Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
23
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2010
I have to admit that compared to the first few books in the series these later ones are a bit of a disappointment, the love scenes are rushed and the whole evil no fang plot is dragging on a bit. But Hungry for you has kick started my faith that Sands still has it in her.
This is the story of Cale and Alex, Cale starts off the book being a bit of a grump and shore that he does not need a life mate or that he will ever find one, until the Argeneau clan and Alex's sisters ambush Cale and convince Alex that Cale is a chef, even though her has not eaten in 1000 years, and force them together. This story has a completly different twist to it compared to the previous books, the no fang's hardly make an appearance, and there is a vulnerability in this book that seems to be missing from previous, Alex who seems to be the tuff nut has a vulnerable side and Cale has a lot to learn about modern women, and cooking.
But once again the love scenes seem to be rushed and the plot starts off good and you feel like you are in for a good book until the whole ending seems to be concluded in the last 3 pages, and it was kind of obvious who the bad guy was. But the romance and connection that Cale and Alex have saves the book, as well as the family interventions, also the way Alex finds out about Immortals is the most dramatic yet and you have to stop yourself skipping pages to find out what happens next.
If you are an avid reader of Sands, like me, then you will defently love this book, if you have never read Lynsay Sand i advise you read it from the beginning to gain the full picture.
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
The latest in the Argeneau vampire series follows Cale Valens, a very old immortal who has lost hope of ever finding a lifemate and Alex - the only Willan sister without an immortal mate. Her sister Sam is desperate to find an immortal for Alex and Marguerite isn't about to let Cale continue his lonely existence and so sets up for the two to meet.
Alex has been experiencing loads of problems trying to open her new restaurant and the latest is that her chef has just quit - Alex desperately needs a replacement and miraculously for her Sam has one (or does she?) and sends Cale straight over to her restaurant - just one problem Cale stopped eating about 2000 years ago and is repulsed by the mere smell of food!

This book was really fun, plenty of comedy from Bricker and Cale's lack of understanding of modern women. Alex was a good leading female - tough but with a vulnerable side - reminiscent of the earlier novels. The book also took a different and much more dramatic route for the reveal of immortals which was fantastic and I couldn't put the book down until the end. The mystery of Alex's run of bad luck was beyond obvious from the very beginning and so was concluded pretty quickly and anticlimactically but this didn't bother me too much.

Overall a really enjoyable read - well recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2012
Okay, when I first heard about this book, it was on a review online and it told me how funny and sweet it was and how Id be swooning pretty much all the time... didn't happen.
The story is about Alex, the last sister yet to be mated and Cale, older than god immortal.
Sam, Alexs sister, has been trying to get her to meet her lifemate for months and when Marguriette says that she has a good feeling about Cale, she rushes to set something up.
When Alex's restaraunt has yet another emergency and can't make it, Sam lies and says that Cale is a chef and send him over so the two can meet. Cale can't stand food and has never cooked in his life, but after realising that Alex is his lifemate, he will do anything to hang around her.
There are some funny moments and sweet ones, but they just don't make the cut, which is dissapointing since I am a huge fan of the series.
What annoyed me is that whenever they ran into a problem with Alex, out came the mind control and, though Cale glared over it, he didn't stop it. Even after they slept together Bricker went into her mind and soothed her fears so she would be more open to the relationship. That's when I started to resent characters Id loved so much in earlier books. Even Marguriette who controlled Alex and wouldn't even let her stand up and one point!!
How could Alex ever really be choosing him when they were playing around in her head so much and be complete jackass' about it. Even bricker who is kind of friends with her.
Her sister, Sam, who I loved in her book, I wanted to slap. She lies about Cales cooking abilities, risking her sisters buisness, let's them run around controlling her and has been lying to her for months and then just shrugs it off as it was for her own good.
And who did I want to hit most of all? Alex.
After everything that has happened and the trautmatising way she discovered Cale's secret, she just takes a nap and suddenly she's okay with it and want's to be with him forever.... Yes, you read that right. Then when he leaves to go fight the bad guy (because that's what big strong men do) she just sweeps her anger and resentment for it under the rug. It was all written like a really bad cheesy romance novel and like she was just rushing through the story, which I have never read from her series before. Normally it is well written, funny and even with all of the unbelievable things happening around them, the characters reactions were believable.
This book was a let down, I had hoped it would be more from her past books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
I have always enjoyed reading the Argeneau series by Lynsay Sands, and this book was just as good.
Hungry For You is based around Cale Valens, a cousin to the Argeneau family, and Alex Willan who is the sister of Sam and Jo Willan from previous books.
Although it was rather obvious who the bad guy was in this book and the ending where he is confronted seemed somewhat rushed, the book was a great read. I loved the comedy from Bricker and the confusion Cale has with some of the modern terms, and the love story in itself is really sweet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
This series of the argeneau series is brilliant. Hving bought all the series up till now and still awaiting the next instulment with bated breath. The books hold you there is never a boring moment and i dont find myself scipping pages.So lynsay sands keep them comming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
I've read a couple of books by Lynsay Sands and I have to say she is my favourite author! If your looking for a witty, fun and romantic read (by this I mean NOT a cheesey 'rom com')then look no furhter because this book is for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
I love these books and have nearly all of them, they have great story lines and very easy to read, I have recommended them to family and friends. Great buys they have comedy, romance and sex in what more could you want in a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
This book was an excellent read right from the word go. It makes for one of the best novels i've read. The story line is excellent and its easy reading, following an easy to understand storyline. Thank-yu Lynsay Sands
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2012
I love the Argeneau books, and am collecting the whole set eventually! Love how some of the stories interact with each other, love the characters, cant wait for the 3 new ones to be published:):)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
i loved the book
it was funny, made me laugth and cry.
will get my mother to read it and try get my friends to read it
one of the books was by one of my favorite authers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse