Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
99
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2015
I really wanted this to be a good read, but I didn't enjoy it. I found the style of writing very odd, as another review mentions lines like "they ran in urine smell of shadow, they ran in clean ice smell of moon" I just couldn't get into it from the beginning. The characters are undeveloped there is almost no suspense, the father seems to be able to figure it all out very quickly from very little. It's all just a bit messy and almost nothing is really explained or feels concluded. Maybe I missed some snippets of information as I was trying to finish as quickly as possible. I know it's probably of its genre and has cult status after reading about it elsewhere but it just reads as over poetic and misses the mark for me.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
brilliant book I originally read in the 70's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
Great story, full of suspense, twists and a seriously creepy atmosphere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
This was another gem of a book by Ray Bradbury, I really enjoyed it. 'Something Wicked This Way Comes' tells the story of Will Halloway and Jim Nightshade (I love Jim's surname), best friends since birth, born within minutes of each other (Will was born one minute before 12 on the 30th October and Jim was born one minute after 12 on the 31st October), at the beginning of the story they are on verge of becoming fourteen years old, their world changes on the 24th October when the Cooger and Dark's Pandemonium Shadow Show arrives in their home town of Green Town, Illinois, suddenly everything they know takes a a dark turn and they are no longer young boys but young men.

'Something Wicked This Way Comes' has so many themes in it, love, friendship, the fight between good and evil, etc, and they are well written, especially the relationship between Will and his Dad, Charles, who feels he is too old to be Will's Dad, because he got married late in life, what I found lovely was Will's love for his Dad, he saw so much more in him than his Dad did, it made me think, do all parents feel this way?, that they are never good enough for their children? (I know that is a bit random).

All in all 'Something Wicked This Way Comes' is a classic book, which should be read more than once.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
This is classic tale performed in a classic style . Bradbury's somewhat heavy-laden horror tale is cut down to size and brought to life with no attempt to make it contemporary. This audio play has kept faith with the original book released some 55 years ago. As such it's a reasonably accessible way either to re-visit the story or even hear it for the first time. As a novel Something Wicked This Way Comes was fairly light on dialogue and heavy on quite heavy prose. As such its translation to an audio play means that it did seem to jump around a little and anyone new to the story might find it a little harder to follow.

Given the classical form I think that the cast do an excellent job with it. To my ears the sound was beautifully mastered because there are multiple voices, lots of music and a plethora of sound effects including some nice bass-laden thunder. With all that going on it would have been easy for the voices to get lost a little but they remained crystal clear throughout.

Overall I'd say it was a pretty decent short listen and it makes a really good fist at providing an accessible way to enjoy this classic horror story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Something Wicked This Way Comes (1962) is a fantasy horror novel by the late great Ray Bradbury. It tells the story of two 13-year-old friends, Jim Nightshade and William Holloway, and their ghastly adventures with Mr Dark and his travelling carnival. It is October in a small Midwestern town and a lightning rod salesman arrives just before a big storm. The air smells of cotton candy and the townspeople have the feeling that something strange is coming. Charles Holloway, the town librarian and Will's father, sees a poster for the coming carnival; Will and Jim also find a flyer in the street. The boys are excited; Charles, on the other hand, thinks the arrival is a bad omen.

Will and Jim explore the carnival whilst it is being set up and this is when they run into the ominous Mr Dark, the Illustrated Man, his body covered in tattoos, and proprietor od Cooger & Dark's Combined Shadow Shows. Both boys have to defeat the evil that has come to their town, an evil that preys on its townsfolk. The main antagonist in the novel is Mr Dark and the main protagonist is Will (with help from Jim and his father). The other characters include Mr Dark's partner, J C Cooger, The Dust Witch (a blind soothsayer), The Skeleton (a skinny carnival freak), Tom Fury (the dwarf), and Miss Foley (the boys' schoolteacher).

Something Wicked This Way Comes is a story about the struggle between good and evil, the boys representing good and the carnival evil. The carnival represents the ultimate sin and temptation (preying on human fears such as ageing, sickness and death), whilst Will and Jim take the side of good morals. This is also a coming of age novel - or bildungsroman - in which the boys make the transition from boyhood to adulthood. Bradbury's novel has influenced a myriad authors including Neil Gaiman (American Gods), Stephen King (The Dead Zone), and Al Sarrantonio (Totentanz).

The novel was later made into a Walt Disney film: Something Wicked This Way Comes (1983).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Ray Bradbury's Something Wicked This Way Comes was a book I'd long wanted to read, but when I did eventually get to it, the sinister goings on of the travelling carnival seemed a bit familiar...

Yes, this splendid book has spawned countless imitations, but it's infinitely rewarding in its own right. While the gosh-wow antics of the two young boys is initially grating for any readers over the age of 12, their innocence is an effective foil to the spreading malignance of the carnival. And many sequences are tense, suspenseful and downright chilling (particularly the terrifying Dust Witch).

Highly recommended - accept no imitations (and there have been many).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
This has been a favourite of mine for many years. The film is also excellent. The whole story is redolent of dark 'magic' and power of love to overcome it. Bradbury was/is?, an incredible teller of tales and the reader is dragged into the conflict on every page. Highly reccommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2017
I have a very early copy(old style cover)
Yes, maybe the story is a little dated compared with today's genre, but still this is a great read
I think I got the book after seeing the film, and, unlike most book to films , the book /film remain true to each other
Seek out a copy or buy ! You will not be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
This is a wonderful story written by a brilliant author, now sadly deceased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse