Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2017
This is the second compendium of these books I've read. Once I started them I couldn't stop until I finished.
What an amazing character Roe is. It's late now and I've been reading the whole weekend, now I must go to bed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Brilliant books!!!! Love Aurora!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
This takes over where the first Omnibus leaves off. Yet again it is lovely light reading with enjoyable story lines. It gives an insight into the way of life in the South with quaint characters and lovely quirky plots. The heroine Aurora is a someone I could really relate to, made easier by Charlaine Harris' style of writing in the first person. The kind of 'mystery' stories I find comforting to read over and over, no need to put your intellectual hat on, just escape away into small town life with murderers on the loose. Definitely my 'cup of tea'!! p.s. If you enjoyed this book, I would also recommend reading Charlaine Harris' Lily Bard Mysteries too!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dead Over Heels is the fifth novel in the Aurora Teagarden series by American author, Charlaine Harris. Two years after her marriage to Martin Bartell, Roe has gone back to part-time library work. When strange things start happening, Roe is convinced that they are aimed at her bodyguard, Angel Youngblood. First, the body of Detective Sergeant Jack Burns, not one of Roe's favourite people, is thrown from a plane into her backyard; a mystery admirer sends a vase of flowers; Roe's cat appears with a ribbon around her neck; she keeps getting phone hangups. As people close to her are mugged and stabbed, and stolen property appears to implicate Angel, Roe jumps to a few wrong conclusions before finally figuring it all out. In Roe Teagarden, Harris has created a very likeable heroine, and her other characters soon become favourites too. The dialogue is realistic and the plot has a few twists to keep the reader interested, and a great climax. I look forward to A Fool And His Honey.
A Fool And His Honey is the sixth novel in the Aurora Teagarden series by American author, Charlaine Harris. The unexpected arrival in Lawrenceton of Martin's niece, Regina, with a very young baby no-one even knew she had, sets in motion a series of events that have tragic consequences. The murder of Regina's husband, Craig, and the disappearance of Regina herself leaves Roe holding the baby. Much as she may have wanted her own child, with her inexperience in this field, Roe finds her resourcefulness running low with the challenge and responsibility of suddenly looking after this tiny life. Travelling back to Martin's home town with the baby and encountering his ex-wife again end up being the least of Roe's worries. Harris weaves an intriguing puzzle that keeps the reader guessing. It is refreshing to find an author who is not afraid to age her characters and have them face real-life problems which don't always resolve neatly and happily. Roe is portrayed realistically and her inner monologue is very enjoyable: I especially liked her summarising her situation in a Country Song Title. As this instalment ends on a low note, I am glad there are two more to come and look forward to Last Scene Alive.
Last Scene Alive is the seventh novel in the Aurora Teagarden series by American author, Charlaine Harris. Almost a year after Martin's death, Roe is going through the motions of life when Hollywood comes to town to shoot scenes for a two-part TV movie of Whimsical Death, Robin Crusoe's novel about a serial killer in Lawrenceton (see Real Murders, the first Aurora Teagarden mystery). Roe has mixed feelings about Robin's arrival, and is not at all happy about the movie, even though it is bound to benefit the town. Soon enough, she finds herself on the movie set, and much to her horror, present when the body of the murdered starlet who is playing Roe herself is discovered by her stepson, Barrett Bartell, also starring in the movie. Detective Arthur Smith, still holding a candle for Roe, gives her plenty of unwelcome advice. This installment has Roe receiving nasty mail, being attacked, buying and selling a house, rediscovering sex, getting stabbed, trying to accurately judge the reactions of actors and unmasking a terrorist. There is stalking, drugging, suffocation, assault with an Emmy, a mystery father and a disguise. As always, Harris's plot is original and her main character is highly likeable. Harris also introduces some of the characters for the next and final instalment, Poppy Done To Death. Another excellent read.
Poppy Done To Death is the eighth and final novel in the Aurora Teagarden series by American author, Charlaine Harris. When Roe's step-sister-in-law, Poppy Queensland is murdered, owing to her dysfunctional adolescence and promiscuous life, the list of suspects quickly grows, and includes a few surprises. And of course, death brings Roe's ex, Detective Arthur Smith, who is behaving quite strangely, onto the scene. Of course there is a Thanksgiving dinner with Corinne Crusoe, her boyfriend's mother, to prepare for, and to complicate matters further, Roe's half-brother, Phillip turns up unexpectedly. In this instalment, Roe searches for love nests, discovers a body, harbours a teenager, searches for a missing cat and ends up at the bottom of a swimming pool. Adultery, incest, paternity tests and Women's clubs all feature, and there is a big surprise at the end. Astute readers will pick the vital clue in the first chapters, but the journey to the denouement is fun, nonetheless. Harris is clever enough to know to stop this series, as with her Lily Bard series, before the characters become jaded and the reader loses interest. A very enjoyable read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
I zipped through the first omnibus & then went straight onto amazon & bought this 2nd volume & zipped through that too. I had real trouble tearing myself away to do anything else & had one 3am moment!

Highly enjoyable series, and I think it's a shame that Sookie has taken off to such an extent that CH probably won't write any more about Aurora (aka Roe she cites time constraints rather than lack of ideas if you look at the FAQ section on her website). I would certainly like to know what happens to Roe in the future, although luckily book 8 does come to some sort of conclusion.

Several of the "taglines" on these books say they are "funny" - well, they're not hard-boiled crime but although there may be the occasional wry remark I wouldn't class these books as funny. In fact the effect that murders have on those around them are handled quite deeply & sensitively.

You can also see the development of the writing (well, I thought so) - in this first omnibus the sex is all "off screen" - in the later books CH is a bit more upfront about it - but not like in the Sookie stories.

I thoroughly recommend these books, even if you don't like Charlaine's most famous series, as they are quite different.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2011
really enjoyed this - really easy to read, well rounded characters and good storyline - not predictable like the grave series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
This is a good series of books - although I think the first one was the best since I liked the concept of a famous murderer club.
Rather like the TV series Morse there seems to be a disproportionate number of murders in this town, all of which eventually get solved - mostly by Aurora Teagarden herself. Perhaps I made the mistake of ploughing through the series too quickly.
The writing is good and gives interesting details not just of the murder but also of the appearance and clothing of characters we meet along the way - the type of useful and precise details that illuminate their characters and approach to life.
Certainly a book (and series) I will return to in a few years time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
Charlaine Harris is a skillful mature writer. I love all her books, and enjoyed this follow-on from volume 1. As in Ms Harris's previous novels, Aurora lives in the deep south of the USA, and spends much of her time solving murder mysteries. And in this volume, Aurora has some meaningful romantic liasons. I was so drawn into the stories that I actually cried when one of the characters died - the author is that good! Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Brilliant book, the Author has the ability to make the reader feel like they are actually there looking over the characters shoulders watching everything. Once I picked the book up I found it hard to put it down. It is quite different to Charlaine's other books but if you like cosy mysteries then I highly recommend the Aurora Teagarden mysteries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2011
I love all books by Charlaine, this series is very differnt to the Sookie series, as Aurora is a "normal" lady apart from her name! I very much enjoyed reading the total series, you are able to get to know Aurora through all her trials and tribulations, with a very fitting ending in the last book, the reader is relieved at the end for Aurura.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse