Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 26 September 2010
Some authors do well in collaboration with others, (like Larry Niven), some don't. The late Sir Arthur never produced anything I really liked when in cahoots with someone else.The Time Odyssey series is almost in that category.If it had had anyone else's by-line on it, it would have been a prize-winner.As it is, it's not up to the great man's best, but still probably a "keeper".If I'm spared, I'll read them again in a year or so's time,to see if the charity shop gets them or not.There's enough typical Clarke in it that you can't judge it on the basis of being just a Stephen Baxter book, (and he's usually pretty good) it's the combination that trips you up.You'll have to buy 'em and try 'em your self,they're a good enough read anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2013
This book tries to conclude the trilogy but it does not reach the level of the previous two books. There is nothing original like the fragmented world of Mir or the space opera and of building the shield. Actually the action is very fragmented with the character jumping from one place to another without much of an explanation or in depth story. The character themselves are not well developed and do not have the same depth of those in the previous book. Probably the book was rushed to completion before Clarke departure and was not completely reviewed before publication.
All in all a book worth reading only if you are very interested in how the story could move forward after Sunstorm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2009
Having enjoyed the previous two books in the series I looked forward to this book only to be disappointed with the ending. Without going into the plot, for a book that supposedly concludes the triology there is no conclusion. Virtually all the storylines are left hanging, which is a shame because I enjoyed the overall story. Surely writer's of the calibre of Stephen Baxter and Arthur C Clarke should do better. Perhaps Mr Clarke's untimely death had something to do with this, I don't know, but it definitely needs another book to finish the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2014
It is so good to say goodnight to Sir Arthur and hello to his chosen successor by reading a trio of his last works that are new to me. This is top stuff. Just download and enjoy. It's the usual vast canvas but the historical context feels very well researched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2013
Can be a bit confusing at times and you have to concentrate. But excellent plot and characterisation. I loved the idea of the firstborn too. I couldn't fault it. Just what you would expect from these two authors. A shame we won't see any more like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2014
I have been a fan of A. C. Clarke for 40 odd years and S Baxter for 20 odd both are excellent writers individually but together they are awesome. This trilogy is the best Sci-Fi book I have read for many years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2009
This is a brilliant conclusion to the 3 parter series by the late Arthur C. Clarke and Stephen Baxter.

Exciting and interesting from the first pages to the end, containing ideas based on the current global situation, combined with the futuristic optimism we know from the old Space odyssey series.

also:
Though the cover and summary hints of references to the Space Odyssey series, there aren't any references in the story whatsoever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2016
The third of the trilogy where one might expect action against the 'firstborn', but no it appears 'they' are too formidable and we are doomed. What a disappointment after ploughing through three novels!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2017
The book is the final part of a trilogy. BUT it ends as if there should be a fourth book so the ending introduces new questions and intrigue on the last page. Most unsatisfying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2013
3rd in the series - gets more and more interesting as the series progresses - do we finally get to meet the Firstborn?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Ark
£9.99
Obelisk
£9.18

Need customer service? Click here