellect.

This is one story, with three distinct sections. The first brought to mind not only Mr Roberts' earlier work but also perhaps the 'The Stainless Steel Rat' and maybe even the redoubtable Gully Foyle. Blood and butchery are here, but they play a part in the tale; there is nothing gratuitous about them, unlike, for example, the exploits of Takeshi Kovacs. And, not only do we find the solution to the 'howdunit' (the 'who' is obvious), we also find out why Jack is known as Jack Glass.

The second, longest, section, presents us with another 'locked room mystery' but this is not only different in resolution but also different in kind, more subtle, more devious, more 'psychological' - helping not only to further the story but to build the picture of our eponymous hero. Here, Mr Roberts starts building a world, a complex and believable scenario, with echoes too from his 'By Light Alone', but spanning a Solar System. The writing has Mr Roberts usual slightly 'baroque' style, but is tempered with some sly and clever humour ('Dunronin' indeed!) The thing is, though, under or through all this is a really powerful plot, hanging everything together, building to an excellent dénouement.

There are some wonderful characters - some appearing for far too short a time. The gruesomely horrible Ms Joad, for example, reminded me of Michael Moorcock's Miss Brunner or possibly Philip Pullman's Mrs Coulter while the policeman/bounty hunter Bar-le-duc came straight from a Western. And there is a complex, believable and sustaining society behind it all. In fact, there is, at the back of the book, a glossary and I admit I read that before embarking on the story - and I would recommend doing so. When faced with Gongsi and the Sump, Lex Ulanova and MOHsisters a little preparation enhances the fun.

Yes, there are a number of typos which sometimes makes the reading a little gritty; there may even be the occasional hiatus in the narrative, but nothing to spoil the trajectory of a very fine story. I hope, very much, that we will meet Jack Glass again. All in all, a multi-layered, clever, comic, mind-expanding and thoroughly enjoyable read.
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
This is a weird book, but excellent. It's all right there at the beginning: the impossible murders, all committed by Jack Glass, yet you will be surprised when you find he did in fact do them all. And I was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
The sub-title on the beautifully-designed cover says ‘The story of a murderer’, while the inner title page describes the tale as ‘A Golden Age Story’. The acknowledgements at the end go further and say that the Golden Age referred to is both that of science and detective fiction, with the book an ingenious and original combination of both genres. If these descriptions suggest a confusion of identities that is perhaps appropriate given that the book is formed of three interlinked novellas about the titular criminal, assuming he is a criminal and not a revolutionary. It all depends on point of view, initiated if not clarified by a narrator who offers to ‘doctorwatson’ the story for us. Even this narrator’s identity is not made clear until the last page and, as with much of the book, not what one expects at all.
For example, the genteel detective stories that inspired the book seem very far away from the opening instalment, in which a group of criminals work out their sentences excavating the guts of an otherwise uninhabited asteroid in order for it to become the habitation of the very rich. This section of the book is visceral, horrific and wholly unpredictable. The point of view character becomes ‘Jac’. Is he the titular Jack? He seems very passive, possibly because he has no legs and does not seem much of a threat to anyone. The convicts’ stories and personalities become clearer as they work, but it seems hopeless; the men are trapped for the duration of their eleven-year sentence with only the technology they have been left with to keep them alive. Despite this hopelessness, which is so well described you wonder what’s going to happen in the rest of the book, Jac appears to be working towards something… The denouement is as outrageous as it is unexpected but is pure SF.
SF is often about how the impossible might become possible but ‘Jack Glass’ weaves that idea into the fabric of the story itself, especially in the second segment, ‘The FTL Murders’. In this story, a servant is murdered and the ‘detective’ is one of two sisters in a family bred to process data. There is a vein of dark humour running through the stories like black ice in the first tale’s asteroid; in ‘The FTL Murders’ this manifests as the girl’s delight at having a ‘real life’ murder to solve. If the servants are dosed up with loyalty drugs and everyone is too weak from living off-world to wield the murder weapon, how on Earth (literally) did it happen?
Gravity is an important image in the stories; its absence or presence used in a variety of inventive ways; one chapter is even called ‘Gravity or Guilt?’ while one of the cults worships black holes. Religion plays a big part in the various conspiracies, based as it is on what is believed, which of course brings us back to what is possible and what isn’t. It also takes the ‘locked room’ murder mystery scenario and enlarges it into a universal model; that if faster-than-light travel was discovered and with it the means to escape the limitations of our galaxy, so too would the capacity for destruction. That this theory is expounded in relativistic terms as if it too were the final scene of a whodunit somehow makes it even more mind-expanding. The investigation unwraps a deeper conspiracy, involving rebellion against the ruling clan, played out against evidence of the wreck of alien civilisations, which let’s be honest you don’t get with Miss Marple.
The last section is called ‘The Impossible Gun’ and investigates the death of a famous policeman. This death was recorded on a robot, thus objectively verifying the facts of the case. However, as with the previous murder the death appears to make no sense. Now it is time as well as gravity that is called into question, again phrased in weird religious terms via a chase through various habitats such as 'Red Rum 2010'. That ‘Red Rum’ is ‘murder’ spelled backwards hints that even the text itself is chronologically unreliable, despite its presence on the page and our by now intense association with it. ‘Serendipity favours the angels’ says Jack Glass but who does he mean, really? The novel suggests that laws, of belief, science, politics or whatever are determined by how they can be broken rather than enforced. The hero’s motivation, when we learn it, is a great example of this duality and a satisfying end, although perhaps not for him…
Adam Roberts has written a masterful blend of genres that for all its joyful cleverness is also hugely enjoyable. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Jack Glass, notorious criminal and murderer of millions is imprisoned on a asteroid with seven other criminals. The people who have sent him there for eleven years don't know he is there, but when they find out they will be back to get him. It is a cruel, sharp and brutish place, and he must use all his guile to escape from the un escapable place.

