Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2011
With "Solstice", book three in the Stonewylde series author Kit Berry continues to go from strength to strength.
This is a much darker book than the previous two. Both the main characters, Yul and Sylvie, start the book in a dark place and as the tensions build toward the prophesied endgame at the Winter Solstice things do not get better for them. The character of Magus is a scarily bad man, sometimes "villains" in literature can be a bit too cardboard and pantomime like but he is believable in his nastiness. The book was gripping and well written - this really does deserve to be the Next Big Thing.
One final thing - there was one scene, towards the very end of this book (can't go into details, sorry - spoilers!) that was possibly the most beautifully written and moving piece of work it has ever been my good fortune to read.
Looking forward to book 4 in August to see where Ms. Berry takes the series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
I read, ( and so is my partner reading ) the first two, and thanks to the wonders of whispernet, quickly downloaded soltice. By far the best one yet and what a fantastic ending, So much so I went back to read the last chapter again. The story completely surrounds me (and my bf), just cant put it down, waiting to see what happens next. Event after event and the descriptions make you feel you are actually in Stonewylde.
To read these books, you have to be a person who enjoys the mystery and wonder of nature, be curious about how the ancients lived laughed and believed. How they harnessed the seasons, worshipped and drew upon knowledge and ancient crafts. Kit Berry makes it very believable in my book, actually makes more sense to me than the more traditional religions nowadays. However that is personal. Solstice is a really good read, take no notice of the reviews that nitpick for no good reason.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
This book is the 3rd of the series and is the best so far. It is a page turner and I have stayed up late many nights just to find out what happens next. There will be a total of 5 books in the series - the final one to be released in 2012.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
I bought this book, the third in the series, as a present for a close family member and she enjoyed it so much that she's already looking for a follow-up. Plus there is a forum that readers can join that the author of the book actually posts on too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 July 2010
Having read the first two books, I didn't want to start this one --- only because I knew when I finished it, it would be a long wait until the next in the series. Well, I couldn't resist and just like the previous two, Kit Berry's descriptive talent was brilliant. I was in Stonewylde with all the characters - move over Harry Potter, this would make a great film. Really looking forward to the continuing story of Stonewylde and its habitants - what will Yul and Slyvie do next? Thank you Kit Berry for such a riveting read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2009
This book ( 3rd in the series so far) gave me the 'droopy eye look' accompanied by the black bags! yes! yet again the book was glued to my
hands and my head was falling off with tiredness.

But did i put it down? no way, hosay! an awesome read! a gripping story which fed my imagination as i read page after page. I didnt want it to stop and now am suffering a strange kind of mourning until more, YES! YES! YES! stonewylde books are in making.

kit berry, thank you, thank you, thank you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
Solstice of Stonewylde is the third (and currently the last completed) novel in Kit Berry's Stonewylde series. At the end of Moondance of Stonewylde, Sylvie is suffering under Magus' cruel desire to siphon off her moon magic and Yul's life is in permanent danger. In this third installment of the Stonewydle saga we are once again transported to Kit Berry's magical world, but this time it is a much darker place for all its inhabitants as the titanic struggle between Magus and Yul draws to a close.

Solstice is the story of how the final days of a prophecy unfold. At Yul's birth Mother Heggy prophesised that he would come to challenge the Magus on his 16th birthday (the day of the Winter Solstice) and only one of them would survive. In the meantime, she believes that Yul's enemies will fall, one by one.

Sylvie's life is being endangered by Magus forcing her to channel the moon magic for him every month. Her mother Miranda is bearing his child and the Hallfolk are making every aspect of Sylvie's life a misery. Perhaps it would be best if they left Stonewylde, especially now that Sylvie is unsure of Yul's feelings for her. Perhaps there is a way to negotiate an end to the conflict between Magus and Yul and ensure that they both survive?

Although I love this book, I felt the ending was a little predictable. Kit Berry also ties up all the loose ends, as it was her intention that this would be the final Stonewylde book. However, she has since changed her mind and there are more in the pipeline. Anyone who is interested in fantasy worlds will love the Stonewylde series and should pick up the first book without delay!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Stonewylde has been a series to capture the readers imagination since its original inception and release a few years ago and with a new fourth part to come shortly it's was time to catch up with everything as well as to see what would unfurl for the stories heroes as the villains were left with the upper hand in the end of the last instalment.

What occurs is dark and bleak but also shines the greater for the hope that springs from within. Its well written, the characters crisp and whilst the crueller aspects are played to great effect by Magus, the heroes always struggle against his darkness and as such bring this tale to a gripping conclusion. Add to this great prose, wonderfully detailed landscape and of course the growth of the characters that really keep this novel gripping as death and mayhem ensue which make this series one that refuses to let go. Great stuff.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 October 2007
I managed to get an advanced, autographed copy of this book from the author Kit Berry at last weekend's Halloween Festival. Unfortunately for Kit, I couldn't stop gushing.

The story of Sylvie, Yul, the Magus and the community continues in this the third book of the Stonewylde series. This third book does wind up the major plot line involving the three main characters, but still leaves some questions which will allow for the next two books. I expect I will read these in one sitting, as I did with the first three novels.

Kit Berry is certainly a talented writer, allowing the reader to revel in the atmosphere of the Stonewylde community for a few blissful moments before taking up the narrative. The author also has the knack of being able to provide a backstory simply and, almost subtlely. This allows the reader to understand the consequences for the behaviour of certain characters without the need for long explanatory notes by the author. This allows the storyline to continue at a cracking pace.

There are some developments in this book that may leave some readers disturbed, certainly I did a bit of skimming over the sections when Sylvie is in the rooms of the Magus - not because the writing was lacking, but because the situation was more than a little uncomfortable and given that I had guessed a certain "twist", it made it even harder to read. It might not affect all readers this way, but it did me.

I still have the same small quibbles I did when I read the first two books: I don't agree with the supposed "ancient" nature of the festivals used by the Stonewylde community, given they are based on wic(c)an beliefs, but this won't be a bother to 99% of the people who read these books; and there are some unanswered questions left, though this time the main plot has resolved itself and the reader is not left totally on a cliffhanger. Mind you, the latter is placated by a note from the author at the back of the paperback copy - there are more books in the series.

The books are aimed at the young adult market, but don't let that fool you. Adults of all ages will derive enjoyment from this book, just as the first two. Certainly, the Stonewylde community is pagan, but readers of all denominations will still revel in the community and the characters that Kit has created.

Go out and read all three books: "The Magus of Stonewylde"; "Moondance at Stonewylde" and "Solstice at Stonewylde". You won't be disappointed.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2011
WOW and yet more WOW! The revised third instalment in Kit Berry's Stonewylde series is just superb. I've read the series 3 times in it's original form and now once in these new editions. My initial reaction to the books was completely emotional, and as with many many other readers of the series, my life changed dramatically after those precious hours spent in Kit's amazing imaginative creation. How could it get better than that? It did...The original emotional Rollercoaster ride is white knucklingly and sophisticatedly enhanced by Kit's thoughtful and beautifully written revisions.
Teeth grindlingly tense, this book just plain old *knocks your socks off*
..........and actually Kit where is that body ?????
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse