Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
69
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2017
Great read, made excellent xmas pressie, Thanks :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2007
Sookie Stackhouse is a great character whose world has opened up in the previous six books of the Southern Vampire series. She's fallen in and out of love with various vampires, met various shapeshifters/werewolves, discovered that she's part fairy, got a housemate who is a witch and more. The last two books in the series had Sookie as rather a femme fatale and at the beginning of this story she's with Quinn, the Weretiger.

This book isn't one for a novice to the series - there are a lot of complicated events in previous books that are alluded to, or are foundational to plot or character, which aren't fully explained. The central part of the story is the big vampire convention at Rhodes where Sookie is attending, as a guest and helper of the Queen of Louisiana, to use her telepathic skills to help the Queen in her negotiations. However there is clearly more going on at the convention than Sookie first realised, with various trials, murders, bombs and more. Sookie's life is made more complicated by her exes, Bill and Eric, being at the convention along with Quinn. Somehow it seems that Sookie hasn't got over either Bill or Eric and that she's not yet sure about her future with Quinn.

The other books in the series have all been excellent but somehow this one was a little below par. Perhaps it was the plot which, although interesting, was also rather easy to see through. The huge roster of characters can make it a bit hard work to follow what's going on and although the underlying concepts of this series are excellent, I wonder if it's perhaps getting a little tired. Most of the action in this story takes place in the hotel in Rhodes, rather than in Bon Temps or Shreveport, which adds some more interest to the story - almost all the characters in this book are supernatural in some way rather than the usual mix of mostly humans with some vamps or weres. This serves to show how Sookie's life has become rather out of her control as she is subject to the whims and power plays of the various vamps around her.

For those who've enjoyed the previous books this is still a good read and one that most fans will appreciate. However it doesn't quite satisfy as the others did which might be a sign than the author is running out of ideas for this series or perhaps might just be a short blip. I look forward to the next book with great anticipation to find out!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Turmoil! Hurricane Katrina left New Orleans in ruins, surviving vampires forced to flee. Their Queen Sophie-Anne Leclerq furthermore now faces charges of killing her newly wed King. A summit is called at a top security hotel in Rhodes, Sookie compelled to attend as her telepathic powers are needed....

Sookie herself refers to "an overload of villains". She is right. Treachery abounds, scarcely anyone to be trusted. Who are the agents of the sinister Fellowship of the Sun, its secret agenda to destroy vampires and their associates? Quinn, Eric and Bill are still around, their protection needed. (Bill remains in disgrace following THOSE revelations.) It is good to see again fellow telepath Barry Bellboy - he and Sookie to prove a formidable team.

Make the most of happy early episodes (one of them provided by Sookie's brother Jason). There are not very many, events soon to become very dark indeed - and somewhat confusing, with rather too many characters and too much to take in.

Yes, this seventh novel pulls out all the stops, hurtling towards the most devastating climax yet. The reader is left reeling - and, with scarcely a pause for breath, will no doubt be urgently seeking the eighth book in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
Sookie outdoes herself in this epic instalment. She works tirelessly for the vampire world, trying to fit her shifter tiger boyfriend into her busy schedule. She is the heroine, if unrecognised by her vampire acquaintances, of this story and really shows her strength as a female lead. I just love the interplay between Eric Northman and herself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
I like this series a lot but apart from the first two or three I don't think they stand up well as books in their own right. You carry on reading because you are fond of the characters, not because of any great storytelling. This one is probably the one I liked the least in the entire series to date. It is full of dry as dust vampire politics and I couldn't believe in Sookie's relationship with Quinn. I actually got sick of the vampires and started feeling like it was time Sookie stood up for herself and told them to take a hike and stop ruining her life.
I did like the development of the relationship between Eric and Sookie (my favourite vampire) but I missed Bon Temps and the bar and Sam. I think these stories work best when they are firmly set in Sookie's home town, with her neighbours and friends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2007
"Being surrounded by all varieties of undead, changeling, and preternatural beings has gotten to be nothing out of the ordinary for Louisiana cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse. Still, even she has her limits. Betrayed by her long time vampire love, Sookie must now not only deal with a possible new man in her life-the oh-so-handsome shapeshifter Quinn- but also contend with the long planned vampire summit in Rhodes.