On a small planet elsewhere, two sisters are experiencing a spell in gravity in a sealed orbital habitat owned by their hyper rich family. There are themselves, and few personal staff, and 20 or so servants. Normal life is interrupted following the murder of one of the servants, and one of the sisters, Diana, takes over the investigation from the police allocated to the investigation. as she progresses thing are not what they seem, and the murder is a prompt to discover some of the greater questions and threats to the family.

I have read a couple of his before, the last one read I thought was not great at all so I wasn't looking forward to this much. I thought that it was an original story line, a bit gruesome and brutal at the beginning. I liked the way that the story unwrapped in layers, so you were never sure just what to expect next.

The characters were interesting, Jack Glass in particular as he was innovative and single minded. I couldn't warm to the two sisters, they came across as arrogant, and self interested, but that may have been the idea. The worlds that he has created didn't come across as fully plausible, but the integrated tech did. Overall ok, not are I would read another by him just yet.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
I suppose the word that comes to mind first when you think of Adam Roberts is "clever", as befits, after all, a Professor of English Literature. The trouble with Roberts is that in some of his books cleverness seems to become an objective in itself. This was especially the case with "Yellow Blue Tibia", where Roberts's fondness for pastiche eventually got out of control and resulted in a novel that was practically nothing else but pastiche.
So it's nice to be able to record that "Jack Glass", whilst an acknowledged pastiche of both Golden Age detective stories and Golden Age SF is actually a rattling good novel, with a highly ingenious plot and interesting characters. Indeed, "ingenious" isn't quite adequate as a word to describe the three interlinked novellas, especially the first, in which Jack somehow escapes from an isolated prison asteroid with no spacesuit and no means of propulsion. And the solution to the final murder mystery turns out to be based on that old SF warhorse, an FTL drive, but here used in an entirely unexpected way. A success therefore both as a pastiche and in its own terms as well.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2012
We know from the start of the book, that Jack Glass is the murderer. Yet as this extraordinary novel tells the story of three murders committed by Glass the reader will be surprised to find out that it was Glass who was the killer and how he did it. And by the end of the book our sympathies for the killer are fully engaged. However, were the authorities ever to discover that the man they want, now trapped on a prison-asteroid, is actually Glass, they would kill him without thought.
Riffing on the tropes of crime fiction (the country house murder, the locked room mystery) and imbued with the feel of golden age SF, Jack Glass is another superlative performance from Roberts. Whatever games he plays with the genre, whatever questions he asks of the reader, Roberts never loses sight of the need to entertain.
Imbued with humour, clever tricks and a language that sparkles, Jack Glass is a masterpiece of storytelling; rather thsn being the traditional whodunit, it is a `how and when' he did it.
There is currently an argument within genre fiction such as SF, Horror and Fantasy, that it is not `literary'. Well, I encourage any reviewers or readers of the genre to find otherwise, especially with this extraordinary novel and with Roberts work in general. Roberts is an SF powerhouse, and a force to be reckoned with in the genre.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Bête
£8.27

Need customer service? Click here