The summit, which has attracted undead power players from all over central U.S., is sure to be a tense situation. The vampire queen of Louisiana is in a precarious position, her power base weakened by hurricane damage to New Orleans. And there are some vamps who would like to finish what nature started. With secret alliances and backroom deals the order of the day-and- night Sookie must decide what side she'll stand with. And her choice may mean the difference between survival and all-out catastrophe..... "

I have been waiting for so long for this book to be published....and finally here it is !!! "All Together Dead" is book 7 from Southern vampire series. I loved the book, but there is a reason why I did not give it five stars. I loved going back into Sookie's crazy world of vampires and other creatures, but the story seemed a little too cluttered to me, all about vampire politics (a little dry). And I must admit that I missed Sookie's home town, her bar, Sam ....

All-in-all I loved the book but it did not have the same feel to it like the others in the series.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 August 2010
Sookie is finally preparing for the delayed out of state vampire convention while trying to consolidate her relationship with Quinn. With Quinn, Bill and Eric all scheduled to be there, emotional tensions are running high. We also learn more about vampire politics, and how Pam was Made.

This instalment focuses quite a lot on Sookie's relationships and ups the emotional tension on all fronts. The ending is very dark and emotional, somehow feeling a bit more grown-up than some of the other lighter books. For me, this is one of my favourites in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2007
Sookie Stackhouse is back to investigate all things vampiric in this, the 7th book of the 'Southern Vampire' series. Almost all the action in this book takes place away from Bon Temps and so many of the regular characters are missing, or take a back deat - even Vampire Bill plays only a tiny role as the action focuses on Sookie, Quinn and Eric and their dealings with the Queen of New Orleans, her entourage and some characters familiar from other books such as fellow-telepath Barry the Bellboy. A more complex plot, and the unfamiliar location give this book a different feel to the others and it is certainly darker and less laugh-out-loud funny than the earlier ones. I liked the broader character development and particularly the revelations and insights into Eric's feelings for Sookie. I came across these books recently and after reading all 7 in the space of 4 weeks, I now find myself depressed at having to wait a year for the next one!
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 December 2007
Over the last few years Charlaine Harris has developed the character of Sookie Stackhouse from something rather more akin to a dipsy blonde bar waitress to a present-day Miss Marples. Of course, the significant difference is Sookie's telepathic abilities and, naturally, her association with all kinds of supernaturals.
This story has moved from her own home town, Bon Temps, to a summit meeting in Rhodes of all the major vampire beings where we just know something major in the murder and mayhem stakes (sorry about the pun) is bound to happen.
It does and Charlaine Harris manages to keep the action flowing until the final explosive finale. Such continuing action is interspersed with details of vampire law and marriage vows but nonetheless, for the followers of Sookie and Eric et al they will not be disappointed with this book and we can only await the next instalment.
One final thought is that Sookie is slowly becoming more vampiric because of blood exchanges. Will the next book develop this gradual processing of our favourite heroine?
One final extra thought: if you can't wait, try the author's 'Grave' series featuring another one-off young female, Harper Connelly who locates dead bodies for a living. Magic!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2008
Sookie is one of my favourite heroines now but at the start of the series I found her a tad irritating. As the books have progressed I think that the author has developed her main character beautifully without the incredible and implausible leaps from their core personality that other authors in the genre seem to do. Sookies love interests are developing well, enough variety and conflict to be interesting without detracting from the plot line- I think that this and the previous book are winners for me precisely because Sookie's meetings/workings with the supernatural are now the norm for her and for the reader therefore the focus is upon the inner workings of that alternate world rather than her wide eyed wonder at all she sees, big score for me all round.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse